We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like 2.5 stars” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dockside Restaurant & Brewing Company

Dockside Restaurant & Brewing Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Dockside Restaurant & Brewing Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #212 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Granville Island & Fairview
Transit: #50 & #51
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More like 2.5 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

First of all, we made a reservation months ahead of time on OpenTable for a weekday afternoon. I requested outdoor seating, weather permitting. When we arrived, we asked to sit outside since it was a gorgeous day. No tables were available outside, which was a huge bummer. So, the lesson here is that they apparently ignore the comments section of OT reservations. The inside of the restaurant is gorgeous, so it wasn't like we suffered a hardship, but it was beautiful outside. Minus one star.

Our server was fine -- not as attentive as I'd expect at a nicer restaurant. Minus one star.

The food, for the price paid, was slightly below-average. (Side note: Canadians apparently love putting mayo on burgers. I learned that the hard way at Dockside.)

We left feeling very underwhelmed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GLizzle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    151
    66
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Delicious meal with fantastic waitress and serving staff. We sat on the patio and had a wonderful view of the water and the boats in the harbor. This restaurant may be a bit pricey for some budgets, but if you're going to "splurge" for a night, this is definitely the place to do it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 74debram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
929 reviews
435 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Expensive, but excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Fortunate to find free parking while attending a family function. Valet service is available, and probably needed during busy times. Great venue: water front, views of Yale Town, and plenty of boat activities. We occupied the large room on the south side; bar and kitchen close by. The food we saw being prepared and going into the resturant looked awesome. Our first hour was spent trying a few craft beer and eating some excellent appetizers: individual lamp chops, tuna, and spring rolls. So good! Our dinner was outstanding ....'eye candy', with great taste! The lemon tart dessert was sweet, but very good. Great breakfast the next day. We will be back to try items off the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

As the name of this restaurant suggests, it is located right beside a harbor and overlooks millions of dollars in yachts. Set on the south side of False Creek and overlooking Yaletown, the vista is one of the nicest citycapes that you could imagine. The restaurant is surrounded by glass and the layout is very airy. The wait staff is extremely friendly and the food is very good. This is the perfect location for brunch or lunch with family, friends or business associates. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the setting is superb. Overall this is probably one of the best bets for breakfast or lunch in all of Vancouver.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank masterphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lcation, Location, Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Dockside is an upscale dining experience with an emphasis on the experience. If they solely relied on their great location on False Creek at the eastern-most edge of Granville Island ( and they could easily ), I would not be writing this review. Outdoor seating with the quality food and service on a beautiful day-priceless. We had a wonderful lunch. My guest had 2 appetizers, the vegetable spring roles and the grilled chicken thigh Salay. with a wonderful B.C. wine. I had the roasted San Marzano tomatoe bisque, yum and then the Saltspring Island mussels. Living in the Jersey Shore, I cannot say enough about NW Coast mussels. Pricy but no regrets. Relaxed, very professional and right on the button.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dockside Restaurant & Brewing Company also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Dockside Restaurant & Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing