We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”
Review of Hotel BLU

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel BLU
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southsea, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This was a real find. Great location, lovely staff, beautiful room and great pool and spa area. And to top it all, Elemis toiletries. We really couldn't have asked for more. One must see is Stanley Park. If free hotel bikes are booked out, ask reception to book the free shuttle to take you there. Plenty of bike rental shops and it really is the way to see the park. Aquarium excellent. Would happily return to Vancouver and stay here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank madkazzaSouthsea_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBLU, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear MadkazzaSouthSea_UK,

It is simply our only reward, knowing that we have provided you excellence in hospitality, provided you with comfort and memorable experience. Travel is an emotional investment from your part and as hospitality professionals it is our duty to full fill and protect your investment. We could not be happier that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we have provided you with such a memorable experience.

On behalf of all my team members, we thank you for being our guest and hoping that you will give us another pleasure of having you with us!

With my most sincere and warmest thanks and regards,
Kanat Kantman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    328
    76
    17
    6
See reviews for
360
717
101
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed four nights at the Hotel Blu and enjoyed our stay immensely. The rooms were efficiently arranged and quiet. Being new always helps (it opened June 1, 2014) but where it really shined was the staff. The front desk was always attentive and helpful, one day providing instructions on what bus to take and what stop to take to visit Lynn Canyon. The gentleman in the breakfast room was equally attentive and helpful in informing us of what was on the menu and that special orders were welcomed. The location isn’t bad, three blocks away from the Sky Train and numerous buses can take you quickly to any part of downtown. By the way, in my 40 years of traveling, this is the first hotel comment that I’ve posted.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flaboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKantman, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear flaboy1,

We are absolutely honoured that you have chosen to share your feedback of our hotel with other travelers in your 40 years of travels. We just could not be happier that our team members made your stay memorable and comfortable, as it is in any other hotel, it is truly the people that make the difference. I will certainly be sharing your feedback with all our team members and I know that they will be very proud to know that you were well taken care of.

A big thank you from all of us, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Vancouver.

With my very warmest regards,
Kanat Kantman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Everyone I encountered at this hotel was extremely warm, friendly and helpful! You can tell that everyone at this hotel has customer service in their dna. The location was centrally located and the facilities were comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brig312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recently stayed at the new BLU in Yale town on a business trip to Vancouver and I was very impressed with the hotel and staff, when I checked into my room I found that the air was not working and the room temp was 81. I called the desk and they were right up with a new room but unfortunately had the same issue, they quickly upgraded me to a suite in another section which was great.
The hotel is in a great area walking distance to most downtown amenities and has a hip vibe

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBLU, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Edward C,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, friendly staff, and our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the issues you had in your rooms and I am very happy to hear that our team members were able to rectify the situation. Again, I do apologize for that and rest assure that we now have addressed the technical issues we were having with those ac units in question.

Dear Edward C, on behalf of all my team members here at Hotel BLU, we thank you for being our guest and hoping to welcome you back to our hotel.

With my warmest regards,
Kanat Kantman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The rooms and facilities are very modern. The lobby is very clean and inviting with friendly staff to greet you. Valet parking was great but at a cost of $30 a day. We had a two queen bed room that was a little small. The finishings are very modern and clean. The glass shower that looked in to the main room made the room seem bigger. Our kids enjoyed the fast free wifi everywhere in the hotel which even worked across the street at the restaurant. The pool was very small and really not for kids to enjoy. It was more for adults to relax. The fitness centre is well equipped with several cardio and weight machines. The tv's only seem to get fox though so i would bring your own music. The complimentary laundry was a nice touch but you have to time it right as there is only one washer and one dryer. The breakfast was limited for selection and not kid friendly. There is also very few table and you could expect it will take a while to be seated. The staff were all friendly and helpful. They helped with dining options, problems with the access cards and were knowledgable about
the area.

I would suggest staying here if you are wanting to relax and not if you are on a vacation with children.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We recently stumbled across this hotel and what luck we had! A beautiful new hotel with fantastic staff, facilities and breakfast. The rooms are well set up with a fridge, microwave and nespresso coffee machine, however it was the technology that was impressive with all the information you required on you TV and a Samsung tablet for your convenience. In addition to this you had access to office facilities which had desktop computers and printers, which was fantastic for people travelling. Also what was great was the convenience of free clothes washing facilities. Overall a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_B_Adel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKantman, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Chris_B_Adel,


Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we are very thrilled that we made your stay very memorable. We are very happy that you enjoyed all the features and amenities of our hotel, from our in-room technology, friendly staff, and our breakfast.

Once again, thank you from all of us for being our guest and sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers, we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

With my warmest regards,
Kanat Kantman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I found this hotel after doing a number of searches, and this one seemed in a good neighborhood and at a good price. The lobby is small, and it turns out the hotel is just the bottom 3 floors of the building, with residences above. But the check-in was easy and extremely friendly. I really liked my room, a nice sized king with a good bathroom. Clean and quiet. The location is very good, within walking distance of the water (a long walk) and Gastown (about 10 minutes). Overall, while this doesn't really have a "hotel" feel to it, I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruise_Ship_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,721 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,073 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,481 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,578 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel BLU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BLU

Property: Hotel BLU
Address: 177 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel BLU 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be part of Vancouver's newest boutique hotel where luxury and technology meets sustainability.Located right on Robson street, next to BC Place Stadium and 5 minute walk from Rogers Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel BLU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing