We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated seafood perfectly prepared in a gorgeous setting”
Review of Coast Restaurant

Coast Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Coast Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 3,782 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: US$20 - US$80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Alberni Street between Thurlow and Burrard
Transit: 5 minutes away from Burrard Street Sky Train Station
Description: Coast is where seafood –fresh British Columbia seafood – dazzles! The freshest fish, succulent shellfish and the most colossal seafood towers are here, with the rarest, perfectly prepared oysters nestled in beds of ice, waiting for you. This is BC’s best seafood, and offers true west-coast dining, flashy and fun for every mood and every occasion.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sophisticated seafood perfectly prepared in a gorgeous setting”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Title says it all. Great service. And in the heart of downtown.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mrhullaballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    455
    187
    75
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent from beginning to end”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

First time dining. Did not have reserrvations. No problem, was offered a spot at lively bar or a table. We chose table. Our wiatress, Edwina, sat us and gave great recommendations from the Bloody Ceasars (which are hard to come by in the states) to the spotted prawns. They were terrific. Had a new dinning experience with great suggestions on how to eat the crispy prawns from Edwina and the food delivery man who was fantastic and checked back too. The food was outstanding. Service surburb. Ambiance lively and fun. Recommend to all!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I heard great things about this restaurant and it was recommended by the concierge of my hotel so I decided to treat myself to a solo mid-day lunch here. I was very disappointed. The decor is really beautiful, especially the comfortable outside terrace that had a fire surrounding it to keep the area warm and cozy.
The food is very expensive for the quality and portion that is provided. I ordered the salmon, which was very small and came on a bed of beans that were crunchy and almost raw. Bread wasn't even provided, I had to ask. Though, I have to admit it was really delicious once it arrived. The lunch menu appears more affordable however I believe I just missed the cut off time.
To be honest, the place felt a bit pretentious and I felt quite bad not ordering 100$ worth of food.
The service was ok overall.
Perhaps I just went on a bad day, however I would not return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eclipze006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willis TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We ate outside on the patio in the evening, very comfortalbe. Everything from the mussels for an appetizer to the dessert were wonderful. The service was excellent.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Billntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW the seafood and presentation”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The seafood and presentation are incredible. The service is fabulous. This is a must when in downtown Vancouver. A bit pricey but far worth the price.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Coast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing