We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and good service.”

Showcase Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Showcase Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #200 of 3,776 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Canadian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Thurlow Street
Description: Located inside the Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel on the corner of West Hastings and Thurlow Street in downtown Vancouver is the award winning Vancouver Restaurant, Showcase Restaurant & Bar. This Downtown Vancouver casual dining restaurant is a reflection of Vancouver's ethnicity with a diverse mix of flavours, influences and inspirations. Choose from an extensive menu hand crafted by Chef Frank Gort and his culinary team using only the freshest seasonal ingredients.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good food and good service.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We want showcase due to a deal found on Groupon and it was a really nice experience.

The service was good, although pretty slow according to canadian standards.
We shared a Korean Fried Chicken Lettuce Wraps and it was delicious (best part of the meal). It is very tasty, a bit spicy, crunchy ... everything you want from a great dish. The portion is pretty big and will easily served 2 people.

The Shrimp and scallop tagliatelle and Steak frites were both nice as well. Seafood and meat were perfectly coocked.
The Lemon yuzu tart and Macaron were perfect to close the meal as they were both tasty and light, which is nice after a filling meal.

We read some bad reviews about the service but didn't encouter any issue with the waiter/waitresses. All of them were very decent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mosespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    62
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Why hadn't we heard of this place before?”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We went there with a party of 5 covering 3 generations. This is the restaurant at Mariott Pinnacle hotel in downtown Vancouver. I go to this hotel for business 3-4 times a year. generally speaking, since t here are so many amazing ethnic foods in Vancouver, we like to try other things. This time I was really happy we tried this continental style menu. They have hamburgers, salmon, steak, you know the regular stuff.
But, the quality, taste and value was astonishing. Everyone really like their food and we are sure to go back. The atmosphere was great, too. Casual but still somewhat classy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mo-safer-at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Breakfast buffet was very good. Nice selection, great tasting food and servcie. Location was great and I wold highly recommend trying it out when staying at the hotel or when nearby.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanMarriottPinnacle, General Manager at Showcase Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We are thrilled to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards, Joann Pfeifer, General Manager, Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ WOW!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing, amazing, amazing for DOV price of only $28! A must try. Service was ok but food was outstanding for quality and quantity. Was just at a very $$$$ restaurant downtown for a large gathering a couple of weeks earlier and was so disappointed in every course of the meal. Sure the host paid a pretty penny for the extravaganza. Here at Showcase we would have had double the amount of food on our plates and truly enjoy every bite taken. I recommended it to a fellow co-worker & my mgr. Both went at different times & gave the restaurant two thumbs up! Can't get better than that!

Helpful?
Thank Foodiechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle recently which came with a food voucher (a deal through Travel Zoo). The hotel is wonderful and this restaurant is just off their large lobby. It looks and feels very hip and has a wonderful ambience. It just felt like a place to relax and they weren't pretenious. Our waiter fit the feel and took good care of us.

The food was wonderful. I had the free range chicken with warm kale, mushrooms and mashed potatoes while my wife had the Pad Thai. Her Pad Thai was huge while I worried the chicken was too small, but it was the right size. The chicken was like butter, cutting so easily and with the kale-mushrooms, the flavours were all richly enhanced. I did pair this with the Granville Island Winter Ale, making it a perfect accompaniment. The Pad Thai did end up partially on my plate as it was way too much for my wife. That was very tasty and had an enjoyable but growing heat. Thank god for the beer.

We ended with a mini creme brûlée each to make it a great meal.
The $60 bill made it so worth it.

Helpful?
Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanMarriottPinnacle, General Manager at Showcase Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We love your review! Glad to hear you and your wife had a good time dining with us.
Regards, Joann Pfeifer, General Manager, Vancouver Marriottt Pinnacle Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Showcase Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Showcase Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing