We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it - one of the best food experiences”
Review of The Abbey - CLOSED

The Abbey
Price range: US$18 - US$35
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Gastown
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love it - one of the best food experiences”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you are debating where to go for dinner - this is it. We made it in for happy hour and started with some great share plates for half price. The mushrooms on toast was very good and I loved the choices of cheese on the cheese board.
For entrees, there were many specials and lots of menu items to choose from. I had the chicken and my husband has the sausage dish. Both were excellent. Simple, good quality with lots of flavour.
This is one of our new top choices for restaurants and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mvici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Excellent new restaurant near Gastown -- really worth a visit!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My partner and I come to Vancouver each August, and love the extraordinary restaurant scene in this city. We have followed a wonderful server named Angela Dean to four restaurants now (it's a wonder she doesn't have a protection order out on us), but we know she is very choosy about where she works. She had moved to a new place, and we checked it out.

It vastly exceeded our expectations. Angela was our server, so of course, the service was impeccable. The food was just outstanding though -- perfectly prepared, delicious, and gorgeous presentation. The cocktails are inventive and fun to experiment with, and the wine list is very good. I love the atmosphere; the place just opened a month ago and there weren't a ton of people there, but it was easy to hear at your own table, a real plus for us.

We absolutely loved the place, and it's now on our list! Of course, our problem is that we only have eight days each year, and more than that in terrific places to eat. Nice problem to have!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top notch ”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Simple dishes beautifully executed, completely delicious.... coupled with Excellent service made for a great dining experience in Vancouver. Try the mushrooms on toast or the lamb shank hot pot.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rossco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You Gotta Eat Here!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had the pleasure of dining at the Abbey on their opening weekend. The room is lovely....completely professional service....and the food? Well, it's Andrey Durbach. 'nuf said.
The cocktail program is outstanding and is helmed by one of the city's best bar managers. Super wine list and a nice selection of craft beers.
Steak for me and my bride had Lancashire Hotpot....both terrific.
Congratulations to Chris, Andrey & Michel!
The Abbey is going to be another great success.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank datthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A surprisingly superb dining experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We started with an abbey cocktail, wine and a bowl of warm olives and crispy chorizo slices. I followed with a fantastic cioppino seafood stew. It was not a huge bowl but perfect for a light supper. They could easily bottle the thick spicy broth. The seafood was perfectly cooked. My husband had a crispy half chicken on a bed of roasted vegetables. We needed to rush off to a game but we will return to try their lobster and spaghetti plate and the salted caramel dessert!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TouchstoneDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Abbey also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing