We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch before a cruise”

Showcase Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Showcase Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #196 of 3,994 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Canadian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Thurlow Street
Description: Located inside the Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel on the corner of West Hastings and Thurlow Street in downtown Vancouver is the award winning Vancouver Restaurant, Showcase Restaurant & Bar. This Downtown Vancouver casual dining restaurant is a reflection of Vancouver's ethnicity with a diverse mix of flavours, influences and inspirations. Choose from an extensive menu hand crafted by Chef Frank Gort and his culinary team using only the freshest seasonal ingredients.
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Close to the cruise terminal, Showcase restaurant is a perfect setting for lunch. Delivered quickly
and presented tastefully, lunch was a treat before boarding the ship.
My only hesitation is the $4 cup of coffee. Double the cost of same product found across street at Starbucks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 7Sparkie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 118 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were a group of 14 wanting to get together, eat and talk. We booked ahead and were given our own room. This meant we could all talk to each other without having to shout above background music or rowdy parties. Because the room had windows we could see and be seen. We had a set menu but with a choice of 4 entrees. There was beef, halibut, chicken and a vegetarian dish. I had halibut. Everything was delicious and beautifully served with perfect timing and friendly staff. The restaurant is part of the Marriott but it does not feel like a hotel restaurant. A very pleasant evening I would be happy to repeat. The location near the waterfront is very convenient for many of the hotels.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmadeusBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanMarriottPinnacle, Manager at Showcase Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear AmadeusBristol,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us some feedback on your recent visit. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed being in our Private Dining Room. Its a newly renovated space and quickly become quite popular for larger groups, stand-up receptions and even wedding rehearsals! Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon at Showcase Restaurant and Bar.

Sincerely,
Frank Gort
Executive Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Showcase is part of the Marriott Pinnacle, but it definitely doesn't have that 'hotel restaurant' feel. Floor-to-ceiling windows wrap around three sides, and the people-watching of the folks walking by is always fun. The interior has super-high ceilings and has a nice modern/classy vibe.

We were there at the tail-end of a Groupon promo, where restaurants are usually slammed with people trying to fit in the coupon, but you sure wouldn't know that by the way they graciously handled the many tables. Our server, Chris, was charming, engaging, and full of smiles - a real pleasure.

My ling cod was cooked absolutely perfectly, and the whole dish was fantastic. I enjoyed everything we ate, and our entire evening there.

We'll be back for sure, no Groupon needed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanMarriottPinnacle, Manager at Showcase Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear lomimu,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your recent dining experience. I'm so glad to hear of your positive experience at Showcase Restaurant and Bar. We pride ourselves in offering unique West Coast cuisine, using fresh and local ingredients. We hope that every guest experience can be as positive as yours was - whether they are first time or regular diners. We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your visit to our restaurant.

Sincerely,
Frank Gort
Executive Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I am so in love with the Butter Chicken Curry here that I might just have to move to Vancouver in order to eat it on a regular basis. I'm sure the other food items are good, but why bother when you've got such good Butter Chicken Curry. Many thanks to the Chef!!!

Thank ksullivanvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanMarriottPinnacle, Manager at Showcase Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear ksullivanvance,

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed our Butter Chicken Curry! This item has been on our menu since we opened - and the recipe has never been tampered with. Its definitely a favourite among staff and guests alike.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Vancouver!

Best Regards,
Frank Gort
Executive Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We want showcase due to a deal found on Groupon and it was a really nice experience.

The service was good, although pretty slow according to canadian standards.
We shared a Korean Fried Chicken Lettuce Wraps and it was delicious (best part of the meal). It is very tasty, a bit spicy, crunchy ... everything you want from a great dish. The portion is pretty big and will easily served 2 people.

The Shrimp and scallop tagliatelle and Steak frites were both nice as well. Seafood and meat were perfectly coocked.
The Lemon yuzu tart and Macaron were perfect to close the meal as they were both tasty and light, which is nice after a filling meal.

We read some bad reviews about the service but didn't encouter any issue with the waiter/waitresses. All of them were very decent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mosespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Showcase Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Showcase Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing