We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, fantastic food, and lovely setting”

Five Sails Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Five Sails Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 3,732 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$80
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Howe Street
Transit: The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.
Description: Dramatically situated on the waterfront pier at Canada Place, this AAA Four Diamond award winning fine dining restaurant offers a breathtaking natural backdrop of the inner harbor, Stanley Park and Coastal mountains with gracious hospitality in an understated elegant setting. Proprietors Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers, a husband and wife team, bring years of experience to Five Sails skillfully fusing modern, continental cuisine with European influences to cultivate a memorable dining experience. Showcasing the mastery that made Chef Dorfler an internationally acclaimed Culinary Olympic World Champion, his signature mountain raviolis stuffed with fine herbs, spinach and ricotta then finished with a drizzle of hazelnut butter harken back to his Austrian childhood. The innovative "Catch!", a veritable cornucopia of seafood is enrobed in a lemongrass sauce perfumed with coconut milk and hint of chili, displays world-class passion and artistry. Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda, always brings impressive knowledge and unpretentious flair in providing optimal wine pairings from a list consistently honoured with the Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence. The gracious service and exemplary dining combined with sweeping views of ships sailing off into the setting sun is an experience like none other.
Daejeon, South Korea
2 reviews
“Excellent service, fantastic food, and lovely setting”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I can't begin to summarize how amazing 5 Sails Restaurant was for my July 5, 2014 wedding! From the moment we began planning our reception dinner five months before the big day, we received invaluable help from Ms. Gerry Sayers. She responded e-mails quickly, answered any question we came up with, and coordinated the setup of all the menus and place cards, as well as, the cake and A/V setup. Moreover, the servers was incredibly helpful, personable, and professional. And the food.....AMAZING. Our family and friends were so impressed! From start to finish, our day couldn't have been more perfect, and that is in large part due to the wonderful time at 5 Sails! Thank you to everyone at 5 Sails for making our day so special:)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sion Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    96
    42
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in the Iconic Five Sails.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Every travel book on Vancouver shows the iconic Five Sails.
The food is first class and is as one would expect.
Service is impeccable.
Not cheap but well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mocroi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had the pleasure of dining there with a professional group. The restaurant was closed for our event. Appetizers were wonderful, and the dinner itself was even better! My husband had the seafood entrée and I had the beef. They were both outstanding! We met the event Cordinator to tell her how much we enjoyed the dinner, and she thanked us and said her husband was the chef! Delightful!
Also, The restaurant is right on the water and has a wonderful view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ichabod66604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spectacular Food, Service and View”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We are West Vancouver residents and treat ourselves to many of the best restaurants in the city. If we were visiting Vancouver and could only eat in one fine dining restaurant, it would certainly be The Five Sails in the Pan Pacific.
Exemplary service and gourmet food in a panoramic view restaurant overlooking the mountains, Coal Harbour and Stanley park. European five star hotel dining service with dishes and flavours that you will never forget.
Can't say enough, you have to try it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaroldandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Melt-in-your-mouth deliciousness!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Pan Pacific Hotel and decided to dine in one night. Best decision ever! This place was amazing all round. The service, the food, the view - all outstanding.

I think this is the best meal I have had to date and by far the best service. If I was a local this would be a treat I would allow myself at least once a fortnight!

You wont be disappointed, give it a try - just be warned, no meal will ever quite measure up again...

Helpful?
Thank Bottomfeeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Sails Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Five Sails Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing