We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Between Friends Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Going to Vancouver again in a months time - must book at Between Friends, one the best B&B's I have stayed at anywhere. looking forward to seeing Simone again and eating her wonderful breakfasts.Great location in Kitsilano; a walk to the beach and along the beautiful foreshore, close to buses with easy access to UBC, the Museum of Anthropology, and also across to the city. Close to great little coffee house and restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doroAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
28
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights is this wonderful B&B. The room was clean and pleasant and we had our own little balcony (ask for the Seabreeze room). The breakfast was good, sufficient and healthy. In addition it was very reasonably priced. If you arrive in a car the B&B has a free parking place close by. Only little caveat was the shared toilet.

The B&B is located just outside downtown Vancouver in enjoyable Kitsilano. It is close to Granville Island and within walking distance of downtown (take the water-bus from Granville Island). Also it is just a few blocks away from Kitsilano beach, which is a great place to see the sun set and enjoy the Vancouver skyline. There are plenty of good restaurants and shops in the area.

Vancouver is such a likeable city - this B&B is a really good point from which to investigate this ethnic melting pot.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hajsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My friends and I were looking for a house that would comfortably sleep 5 people and the Between Friends Bed and Breakfast Travel Apartments were perfect! The travel apartments sit next to the B&B, have full kitchens and are beautifully renovated. The top floor was occupied by one couple, the one bed room apartment was perfect for them. The rest of us stayed on the main floor in the two bedroom apartment, there was even a washer/dryer that definitely helped us pack lightly!! The neighborhood was FANTASTIC! Just up the hill (it's a big hill) from Kitsilano beach and about block away from 4th avenue west where there are tons of restaurants, Whole Foods Market and cute shops! Simon and Sam were amazing and so friendly... all in all.. You gotta stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at this B&B a few times in Vancouver and it is a very welcoming and cozy place to stay. It is a comfortable space for a family to be in. The breakfast was really great and they kept the place nice and clean.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a total of 9 nights spread over a 2 week period, after initially booking for 3 nights. Simone, the owner & Sam, the manager, are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The rooms are cozy & the breakfasts delicious! Secure car parking is available for a small fee. Located in the center of kitsalano, you are right next to west 4th st & a few mins from the beachfront. Granville island can be walked in about 15 mins & there are frequent buses to downtown Vancouver taking less than 10 mins. Kits is a far better option than downtown any day. If I visit Vancouver again I'll definitely check in with Simone! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJPaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Lovely home, tasty breakfast, very welcoming hosts and wonderful location. We stayed at Between Friends when we traveled to Vancouver tour the University of British Columbia with our teenage daughter. The accommodations were perfect -- quiet and comfortable. The location is ideal, a half block from 4th Avenue, with its shopping and restaurants and bus lines leading directly to UBC, Granville Island, downtown and Chinatown. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, and conversations around the table were great. We look forward to staying again!

Room Tip: The Seabreeze Room is great for 3, as long as you don't mind sharing a bath -- the sofa bed is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kpete60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is the kind of place you want to keep as your little secret, as it is so great. Simone and her staff are so accommodating and the conversation at the breakfast is always so upbeat, interesting and memorable.
Perfect location in Kits, walking distance to beaches, great shopping, movie theatre and wonderful
restaurants. What can I say we love this place and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthieD12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#20 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 54 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#28 of 54 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Kitsilano
Suite Dreams Vancouver Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Between Friends Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Between Friends Bed & Breakfast

Property: Between Friends Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1916 Arbutus St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6J 3X7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Between Friends Bed And Breakfast
Between Friends Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing