We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Don Francesco

Don Francesco
Ranked #217 of 3,776 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$51 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: West End
Cross street: Smithe
Transit: Bus stops on Burrard and Smithe Streets; Robson bus stop at Burrard; Skytrain - Burrard Station; Canada Line - City Center
Description: The enduring fine-dining restaurant in the heart of downtown Vancouver - the dining room to the stars - serving traditional Italian cuisine with a French twist and an extensive wild game menu.
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“great place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Now while we did not eat here thefoodlooked fabulous. We were there for drinks after graduation ceremonies at UBC. The bartender was very attentive and a lot of fun, but very professional,as was all the staff. We went 3 days in a row we enjoyed the places so much and each time we were greeted by names by both the Manager and Ricardo,the bartender. Next time in Van. We will definitely go to this restaurant and enjoy a meal.

Thanks so much to make our vacation so great

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    96
    36
    30
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Elegant and Delicious!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our evening with friends at Francesco's was wonderful! The food was as delicious as it was beautifully presented. Tom is no stranger to chicken parmesan and declared this the best ever! We are not normally dessert people but could not resist, sharing the frozen limoncello dessert and the cheesecake. Service was exceptional and we loved our waiter. I wish I remembered his name so I could give him personal kudos now. Yes, ths was one of our more "spendy" meals, but we lingered over it as one should so it was not only our dinner, but a celebration of things we enjoy - great food, lively conversation, and time with good friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomJoHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expensive but excellent”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

All the meals were really good. One of the top end restaurants in Vancouver. Every thing was par excellence.
We were 4 for dinner with a nice bottle of wine was approx $400 inc tip and taxes. All the different meals were really good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westvancouver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classic (tourist) food”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Your basic tourist food. This is the sort of restaurant who knows they will never see you again and treat you accordingly.

I had an empty water glass for most of the meal. Even when I managed to flag someone and ask for a refill, I got one less than half the time. It was quite a while before that appetizers arrived, then a *really* long time before one of the salads showed up. The other salad never made it. The entrees arrived at almost the same time as the salad. My lobster lasagna was rather good. I liked the texture of the whole grain mustard on the carpaccio. But, other than that, the meal was a bust. Another couple we were traveling with was leaving as we came in. They said the same thing.

I'm pretty sure they survive on recommendations form hotels. They can't get much repeat business.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food but noisy place”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have eaten here many times and like it very much. However, this time there was an extremely noisy table of 6 that ruined dinner for the whole front section of restaurant. The serving staff did what they could but management should have taken a hand and dealt with these people. Another couple moved to the back of the restaurant and another left. We just tried to enjoy dinner and ignore them. It made a big difference in out experience and we will consider this when and if we return.
The food was very good and I highly recommend the Veal Marsala. Our waiter was excellent and we appreciated his service very much.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Northof54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Francesco also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Don Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing