We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love it!”

Showcase Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Showcase Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #218 of 3,732 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$38
Cuisines: Canadian, Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Thurlow Street
Description: Located inside the Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel on the corner of West Hastings and Thurlow Street in downtown Vancouver is the award winning Vancouver Restaurant, Showcase Restaurant & Bar. This Downtown Vancouver casual dining restaurant is a reflection of Vancouver's ethnicity with a diverse mix of flavours, influences and inspirations. Choose from an extensive menu hand crafted by Chef Frank Gort and his culinary team using only the freshest seasonal ingredients.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“love it!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Can't say enough about the food! I had the Spice Crusted Lamb for an entree and it was delicious! It was done medium but just melted in the mouth! My husband had the Scallops for an appie and he raved about it! Definitely good food. Drinks are a bit expensive. Atmosphere and ambience is lovely. Our server was wonderful and remembered all our orders without writing it down. Definitely coming back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbugberni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    60
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
235 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pricey and disappointing”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The food here was expensive, so you would hope that it would be good. For dinner, my meal was okay, but the chicken on my Mom's Chicken Caesar Salad was so though you could hardy chew it. Breakfast was better, but nothing special. The service was very slow!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kdp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lucky find on a busy Saturday night.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We came across this restaurant on a busy Saturday night on holiday in Vancouver. After trawling round in the Robson Street area and failing to find anywhere to eat without a long wait in chaos, this was a relief as we were tired and hungry by then. Bit of a strange atmosphere as the lighting was quite bright and the huge windows do make you feel you are on display to all passers by. Had a very nice waitress who ran through some of the menu with us. We chose simple steak meals for main course, but the Korean Lettuce Wraps we shared for a starter were superb.
Made just enough room for desserts too which were delicate and unusual. Seemed to have the usual drinks menu found in many restaurants in Downtown Vancouver. Wasn't the cheapest we found in the City but we left feeling happy, satisfied, and glad we chose the Showcase for a relaxing occasion, which we wanted on that particular evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“At least they didn't charge for it”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This newly renovated space has great potential. The hotel restaurant seems to be lacking in all other ways. The chef must go! This was a very disappointing meal demonstrating a complete lack of inspiration in the kitchen. Service and atmosphere were just fine but the no questions asked comp'ing of the entire meal tells me this is not the first unhappy customer. Even the wine menu is sad...given the great local choices I was surprised that the menu was not better developed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirmeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Montana
Level Contributor
295 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Restaurant Impossible!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My best way of describing this 'redo' on a Restaurant would be....'Restaurant Impossible'!!
The Marriott Pinnacle has been under the tedious process of remodeling their Restaurant/Bar...The Showcase. It is COMPLETE!! and the transformation is wonderful! A totally new atmosphere and attitude with the new property. Before it was outdated and uninviting, and now it says.....COME IN!!
Great menu, great drinks, and great service!! Pinnacle, you should be PROUD!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Showcase Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Showcase Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing