We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed, friendly stay in good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granville House B&B
Ranked #22 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Well appointed, friendly stay in good location.”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at Granville House at the begining of October when the weather was quite inclement. Our hosts Randy and Pam were exremely helpful in suggesting places to go and things to do to make our stay more enjoyable despite the rain. The house itself was very comfortable with large rooms that contained all the extras that you would expect in a much more expensive hotel. It was our first time in Vancouver and if we returned to see more of the sights that we missed due to the weather then we would have no hesitation in returning to the Granville House B&B for our stay. Good Value, Friendly Staff and Good Location too (just a quick bus ride from almost outside the door to get to the city centre if you don't have your own transport) - what more could you ask for.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    24
    9
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
98
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

In June 2012, we stayed four nights at the Granville B&B, a comfortable, clean older but freshly remodeled house right on Granville Street and half a block to the nearest bus line leading straight to downtown Vancouver. This was our first experience with a B&B and we found our hosts Pamela and Randy incredibly friendly and helpful from reservation to check-out. On our first and last nights, we ate at Caffe Barney’s on Granville around 14th street or so, and had surprisingly good meals at surprisingly reasonable prices. Thank you Pam & Randy for the suggestion. Thank you also for the free parking!

The Granville B&B staff were also very friendly and helpful: Shandy was a wealth of knowledge, and Leikka went out of her way to accommodate our dietary needs with each breakfast entree. For us, the entrees were adequate in flavor (although no added salt), but they were insufficient for our paleo eating habits, meaning that since we don't eat sweet foods like the muffins, cereals, and fruit offered we were left wanting for an adequate breakfast and required either an early lunch or a second breakfast out. However, as we know we have an uncommon diet, we were not expecting to be catered to. Therefore, we did appreciate the effort to adjust the ingredients in our entrees! I’m just mentioning this for any other paleo eaters, to keep in mind there is a refrigerator in the bedroom!

Upstairs, are four rooms, each with its door at one of the four corners of the house, so you never feel too close to your neighbor. Although, with the dense carpeting and solid walls, we would never have guessed that the other rooms were occupied. This is not a party house. Our room was the Dogwood, boasting a king-size bed with quality bedding, a desk, TV, and ample room to move about. The bathroom was modern with double sinks, but limited counter space. We did have brief concern at check-in, regarding one of the faucets being non-operational, but it was repaired the next day. I think a lovely touch would be some sort of drying rack for hand washing. Silly me for not asking - I did learn as we were leaving, that we could have paid to run a load of laundry, so I’ll keep that in mind for next time.

Being at the front of the house, close to the 6-lane commuter Granville street, because of the traffic noise we could not fall asleep with the windows open, but instead needed to keep them closed with the air on. My stepmom stayed in the Birch at the back of the house and heard no street noise. Although the robes and slippers were a nice touch, the robe was shrunk and would have best fit a petitie woman. The mini-fridge in the closet was handy as was the mini safe. Probably the biggest disappointment for us (being computer nerds) was that the advertised free Wi-Fi did not work in our room, except for right by the door in the hallway, and it wasn’t much better downstairs in the main room. But, I am HAPPY TO REPORT that the owners have since dealt with the problem by installing repeaters on every level, so that should no longer be an issue for guests - yay! The most appreciated part of my stay was the bed!

As far as B&Bs go, we have no other reference, but aside from a few issues, overall it was a comfortable, clean, pleasant place to stay, and I would definitely consider staying here again, on our next trip to Vancouver. Thanks Pam and Randy.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the house, away from street traffic: the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiVeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Granville House in September.
The plus:
-Cost is good value for money as Vancouver hotels seem quite expensive
-The accommodation is high end, spacious and comfortable.
-The hosts were very helpful at all times.
-Breakfast was very nice, please do specify to the staff if you don't require cooked breakfast as they cook "entrees" for everyone unless otherwise advised.
-Bus stop to town a few yards from the house ( B&B can provide you with the first bus ticket in exchange for 2 new ones once you have bought a carnet in town).
-Van Dusen gardens just around the corner
-Not far from the airport.

The minus:
-The house is situated on a 6 lane road, with constant traffic noise which means keeping the windows open if it's nice and warm outside won't be very pleasant.
Having said this the air conditioning system works perfectly well and silently...
Vancouver is a very compact and busy city, the town center is full of high rise building, so noise levels there would also be high.
-The only nice restaurant nearby are Truffles at Vandusen Gardens (5-10mn walk), otherwise Seasons in the Park (1/2 hr walk) a bit pricey but a great restaurant with a good menu and fantastic views of Vancouver.

Very good for a few days, would be great if it was a few streets away from that busy road.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Our room was large and comfortable in this lovely old but beautifully detailed and furnished home.The private bathroom was huge--way bigger than ours at home. Lovely breakfast room with good hot and cold breakfasts (we were catered to very graciously and served special vegetarian omelets) and excellent coffee. We felt very welcome and at home. The only drawback is that the house fronts an extremely busy and constantly trafficked multi-lane road, so it was fortunate that parking was available in the alley behind. We were surprised at how quiet our room (at the back of the house) was given the busy road.

Room Tip: take a room in the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goggirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I was expecting a B&B, but this place is more like a very nice boutique hotel. Nothing wrong with boutique hotels, just not where I prefer to stay.
Positive:
-The best mattress and bedding I've experienced outside of home.
-Beautifully appointed
Negative
-The front units are 50 feet from a six lane highway. They have done what they can to minimize noise, but six lanes of traffic is too much to make go away.

I'd give them an excellent on the room, a poor based on sleep (because of noise), and an average on breakfast ( two pieces of bacon and, ((by 9 o'clock)) a slightly old tasting entree.
So, unfortunately, it averages out to ..... average.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capt1davey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranvilleBB, Owner at Granville House B&B, responded to this review, 17 November 2016
Thank you for your positive comments "best mattress and bedding I've experienced outside of home", which is high praise indeed! I am sorry you had a poor sleep. Our room description states: "Although Elm (Junior Suite) is our noisiest room at traffic level with Granville Street, there is no commercial traffic, public functions, sirens, car horns/alarms, sea plane & helicopter noise associated with most all downtown accommodations." Although Google Maps shows Granville Street as Highway 99, it is a commuter traffic only STREET with a speed limit of 50kmh (30mph), making this the slowest highway in North America. We recommend all other suites for light sleepers, or to just close the Elm bedroom window at night. Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Granville House was my first experience of a B&B as I have always preferred the more impersonal atmosphere of a hotel. I was pleasantly surprised! I liked the freedom to come and go that the key-code access offered us, loved the large comfortable bed with the luxury linen and choice of pillows. The bathroom was beautiful with plenty of room for personal toiletries and a window that opened! Although I really appreciated the air conditioning and ceiling fan, I was so happy to be able to open a window. It was great to find a fridge in the room (complete with bottled water which is another of my personal musts) and the large closet with a safe was very useful.
The house was beautifully clean and tastefully decorated and we were happy to observe the 'shoes off' policy - we don't wear shoes in our own home so would not expect to keep them on in someone elses!
We were visiting our daughter who lives within walking distance of Granville House B&B so the location was absolutely perfect but it would have been equally convenient for sightseeing in the city.
Our hosts were on holiday themselves for most of our eight night stay although we did meet Randy at breakfast on our last morning. However, the knowledegable Shandy and delightful Leica (apologies for the possible mis-spelling) took good care of us in their absence.
We have stayed at Granville's sister property, Hycroft, on a previous visit when we needed the flexibility that a self-catering suite offered and we would certainly stay at either property again.
Thank you for a very enjoyable and comfortable stay although, having read the rave reviews, we are very disappointed not to have experienced the 'dutch babies' at breakfast - maybe next time!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DianaCopford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I can't say enough good things about Granville House. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The premises are spotless. We stayed in the Birch suite and it was very comfortable and quiet. In fact, the bed was more comfortable than my bed at home! The breakfasts are fantastic whether you go for cooked or continental. The location is very convenient and the neighborhood is fun to walk around in. i would definitely stay here again and would recommend Granville House to anyone planning a trip to Vancouver.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house are quieter than those at the front because Granville is a fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West Point Grey
House On Dunbar B&B
House On Dunbar B&B
#21 of 54 in Vancouver
69 reviews
Shaughnessy
Hycroft Suites
Hycroft Suites
#26 of 48 in Vancouver
53 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 54 in Vancouver
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#30 of 54 in Vancouver
181 reviews
West End
English Bay Inn
English Bay Inn
#5 of 54 in Vancouver
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville House B&B

Property: Granville House B&B
Address: 5050 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only 2011 Canada-Select 5 Star B&B! Built in 1997, this Shaughnessy mansion was renovated in 2007 to provide modern romantic luxury in Vancouver's wealthiest neighbourhood. We provide free on-site parking, WiFi, local & long distance calling. Time sensitive door codes provide hotel security & allow access convenient to you. All suites have king bed, 32" LCD TV with free HD programming and luxurious en-suite bathroom. Enjoy pressed linens, Hutterite down duvets and pillows. Room controlled Air Conditioning, fresh air exchange and heated floors. Deluxe breakfast buffet included, from 5-11am (hot dish served 8:30-10am). Vancouver's largest B&B breakfast area with 6 individual tables. Extremely central, on Granville Street (& 35th Ave), steps to transit, 5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Granville House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville House Hotel Vancouver
Granville House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing