We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly hotel in a great location”
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our first stop as part of a 2 week Western Canada adventure, and we weren't disappointed! From the minute we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome and were even given a complimentary room upgrade for my wife's special birthday.

Our room was fairly spacious, with a very comfortable large bed, and quality toiletries in the bathroom. We could just about see the harbour from the room, but suspect you've got to go higher than the 10th floor to really get a decent view.

We borrowed the hotel's bikes for a couple of hours on one afternoon and cycled around Stanley Park - you need to book these in advance, but they do have a few so it wasn't really a problem. They supply helmets, bike locks and a couple of bottles of water too which was a nice touch.

The Loden also has complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning for guests which was nice on our walk out to breakfast each morning.

The hotel is in a great location, being just a few minutes walk from Stanley Park, the Harbour, and the downtown shops, bars and restaurants. We decided to take the train from the airport, as it's only a few blocks walk to the hotel and in the sunshine really quite straightforward (I think we were lucky with the weather though!).

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, and likely to get less noise from the street (not very busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,961
    384
    52
    9
    3
See reviews for
300
1,163
159
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This boutique hotel was terrific from check in to check out. The staff could not have been more attentive or helpful. We spent 7 days in the hotel and loved the location - close to convention centre, Stanley Park, Gas Town, etc. They offer a cab to take you anywhere within a ten minute drive. There are also bikes available. The weather was cool and rainy and the hotel had umbrellas for you to take as needed. Fresh coffee in the lobby, a Bistro Restaurant- excellent-,macaroons as a welcome gift -so many small details that made you feel special.
I would suggest that the coffee be available all day long since there are no coffee makers in the rooms. The restaurant could have longer hours. The tv system is frustrating and incredibly slow to manage changing channels. We did speak to staff about this but… there was no solution-perhaps in the future this will be addressed. Since we weren't there to spend our days watching tv, no big deal but we did think it was strange for a hotel to have such a poor set up. Highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fvtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Thanks so much to the staff at the Loden Hotel. The room was beyond expectations. The staff offered their knowledge of the area and were ready to give any help to us when needed. The facility was lovely and very quiet and had a great location to the downtown core.
Only suggestion would be to possibly have the dining room open earlier than the 5:00pm opening. Check in is at 3:00pm and we were hungry and would have loved to sit down for an appie and glass of wine before going out later that same evening.
Would return to this place in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We discovered the Loden a few years ago and have not looked back! Smartly appointed rooms, heavenly sheets and great beds make for a comfy stay. But besides this and its' quiet yet close in location, it is the staff that really makes us return whenever we head to Vancouver.
We would gladly invite any of them to dinner .... fun, interesting, worldly and, so appreciated, genuine in every way. So unlike the big box hotels, we look forward to returning as often as we can.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarushkaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at the Loden about 4 years ago and nothing has changed, still amazing. Service was perfect. Great food and cocktails at trableau. Comfy beds... best place to stay in Vancouver! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Many good reviews here and I don't disagree but please note that the restaurant isn't open all the time (couldn't get in for dinner on a Friday night because it was booked and it was closed for lunch on Saturday - go figure!), the room is small and the view is looking into the building across. IMHO, there are better boutique hotels in downtown Vancouver for about the same price range with a restaurant that opens most of the time, bigger room and better view.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2GoFast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Love love this hotel, love the resturant the appy's are great, and the drinks are delicious, we meet are daughter and son there was great place to chat and eat , the music was great.

Your car will be parked for you. There is a charge. But well worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blonde1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing