We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”
Review of Blue Water Cafe

Blue Water Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Water Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 3,730 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$37
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Cross street: Helmcken St.
Description: Blue Water Cafe is Vancouver's definitive destination for seafood, widely known for its excellence in celebrating the extraordinary flavours of BC. Consistently awarded "Best Seafood Restaurant" in Vancouver and recognized for its unparalleled service, an evening at Blue Water Cafe is truly an unforgettable experience.
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
253 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This restaurant is special so be prepared to spend. The char and halibut are worthy choices. The service is everything you could want. The wine list is extensive as well as expensive. Try the hot chocolate cake for dessert for a real treat. An after dinner drink called "The Rebellion" is something to try as well. A complete dinner for two, including wine, will set you back upwards of $200, but if you are looking for something special, this is it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elpavorealblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,549
    449
    116
    38
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Must visit when in Vancouver”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had 2 dinner experiences here within 5 days! The service is very good, level of attention by waiting staff is excellent, and their explanation of menu items very informative. As to the food, everything we had - oysters, clams, sashimi, wild BC salmon, Sockeye salmon, grilled Atlantic lobster, Canadian prime beef from Alberta, desserts - came out well. Though a bit nosy at peak dining hours , the atmosphere is cosy. Fantastic wine collection - one of the best if not the best in Vancouver. The house wines, featuring Okanagan Valley wines, are very drinkable and well-priced. And do check out the oddly shaped decanters!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bbteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montréal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WOW, wow, wow”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This restaurant is amazing. Everything is great and delicious. We made a reservation on open table and they sent us an e-mail to confirme and another one 24 hours before. We arrived 15 minutes early (because we didn't know where it was exactly) and the table was already waiting for us. Big table for two. The waiter was amazing, when he talked it was like poetry in our heads, unfortunately, I don't remember his name.

I took the seelbach to start it was good. We took a botlle of white wine to go with the seafood, tasting. We had the matane shrimp cocktails, the beni sake (salmon) and the Sockeye Salmon as apetizers. Everything was tasty, it was a paradise in my mouth. The freshness and the fullest of the savors were perfect. We completed our meal with the seafood tower (''two tiers with oysters, prawns, seared red tuna, smoked salmon jellyfish, scallops ceviche, clams and mussels''). My favorite part was the seared red tuna and the oyster, but everything was good. The waiting time is just perfect, I talked a lot with my boyfriend tought it was not too long.

We were too full for deserts but they looked fantastic.

Thanks a lot for a perfect evening and we hope to come back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Georgia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I had the great pleasure of traveling to Vancouver to board a cruise to Alaska. I researched Trip Advisor before going and found high reviews for this restaurant. I was not disappointed!
The restaurant is beautiful and elegant inside and very quiet for a restaurant of this size. Our waitress (I think her name was Rachel) was perfect~very professional and fun at the same time. When our dirty martini's were served I thought they were rather puny but Rachel explained the 1 1/2oz laws of liquor in Vancouver. So no stinginess on the part of the restaurant~just following the law.
The raw oyster selection was wonderful and every sample perfect. We ordered so many dishes I can't recall in detail (I just got off a cruise ship~too many meal in-between). But everyone was wowed by the meal and service! What a wonderful experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookwoman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Foodies Unite”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Do not miss this experience! The food FAB, the setting unique. Industrial Chic. We travel, experience wonderful environments and food. A MUST. We came from the East coast, got off a cruise line and had been told to eat here. made our 30th weddding anniversary special!! Ask for Eddy to be your server!
Please makea reservation or you will be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RigbyHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Water Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Blue Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing