We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best sushi ever”
Review of Tojo's Restaurant

Tojo's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tojo's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #314 of 3,750 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Shaughnessy
Foshan, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best sushi ever”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The best sushi ever eat in north America is here , the first time I eat here was in 2003 that night I cannot forget , when I sit down at the omasake bar and Mr. Eiji tell me tonight you will try the real sushi for the first time , he was right !!! He start making all kinds of dishes and teach me how to eat it, amazing super delicious , if any of you go to Vancouver go and make this experience is worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Massimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    75
    59
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have heard and read great things about Tojo's so we made a booking way in advance of our trip in Vancouver. We ordered the 5-course / 8-course omakase and the bill came to around $240. There were plenty of food but they were nothing spectacular. The sushi plate towards the end was not fresh. Coming from Asia where plenty of authentic Japanese restaurants are available, we could definitely tell whether a piece of fish was fresh or not. The fish on top of the sushi had a dull colour rather than a shiny appeal - it was a real disappointment.

We would expect omakase to present what the chef thought was his signature dishes. If the dishes served were his signature dishes, I don't think this restaurant is really worth the rating it receives on trip advisor and the reviews elsewhere.

I would have given it 2 stars rather than 3 if it wasn't for the super friendly waitress who took her time and introduced the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tlell, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Sushi In Canada”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The most exquisite sushi experience I can imagine. If only it was free! Check out their great sake selection too. Want to impress a date? Take them here!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SummerHaiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“25 years of marriage”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

a tradicional japanese restaurant, very good food, very gentle service and very enjoyable atmosphere

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Domo Arigato Mr.Roboto”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Tojo's is a reminder of what real Japanese food should be - a delicate balance of flavors and textures complimenting one another. Japanese food in Vancouver has been so commercialized to the point where every other place slaps some fish on top of rice and calls it sushi. Don't get me wrong, I'm still a fan of your usual Sushi Gardens and similar such establishments but Tojos is more like the food you'd get in Japan.

Food: Ordered the 5-course omakase (translates to: let the chef decide). It started with a ball of toro sashimi which was excellent. Then onto a seafood salad topped with salmon sashimi and a mustard (?) dressing. Third was a mushroom and veggie dish in some sort of reduction.Next was a red tuna tataki, wrapped in seaweed and tempura-ed. Last was a assorted selection of nigiri - very fresh and tasty. We were served black sesame pudding for dessert. The whole meal was to die for.

Value: Tojo's offers an authentic japanese dining experience complete with servers in traditional garbs. However, it seems that prices reflect that you're paying more for exclusivity, name and location. While I feel it is a little over-hyped, it's still worth it for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank icedtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tojo's Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tojo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing