We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Customer Service”
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superior Customer Service”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is centrally located on a fairly quiet street. Most sightseeing highlights are within walking distance. The rooms are modern, beautiful and immaculate. The bathroom is stocked with Molton Brown products. Wifi is free, as are the morning espresso drinks in the lobby. Bike rentals are also complimentary for two hours if you reserve ahead. There was a slight mix up about our bike reservations one morning so the staff drove us to a bike rental store and paid for our rental costs. Talk about customer service and making your customers feel taken care of. All in all the staff seeks out opportunities to make your stay as wonderful as possible. I cannot recommend the Loden enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryHStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,050
    397
    56
    9
    3
See reviews for
316
1,205
162
649
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at the Loden for 4 nights at the end of a road-trip around BC. The welcome from the staff was first class, rooms beautifully designed and spotlessly clean, and "Le Tableau" bar and restaurant was first class and not horribly over-priced. The location on Melville Street is just 2 minutes from Coal Harbour and its lovely walks and restaurants, and 5 minutes from the shopping district on Robson. But it's the small touches that make this hotel standout for me. From homemade lemonade in the foyer and fresh coffee in the mornings, to their own taxi which will scoot you around the city, to the complimentary bikes they provide you with to cycle around Stanley Park - this has been seroiusly though out and gives you a first rate experience. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We couldnt love our hotel more. From the moment we got here the staff couldnt be more generous with their time and welcoming help. Especially Adrian. Each morning we have bikes to ride around beautiful Stanley Park included in our stay. Wifi also included. They upgraded our room to a high floor and we can see water and mountains, sailboats and seaplanes! It is elegant and quiet and comfortable. The location in the city is so convenient.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We loved The Loden very much. The staff was very helpfull, and the room was over the top.
The hotel was in the middel of everything, in walkingdistance to Canada Place, from where you can take sightseeingbus, watertaxi and a lot more.

Room Tip: Garden terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibeke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stay at the Loden quite often and book it over and over again because of it's amazing service, cleanliness, and central location. They do the little things like welcome me back, and leave great quotes and fresh water at turn down.
The gym is awesome too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Only stayed one night the the Loden but totally enjoyed it. Staff was welcoming, helpful and professional, the area is awesome - less than 10-minute walk from Harbour Air that i highly recommend to use if you plan to visit Victoria - and the room quite large and very comfortable. Will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartelTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I usually stay at the Opus in Yaletown when visiting Vancouver for work. This time they were at capacity so I ended up at the lovely Loden. Naturally, I had to compare both hotels since they are relatively similar.

The Loden? GREAT location. Its in a semi residential area called Coal Harbor, which is roughly 10 mins walk to the convention center (I walked it each day and have shorter legs than the average Joe) and its MUCH quieter. There is a train station also about 10 mins walk - different direction (Burrard Station but requires changing trains if coming from the airport.). There are lots of Sushi eateries littered nearby and a 7-Eleven around the corner to top up on snacks. The Opus in contrast is in the trendy area called Yaletown and has lots of bars in the area so can get quite noisy at night. The Opus is across the street from Roundhouse station so is much more convenient to get to from the airport (straight shot to the hotel from airport. A 20 mins train ride). For the Loden, the most straightforward route is to take Canada Line from the airport to Vancouver City Station, then walk about 20 minutes west to the hotel or change trains as suggested above for a shorter walk. So Opus beats it in terms of getting there from YVR airport. That said, Loden is better suited if you are attending events at the Convention Center, want to be closer to the Harbor and want to be away from the hustle and bustle.

GREAT restaurant - their Tableau Bar Bistro which is a French restaurant is enough to keep you locally based. The best food I had during this visit was there. The food is simply flavorful! Huge compliments to the chef. From the steak fries, the chorizo omelette to the French onion soup, there wasn't anything that didn't taste great (and i am fussy with my meals). The Opus's La Pentola, an Italian eatery pales in comparison (Opus take note:).

Rooms- modern, furnished rooms with all the usual amenities (molton brown travel essentials (lotion etc) - hairdryer, umbrella (usually needed in Vancouver), iron. Love the speakers in the bathroom as it meant I could still hear the TV whilst in the bathroom. Keeping abreast of your fav program is important stuff! The Opus has much more splashes of colors in the room and a little more character design in each room. Their rooms have colorful palettes and retro pop-deco design and they have unique décor schemes and Loden seems dull in contrast but I have only stayed here once so... My only personal complaint with the Loden is the beds are not quite as comfy as Opus and the sheets are certainly not quite as soft so I didn't sleep as soundly each night as I usually do at Opus. For a hotel of its calibre I didn't expect a slightly sunken in mattress and rough thin sheets. Adding the Opus does have that complimentary IPAD in every room. Def a bug bonus and a notch for them.

GREAT customer service and the staff there literally aim to please and will kindly cater to your every whim with a smile. I am sucker for customer service so when I get doses of great service I will automatically rave about it. There is one concern that I do need to address. While there, I made 2 calls to the front desk -- one to order room service and the order to request their courtesy shuttle. I noticed a front desk charge on my credit card bill upon returning for $7.62. Not a huge amount but certainly concerning that a call to the front desk isn't free. I will be calling them to question.

I must admit, I do love the complimentary water or champagne the Opus offer you while you are checking in. After a long flight and travel its just a nice little gesture (Loden take note:). Both hotels do have the welcome snack in the room with your name printed/or written on a card (love that)- Opus has better snacks though.

Opus vs Loden? Food for thought! The bottom-line, its like comparing apples and oranges so unless you need an ipad, and want to be seconds away from all the action I would settle with the Loden and let the price be your guide.

Choose wisely!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien L, Guest Relations Manager at Loden Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear SOAP,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we appreciate the time you took to share with others your stay with us at the Loden. I understand that you had some concerns and will be contacting you shortly.

Sincerely,

Adrien Litargne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,968 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,637 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,701 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing