We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My poor feet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granville House B&B
Ranked #26 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My poor feet!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Granville House B&B on a loop tour of the Pacific Northwest. A few things that we did not particularly enjoy were the "shoes off" policy which we found odd (there's a dog in the house) and inconvenient. In addition the house is also located on a very busy street. Our room was on the street side and it was extremely noisy. It was also quite warm in our room and the home does not have air conditioning.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the street side of the house! It's very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuFuTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranvilleBB, Owner at Granville House B&B, responded to this review, 17 November 2016
Updating response to reflect no dog in the house: Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. Our Shoes Off policy is listed on our website, preserves our white wool carpets, and provides a quiet atmosphere for all guests. Slippers are provided. We were the only B&B advertising central Air-Conditioning in 2014, but it is possible the previous guests had screwed down your vent (some guests hate AC). We provide daily cleaning, and draw blinds and curtains in the west facing rooms on sunny days. We skipped your room due to your Do Not Disturb sign on your door. Your Elm Junior Suite is described as not for light sleepers with the bedroom window open. Again, I apologize for your experience and I really appreciate your feedback. Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    24
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
98
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Granville House was our first stop on a 10 day Western Canada self drive tour. We arrived in Vancouver early in the morning and were able to drop off our bags and leave our vehicle at the B&B long before check-in so we could take the conveniently located public transit downtown. The accommodation was beautiful and our hosts, Pam & Randy, and their staff were very helpful in providing great travel tips. The breakfasts were wonderful. We stayed 2 nights and would highly recommend this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: We chose a room at the back of the house away from busy Granville St which runs in front of the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ontariosunseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranvilleBB, Owner at Granville House B&B, responded to this review, 17 November 2016
Thank you for your 5/5 review! We enjoyed our time with you and your 10 day Western Canada drive tour is an inspiration to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was our first visit to Vancouver, and we stayed 2 nights prior to a cruise. We arrived quite late due to a late and delayed flight, so the room codes were helpful. My only complaint was how dark the road was, and how hard of a time we had finding the place. We circled the same few houses at least 3 times trying to read house numbers in the dark. This is really no fault to the B&B, but I wish the sign had been lit or possibly in front of the house. We thought maybe a lit sign was not allowed due to some ordinance, but if at all possible it would be very helpful to newcomers.

Despite our frustrating start, we found the place very lovely. The bedsheets had to be the softest I've ever felt, and the bed was fine. It was cozy, if not a bit warm the first night. Luckily I'm cold natured, but I could see how this could be a problem for people who get hot easily. The ceiling fan was a lifesaver. The second night was much cooler, so I suppose another guest had said something about the temperature. Overall we were very comfortable.

Breakfast was amazing. This, of course, is coming from someone who eats ordinary cereal every morning. I did have some granola, but also a wonderful egg white frittata with goat cheese and peppers, and a banana muffin. This first breakfast was one of my favorite meals of the whole vacation (cruise included). The second breakfast was also good, but we missed the banana muffins this time.

The hosts were friendly, but not overwhelmingly chatty. This was our first B&B experience, so I wasn't sure what to expect. If you are shy by nature as I am, you will not feel pressured to chat too much.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. It wasn't too far from town, and we enjoyed trying out the B&B experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Sept 2013. First visit to Vancouver.
This proved to be an excellent choice for us. The location on the #10 bus route to downtown via the Granville Island area was exactly what we wanted. Parking is available at the rear of the property.
This is a very attractive older house that has been renovated to perfection. The rooms are spacious, and luxuriously furnished, with great attention to detail.
Pam and Randy were very friendly and helpful and had lots of good suggestions regarding restaurants and places to visit. An initial problem was appropriately dealt with.
Breakfast was excellent , with good , high quality choices including hot oatmeal available from 5am and a hot entree served at 8.15am.
Perhaps I would say that this is more a boutique hotel than a B&B

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property are quieter. Granville Road is a very busy one, and road noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OTG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Hard to give this a star-rating because some aspects were superb and others slightly odd. Lovely room, spacious, clean, well equipped and comfortable. Good breakfasts. Quite expensive, but so is everything in Vancouver. Why surreal? - we had to let ourselves in on arrival: being jet-lagged human contact would have been welcome! And we never met the hosts during our two-day visit, only serving staff at breakfast time. Access isn't off Granville Street but a service road at the back, which we hadn't been told. Granville St is a main thoroughfare into Vancouver with traffic noise 24x7 (not just during rush hours as another reviewer has implied - or maybe he was luckier than us.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteB110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranvilleBB, Owner at Granville House B&B, responded to this review, 17 November 2016
Dear CBABS, I am sorry for my delayed response to your review: Thank you for your kind comments "Lovely room, spacious, clean, well equipped and comfortable. Good breakfasts." All guests can request "human contact" on arrival by selecting Host Check In at your ETA. It is possible we did meet as we live onsite and are young enough to be considered "staff". Although neither of us would describe Vancouver as affordable, Granville House B&B is listed under Value & Budget Accommodations, no more expensive than an average B&B, and considerably less than most downtown hotel. Your Elm Junior Suite is not recommended for light sleepers with the bedroom window open. We hope to see you again so we can ask how we are doing. Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We enjoyed the room and the hospitality Pam provided. She is so cheery and very Green minded. Modern rooms in a large home close to parks and not far from Grandville Island. Eggs for breakfast were scrumptious blend of puffy egges with crab and cheese. Close to the road so noisy during rush hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Our son was getting married and the bride's parents and wedding location were situated very close to the B&B. We reserved all five rooms for family members for two nights and this worked very well for all. The rooms were very comfortable, nicely appointed and just right for the locale and event. It was great to have the space and comfort to gather and visit during the wedding preparations. The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was self-serve buffet with a good assortment of items including one cooked item each morning. Easy parking behind the building once you get your bearings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanTheMan1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West Point Grey
House On Dunbar B&B
House On Dunbar B&B
#19 of 54 in Vancouver
70 reviews
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#35 of 54 in Vancouver
191 reviews
Little India / Punjabi Market
No photo provided
White House Bed and Breakfast
#29 of 54 in Vancouver
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Windsor Guest House
Windsor Guest House
#18 of 54 in Vancouver
129 reviews
Shaughnessy
Hycroft Suites
Hycroft Suites
#26 of 49 in Vancouver
53 reviews
West End
English Bay Inn
English Bay Inn
#6 of 54 in Vancouver
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville House B&B

Property: Granville House B&B
Address: 5050 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only 2011 Canada-Select 5 Star B&B! Built in 1997, this Shaughnessy mansion was renovated in 2007 to provide modern romantic luxury in Vancouver's wealthiest neighbourhood. We provide free on-site parking, WiFi, local & long distance calling. Time sensitive door codes provide hotel security & allow access convenient to you. All suites have king bed, 32" LCD TV with free HD programming and luxurious en-suite bathroom. Enjoy pressed linens, Hutterite down duvets and pillows. Room controlled Air Conditioning, fresh air exchange and heated floors. Deluxe breakfast buffet included, from 5-11am (hot dish served 8:30-10am). Vancouver's largest B&B breakfast area with 6 individual tables. Extremely central, on Granville Street (& 35th Ave), steps to transit, 5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Granville House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville House Hotel Vancouver
Granville House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing