We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish, great service, great location”
Review of The Fish House In Stanley Park - CLOSED

The Fish House In Stanley Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$33
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian, Soups, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Stanley Park
Cross street: Lagoon Dr. and the tennis courts
Transit: Davie & Denman: The 5, the 6, the C21 and the C23 Vancouver Trolley courtesy stop at Stanley Park Dr & Lagoon Dr
Description: Among the spectacular gardens of Stanley Park sits the historic Fish House restaurant. Relax and dine in our Fresh and Casual concept featuring exceptional seafood, freshly shucked oysters or indulge in our Mixed Grill. Sit back with a micro-brewed beer, a glass of wine from our award-winning wine list or enjoy a seasonal, specialized martini. For private events we have three distinct rooms, two of which feature patios opening onto the scenic natural beauty of Stanley Park. Whether it is a boutique wedding, corporate party or business meeting, the Fish House caters to your needs and wishes!As of May 2013, we are proud to announce that we are one of the few seafood restaurants in Vancouver to be 100% Ocean Wise™
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great fish, great service, great location”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Fish House has an "old Vancouver" feel - it overlooks the Bowls Club in one of Stanley Park's more manicured areas. The decor and ambience say "tradition" (in the best way), but the service and the food are just what we want in 2014 - fresh fish, beautifully prepared and presented, with friendly and helpful service. I had the cod, others in my party trout and salmon, and all of us enjoyed first-class fish. (The puddings were good too!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJD2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    278
    71
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Loved the personal touch”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

When we booked the reservation we were asked if it was for a special occasion and we mentioned was for our Wedding anniversary. When we arrived there was a printout on our plates welcoming us with our names and the date of our Wedding anniversary and congrats as well as Congrats for the occasion. We were very impressed. The meal and service was the "icing on the cake". We felt like we were special even though the restaurant was packed. The service was impeccable. I absolutely adored the hot seafood salad as well as the presentation...superb!! Our dessert also included the date of our anniversary written in chocolate...yummy. They helped to make this so memorable for us....thankyou so much to the staff...we will definitely come again....!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twindates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“found using trip advisor.. thank you”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Spent a few days in Vancouver and looked on Trip Advisor to identify a couple of restaurants. booked on line a few days before we left the uk.
Service was excellent from the welcome we received to the advice on the wine and what was recommended on the menu. Food was outstanding and the whole atmosphere made the evening an occasion.
if we were visiting again we would certainly go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelmfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

If it wasn't a 13 hr drive from home it would be my go to for a great dinner out. This is the first time I have batter on fish and chips to be tasty and delicious. The server suggested a local beer and it was great as well. I have been telling anyone who will listen that when they are in Stanley park to put it on the bucket list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for Any Occaision”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family went to The Fish House to celebrate an anniversary and a birthday. Included with our menus as we were seated was a printed note acknowledging our celebration and thanking us for choosing The Fish House for our celebrations, Although rather promotional I was pleased that they bothered.

The service was excellent and the food superb. My seafood plate was beautifully cooked and flavoured. My husband pronounced his smoked cod delicious and our son and his friend enjoyed the short ribs. As our son's friend is allergic to seafood she asked for the shrimp that accompanied the ribs to be served on the side. The restaurant was most obliging also offering her butter for her bread instead of the lobster oil which they serve as a dip for the bread.
We ordered crab cakes and the duck pate as appetizers. The crab cakes were among the best I have ever eaten and the rest of my party thoroughly enjoyed the pate.

As it was an anniversary we were treated to four utterly decadent truffles to go along with our dessert and coffee.

Service was pleasant, our server seemed to really enjoy her job. I have dined there before and will again. This restaurant is a treasure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish House In Stanley Park also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing