We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blonde wrapped in a saree..”
Review of Vij's Restaurant - MOVED

Vij's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Granville
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Blonde wrapped in a saree..”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Would you call a blonde wrapped in a saree an indian ?? If yes then this is the best indian restaurant you could ever visit.

If you value authentic indian food this is not a venue by faaaaar..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank H V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    207
    95
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ridiculously good food and service”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Decided to eat here after googling 'best Indian restaurant in Vancouver' and reading all the reviews. I am so glad we did. Yes, the wait is long but the great thing about it is that the wait becomes part of your night- you spend it in a lovely bar area in the rear of the restaurant while the wait staff circulate with delicious trays of tasters. The staff make it very clear how long you should expect to wait and it is pretty impressive how accurate they are. The food is absolutely delicious, I was pretty blown away. What I also noticed about the place is that the wait staff are so calm, which is unsurprising really as they are excellent. We had several different people come to our table, all very helpful, all really pleasant and they all seemed to know exactly what we had already been asked. The whole place is run impeccably. And then they bring you free chai tea. Could not recommend the place more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We went here on our first night in Vancouver. It was delicous and memorable! We were told to get her early, as they open at 5:30 PM. Our taxi arrived at 5:35 PM, by this time the restaurant was full and a queue remained outside. They were very accommodating however, and found us a seat in the bar area where we had a drink for around 1.5 hours, but time passed quickly as they brought many delicious hors d'oeuvres to snack on during this period.

Once we were seated we ordered our foods and deliciousness began arriving in waves. The beef samosas were fantastic, and came in a pool of delicious sauce. The lamb popsicles, which are basically lamb cutlets but named that in Canada I suppose, were indulgent and really flavoursome. The vegetarian dishes were also excellent. After heading here, I ordered the Vij's cookbook on and was on and it was waiting for me on return from my holiday!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank glinkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing curries”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Highly recommend eating here whilst in Vancouver. No reservation so get there early to avoid a long queue but the plus side was delicious nibbles provided whilst we waited for a table .

Its slightly out of the down town but just grab a cab for the short drive

The food was very very tasty indeed not like the usual same tasting Indian food . Everything we had great .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holiday500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO EAT”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a great curry lamb at Vij's!!! I can only but recommend this place. Service and food were excellent! They also have meals for take out reasonably priced and just as tasty. We will certainly go back again!!!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlosandGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vij's Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing