We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new Vancouver hotel ”
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My new Vancouver hotel ”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I recently had the opportunity to stay for a night at the Loden and being a person who tends to stay at the large chains I was a little concerned.

Well, I had no reason to be concerned. I was blown away by the quality of this property. The rooms are stunning, service was fantastic, and the food was great!

This is my new hotel while in Vancouver.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mattincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,005
    391
    53
    9
    3
See reviews for
306
1,189
162
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had heard great things about this hotel, but I was disappointed. The rooms are nice (but small), and the hotel is well-located downtown. However, I was surprised by the poor customer service we received.

First, when I checked in, the front desk clerk asked what we had planned for the evening. I said we wanted to eat in the hotel's restaurant, but she did not offer to make a reservation. When I called from our room, we could not get through to the restaurant (got a recording). We ended up eating elsewhere.

Our room package included valet parking. When we pulled up, there was no valet or doorman around, so we left our car out front. I mentioned to the front desk clerk that I wanted valet parking, and she said the valet would be back in a few minutes. We went up to our room to freshen up, and returned to the lobby about 15 minutes later and the car was still there. There was still no one around, so I asked the desk clerk when the car would be moved. She again said the valet would be back in a few minutes. I expressed concern about leaving our car on the street unattended, with the keys in it and our packages inside (the front desk is not near the street entrance). She just repeated that the valet would be back soon (he had gone to park a car that arrived after ours). We eventually left as we didn't want to waste our evening being picky, and I'm not sure how the long car stood the the street.

Our package also included continental breakfast in the hotel restaurant. While the ambiance in the restaurant is nice, the server seemed harried, and we felt like we were a nuisance and were being hurried out the door, even though we arrived 45 minutes before breakfast service ended. We were not offered any cooked food, even though it was available as part of the package.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Recent 4 night stay at hotel while attending convention. Great location off the major big hotel path but close to waterfront, great restaurants and shopping. Have stayed here several times in the past 5 years and guest rooms starting to show their wear. Large guest rooms oversized tv; a/c runs loud; window that opens, in-room safe, bar fridge and large bathroom but paper holder doesn't do the job and you can get a shower by simply turning on the sink tap. Asked previous stay why no coffee machine for room - still a year later and none are available - bad idea for those of us who like their caffeine first thing in the morning and don't want to dress to take the elevator down for the complimentary paper cup. Breakfast dismal. Tried to grab a coffee at Tableau with a client around 11:30 am - a no go from the bartender who relented with a comment to make it fast due to lunch crowd. Went across to SBcks instead at client's request
(who was a local and said the hotel was known for being "snooty without cause".) Also booked Halo penthouse for a corporate event - fabulous space, views that can't be matched. Went through a couple of personnel changes and contract signing was touchy. Discovered after signing and payment upfront made, that you can't actually stay overnight in the penthouse if you are hosting an event - explanation did not make sense and had to book separate guestroom; and unable to provide food before 430 pm as kitchen staff not available before that (even though contract read to start at 4pm) Valet, front door and in-room delivery staff very helpful and friendly - front desk staff could use tips from them (standing in groups gossiping about other guests while a guest is trying to check in is not good).
.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien L, Guest Relations Manager at Loden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear travelgirl816,

Thank you for being loyal to the Loden for the past Five years. We appreciate your helpful feedback. Though six years young we are continuously refreshing our environment, most recently with the addition of new mobile desk chairs and luxurious desktops with ample power outlets. You brought up valuable points and I will get in touch with you shortly to discuss at your convenience your experience at the Loden.

Adrien Litargne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Ran the BMO Vancouver Marathon and wanted to stay at a nice hotel that was close to the finish line. I chose the Loden because I wanted to make sure my "race crew" (wife) was as comfortable as possible. We enjoyed a great meal at Tableau. The room was awesome! Cool features and design. The concierge made sure we were in a room that did not allow pets, the frig was cleared so we could stow a few things, and they supplied a blender so I could make my morning smoothie! Location was very convenient to restaurants and sightseeing. It was a wonderful weekend away. Plus I qualified for Boston 2015 :-)

Room Tip: If you have pet allergies ask for a room that does not allow pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonner Springs, Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

For the price, this should have been a step better. While a nice hotel, clean and very friendly. The design of the bathroom was problematic. Why have toilet paper holders that don't hold the toilet paper. The sink, while fashionable, was so shallow you got a shower from the simply running water in the sink. No coffee in the room, was a real problem for we who want our caffeine in the morning. Breakfast was certainly substandard. On the positive side, we cannot say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They made the stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrDray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel to attend a large meeting at the Convention Center and found it to be comfortable and convenient, about 5 blocks to the Convention Center. My room was a Park Vista room, a corner room with floor to ceiling windows. The view was toward the harbor with partially obstructed views caused by near-by buildings (room 1007, on the 10th floor). The room itself was not spacious, but was adequately large, with a desk and chair, an additional chair, 2 reasonably sized closets, a safe, and a mini bar. The bathroom had a tub and large shower with great water pressure. There were plenty of towels and bath items. The room was extremely quiet with no street or hallway noise. Room lights were easily controlled with bedside switches.

There was turndown service each night, and a fresh container of water was placed by the bedside. There was an impressive High Def large screen TV with local and some cable channels, but no free Premium cable (additional movies, shows, etc were available as pay-per-view).

The hotel has several free taxis/vans available to shuttle you to downtown locations (you pay the driver "whatever you think is appropriate"). The location has many restaurants within easy walking distance. Yaletown restaurants along Hamilton Street would be a little over a mile walk and Gastown restaurants are about 20-25 minutes walking distance depending on which end of Gastown they are in. And if you are coming from the airport (YRV) the light rail station at Georgia and Grandville is only 5-6 blocks away. The 20-25 minute train ride is faster than a taxi, and costs only $4 CAN.

The business office in the Loden was pretty standard - small, only one chair, one computer with printer - but adequate. The workout room was nice with multiple machines, many with a small TV and headphones, as well as large screen overhead TVs. There was also access to the interior garden from the workout room.

Staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and many restaurant recommendations. There are bikes and helmets in the lobby for general use and Vancouver is a very bike-friendly city with many bike lanes on city streets and trails into Stanley Park.

My only complaint is that the AC Fannie my room was quite loud, louder than a "white noise" background sound that you would expect from HVAC. It was loud enough to make it difficult to hear the TV unless the volume was turned way up. During my visit in May, the bed covers were quite warm and to keep a comfortable temp at night the AC ran frequently and was quite distracting at first. This is a minor complaint compared to the quality of this hotel.

Overall a great boutique hotel with amenities available such as the hotel taxi and bicycles that are not typically available at other boutique hotels. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I was in Vancouver on business and needed to find a hotel very last minute (thanks to me being a complete scatterbrain) that was dog-friendly. The Loden came up as an option and based on location, it seemed like the logical pick.

Arrived around 4pm and was met by quite possibly the nicest front desk staff ever. I was suffering from some severe pollen allergies and had zero voice, they had some hot water with fresh sliced lemons and honey sent up to my room to sooth my throat, wonderful! On top of that, there was a wine and cheese mixer being held downstairs that they informed me about and I was able to meet some amazing Loden staff that showed me around and made me feel beyond welcome in both the hotel and at Tableau: Daniel & Alain.

You cannot find a better downtown location, the Loden is situated in downtown, right by the financial centre as well as Coal Harbour. The rooms are spacious and lovely with free wifi, huuuuge windows, lighting that makes you look good at any time of day or night and these huge soaker tubs that are incredible. I am normally ecstatic to check out of a hotel room after a business trip, but I was actually pouting when I was checking out.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here every single time I am in Vancouver from this day forward, even my pup approves!

Room Tip: North view so that you can see the mountains and water, there's no better way to wake up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJintheCouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,882 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,715 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,667 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing