We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort, Class and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel BLU

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel BLU
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfort, Class and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Blu for one week in June and did not want to leave! We had such a great week here and the hotel staff was very friendly, there were a couple inconsistencies as the hotel is probably just ironing out the kinks but overall I would totally stay here again. Where to start? This place had a lot of extra features that really enhanced the guest experience so this review is pretty long:

Room: The bed and pillows were so comfortable and linens felt luxurious and really made you want to stay in bed all day. Room decor was modern and classy, loved the aqua accents in the room like the lounger chair and pillow. No carpets in the room which is great for allergy sufferers like myself! The room also had two robes and slippers, and plenty of towels in the bathroom which is great. Washroom big and glass showers are way better than tubs in hotel rooms. Nespresso machine with espresso pods is better than having a coffee pot however, I really wish there was a kettle or something to make tea or hot water. Fridge and microwave combo was great, especially staying a week and eating out with left overs. USB wall plugs by the bed was very handy to charge the phone at night but still having it nearby.

Turn down service was the best!!! Coming back to find chocolates and eucalyptus pillow spray made me so happy. I really loved the turn down service however, was sad with the inconsistency of it when I received it only in first couple days we got there and none the last 4 days were were there :( Room cleaning times were also really inconsistent, maybe because we noticed we didn't have a door hanger in our room to indicate if we wanted privacy or the room cleaned.

Can't really say that I used the Samsung Tablet as we had brought our own tablets and laptop, but I guess it would be handy for travellers that did not bring their own device. One thing that they could have had pre-loaded in the tablet was info about the hotel and local area.. kind of like a hotel guide that you get in the rooms (which they didn't have) for out of town travellers. The telephone was pretty cool too, as it was had a touch screen. Also, we loved that fact that there was free in room wifi that was fast.

Parking/Location: Location of this hotel was great! It's at the end of Robson St, so you are close to everything in walking distance. Although we had a rental car, you certainly do not need one as everything was close by and with $30 a day parking, if you know you are not going anywhere outside the city, leave the car. There is a free shuttle that will take you downtown and bikes to use, however we didn't partake in those complimentary features. We did have and utilized the complimentary valet parking/self park that came with the booking special.

Breakfast: Along with our booking special we also had complimentary breakfast. The breakfast lounge was located on the 2nd floors (again, would have been nice to have a Info guide about the hotel in the room or on the tablet, that lets you know where all the amenities are located and hours of operation). We got there at about 10 and it closed at 11 so there was not a lot of food left, however, with we were satisfied with what they had and found out that everything was made in house which is a bonus.

Other:
- Having a large umbrella that guest could use (stored in the closet) was also a very nice touch as we forgot to bring our own.
- I had to utilize the Business Centre to print out tickets and I am so glad that it was open to guest to use the computers and printer. Such a great thing to have, especially when some attractions we booked online make you print tickets instead of allowing you to use your mobile device.
- Rooms key card were a pain sometimes, as you had to swipe to get on your floor or any floor in the elevators and sometimes, the card was deactivated and didn't work so I had to go to the Front desk a couple times to get it to work again.
- Gym open 24/7 is nice a great feature especially for people like us who work out at weird times of the day. This is a must when we are searching for a hotel.
- Pool and sauna were still under construction when we were there but we didn't mind as we knew that they were still getting the hotel ready.
- Pets are allowed at the hotel, not sure if there is a floor or area in the hotel that is just designated for people w/ pets but definitely would suggest this, especially since encountered lots of barking during near the end of our stay, and having really bad allergies to pets, it would be nice to know if your room was near someone with animals.

All in all, we had a great stay and would definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBLU, Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear LDtraveller,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel BLU and thank you for taking the time to submit a review!

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay! Many of our guests have indicated they love the pillow spray. We are proud to provide our guest with this treat from Elemis. We are also proud to be able to offer Elemis' luxurious bath and body products in-room whilst still keeping it "green" with refillable dispensers.

I wanted to just quickly touch on some of your feedback. As we grow and develop, feedback from guests such as yourself is critical. We take great pride in hearing what our guests are looking for and implementing strategies to fulfill those guest needs.

In regards to kettles, Hotel BLU is proud to provide kettles to guests as requested. However, based on your feedback we have determined it better suits our guests to have kettles already available in the rooms the same as the Nespresso. Additional kettles have already been ordered and should be in the rooms shortly.

We sincerely apologize for the inconsistency in your turn down service. We have discussed the matter and have implemented specific strategies to ensure this does not happen again.

Please note, while we are thrilled to welcome four-legged guests, we understand many of our guests have allergy concerns. As such, we have specific rooms dedicated to our pet travelers. Should you choose to stay with us again, please advise upon making your reservation and we will be more than happy to assign you a human only room ;)

Thank you again for choosing Hotel BLU and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards,
The entire Hotel BLU team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    300
    70
    14
    5
See reviews for
320
652
89
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Blu to attend a concert in Vancouver in mid June, 2014. We have stayed in numerous fine hotels in Vancouver, and knew that this would be a bit of an experiment. Are we glad we booked this hotel.
We took advantage of the room/parking/breakfast package. The room was very nicely decorated and spacious with all amenities including Nespresso coffee and a tablet. The service was outstanding, with everybody trying really hard to please customers. The breakfast was a buffet presented as nicely as I have experienced in Europe, and the food was excellent.Location for theatre and sport as well as shopping is perfect.
I really don't know what else to say other than if they maintain fair and attractive pricing, this will definitely be our hotel of choice on the numerous occasions each year we venture from the Valley into the big city. Thank you to the management and staff of Hotel Blu

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhalcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBLU, Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear dhalcrow,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel BLU and thank you for taking the time to post a review!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of the in-room Nespresso and tablets. I hope you were able to use the in-room tablet to download the thousands of newspapers from 100+ countries available through our subscription on the Press Reader app. It is Hotel BLU's way of reducing the impact newspapers make to the environment but still offering our guests the convenience and luxury complimentary newspaper service brings. We have also entered into an agreement allowing our guests to log into the app and download newspapers on their personal devices so guests can read the paper from anywhere.

Thank you again for choosing Hotel BLU and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards,
The entire Hotel BLU team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My experience at Hotel Blu was very pleasant. I was greater with a much needed espresso upon my arrival. The hotel is brand new, so very clean, and facilities were great. The shower included a rain shower as well as a handheld, very relaxing after a long day. The room service was not open to guests yet, so I cannot comment on the food. Location is fantastic, right off Robson, close to the sport stadiums and Yaletown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBLU, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Robyn Y,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Hotel BLU and thank you for taking the time to submit a review!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are especially glad to hear your appreciation for the rain shower and the hand-held shower wand. It was important to us that we provide the highest level of luxury and comfort and we knew that needed to include the shower! We hope you also enjoyed the world-renowned Elemis bath and body products provided in the showers.

We are sorry to hear you were not able to enjoy our breakfast. Whilst we are still working on an in-room dining option, and hope to have one available in the next couple of weeks, we currently offer a fantastic homemade breakfast in our Azure Lounge by Peqish. From our green genius smoothie to our gluten-free chocolate raspberry muffin to our vanilla-coconut French toast baguette, there is something to please everyone's appetite! We hope you are able to try it for yourself on your next visit.

Thank you again for choosing Hotel BLU and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards,
The entire Hotel BLU team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel Blu was a great experience. The rooms were gorgeous and smelt like new. The bed was huge and had the most comfortable pillows and duvet. The hotel had a cosy feel to it and the staff were very helpful.

Breakfast was great, organic and healthy options and even gluten free choices.

My partner and i really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leghorn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBLU, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Janet S,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Hotel BLU and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I remember when it came time to choose the mattresses and bedding for the hotel. It was absolutely important to us that we provided our guests with the utmost in comfort and luxury. Great sleep is after all the most important part of any hotel stay! I remember personally testing out several mattresses and bedding options before choosing what I knew our guests would love. I also remember saying we would need some really great coffee in the rooms to convince guests to leave the comfort and luxury of our beds! I hope the Nespresso in your room was enough of an incentive :)

Thank you again for choosing Hotel BLU and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards,
The entire Hotel BLU team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

There are pros to staying at a newly-opened hotel. For one thing, everything was spectacularly clean during our stay. We were among the first people to stay in our Deluxe King room and everything was spotless.

The service was great as well; everyone was cheerful and attentive. Combined with the neat tech that came with the room (i.e.: Samsung Smart TVs, Samsung Tablets for use during your stay, in-wall USB chargers, complimentary wifi), in my mind, this hotel has the makings of a great addition to the Vancouver accommodation scene.

The only critique I would have is that the hotel is so new, some parts of the stay experience weren't completely polished; some parts of the hotel are still under construction, like the pool and hot tub, as well as some guest rooms on the main floor; our in-room safe didn't have the lock batteries installed, and were sitting inside the safe waiting to be put in; the Smart TV's menus selections still need to be set up completely; not all rooms have a tablet waiting for you in-room, though you do have the option of ringing the front desk to have one brought to you; the parking lot is partially occupied with construction material; some of the room numbers in the hallway are actually sheets of paper tacked to the wall above the door frame.

Note that the above are all really small parts to the overall experience. Hotel BLU has the most important element: service. The construction will be completed, eventually. Having said that, I think it's the small things that can really propel a place towards a 4-star experience, and I feel like this hotel is still working on them.

Room Tip: Hallway sound carries a long way, as the building is concrete construction. Your best bet is to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBLU, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear starsquirrel,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Hotel BLU and thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the service and technology aspects of the hotel. Our intent is "Where luxury and technology meet sustainability" and we are proud to offer our guests a complete and thoughtful guest experience.

I would like to offer my personal and sincere apologies for the lack of completion in some areas of the hotel. I am pleased to report that construction in the building is now complete with all rooms available to guests and only minor touch ups in the pool remaining. We expect this final area to be completed shortly.

Thank you again for all your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards,
The entire Hotel BLU team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just got home from a trip to Vancouver, and we stayed at the recently opened Hotel BLU, and we are glad we took a chance on this new hotel. The absolute BEST thing about this hotel was the service. Everyone seemed very eager to make sure we were taken care of and that we felt like valued guests. The rooms were very clean, with crisp white bedding, very comfortable beds, and a calming atmosphere. We were concerned that the noise would be a problem, being right off Robson street, but it was great. We asked to be moved to a different room initially, because the room we were first put in was right across the hall from the ice machine which was very loud, but the front desk was extremely accommodating and had us moved within minutes to another room, which was nice and quiet. There are even tablets in each of the rooms, which we thought was a very nice touch, and something different from other hotels. Its a great location if you are going to the Queen Elizabeth Theatre or BC Place. There is a great coffee shop right across the street and lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank van_Juba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBLU, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear van_Juba,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Hotel BLU and for taking the time to submit a review.

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I absolutely agree with you, the best feature at Hotel BLU is the staff. We take great pride in our team and our number one goal is to ensure all our guests receive an uncompromised level of service.

I am so happy to hear we were able to move you to a room away from the ice machine. We were also able to have a service call for the ice machine placed and am happy to report it is running much quieter now.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards,
The entire Hotel BLU team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My room was so delightful that I didn't want to leave it. Comfortable layout with modern design featuring a glassed-in bathroom, super-comfortable bed with duvet, Nespresso machine, free tablet for personal use during your stay, bathrobe & slippers, even an umbrella. The refrigerator was the quietest I've ever experienced in a hotel. I loved the availability of filtered water on each floor, the efficient internet connection in the business center, the emphasis on ecology and recycling, and the clean non-carpeted floors.
My package included breakfast, which was a gourmet delight. Almost everything was made onsite (including compotes/marmalade and various ketchups for the hash browns). The rich coffee was organic, the gluten-free muffins were among the best I've ever tasted (including regular muffins), the granola was to-die-for, and then there was brie (and other cheeses), poached eggs (to which you could add hollandaise sauce), and a large variety of other goodies (including lots of cold cuts and sausage/bacon for meat-eaters, which I'm not).
They also had a free shuttle downtown and free use of bicycles, neither of which I tried.
It's convenient to downtown/Gastown/Yaletown and the Skytrain.

Negatives: Although the rooms themselves are quiet (well-insulated from street noise), you can hear noisy neighbors pretty clearly. The hotel uses only the 2nd through 4th floor of the building, and they're still doing construction on the pool and surrounding part of the second floor. As my room was on the 3rd floor, over the pool, there was a lot of electric saw noise and some construction smells (glue, etc.) during the day. But they left between 5 and 6 pm and were inactive on Saturday morning --- so I was able to sleep in. The city was also doing some noisy road work on Robson, which would have affected the other side of the hotel during weekdays. Once the construction is done, I think this will be the ideal place to stay in Vancouver.
The only other problem I had was the large amount of light that came in at night under the door and from a bright night light (built into the entry light switch) that shown on the bed. The night light would have been a nice feature, if I could have lowered the brilliance or somehow angled it away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBLU, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Anita R,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Hotel BLU and for taking the time to submit a review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We love that your particularly enjoyed the breakfast. The entire team at Pequish does a phenomenal job of providing a breakfast Hotel BLU can be proud of. I agree with you on the granola; one of the best I've ever had! We all can't wait until they open their retail location at the end of the month so we can purchase their granola for home!

Thank you for your feedback on the night light. We have made arrangements to allow for the night light to be turned off by turning off the master switch in the room.

Thank you again for all your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards,
The entire team at Hotel BLU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,507 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel BLU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BLU

Property: Hotel BLU
Address: 177 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel BLU 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be part of Vancouver's newest boutique hotel where luxury and technology meets sustainability.Located right on Robson street, next to BC Place Stadium and 5 minute walk from Rogers Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel BLU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing