We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
House On Dunbar B&B
Ranked #20 of 55 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights, me my husband and my daughter 15een. It Was really a great place. Very good hospitality: excellent breakfast, nice room, silence never experienced so complete before, lovely neighborhood. Highly suggested. The only flaw was that the third bed was an inflatable mattress, but it was quite confortable the same. The website tells the truth. Joanne gives you all the right advise to visit Vancouver. The area it si easy to reach by bus. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank giuditta a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Very quiet, great for transport and close to outdoor walks in pacific spirit park. I was at the university and the location is very close by bus. A couple of good restaurants close by. Breakfast unbelievably good and varied. Generous room size, comfortable bed and good bathroom. Wi Fi very reliable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just got back from a 2 week visit to Vancouver from the UK, and had a superb stay at House on Dunbar. Location was great - close to where our son was living, central for sightseeing, and it was easy to access public transport from there. Joanne was a great host - we had a very comfortable room (UBC room) with lots of helpful extras (robes, slippers, toiletries, hairdryer etc) and the communal guest area consisting of lounge, dinning area and well-equipped kitchen, meant we could cook ourselves a meal in the evening as an alternative to dining out. There was also a charming back garden we could enjoy, and the great company of other guests as well as Joanne and her family, ensured we had a wonderful time. Quiet and safe neighbourhood - whenever we were in the city, we thanked goodness we had picked here to stay. Joanne's culinary expertise in producing delicious, healthy breakfasts each morning, ensured every day started with a treat. We really appreciated the hospitality and friendliness, and everything Joanne did to make us feel entirely welcome. We would not hesitate to recommend House on Dunbar - not like a B & B, but more like staying at a friend's. Thank you so much Joanne!

Room Tip: The UBC room in the basement with its own en suite facilities was ideal as it stayed cool during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arabella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Never having visited Canada before we were slightly apprehensive as to what we would find, but beginning our holiday at 'House on Dunbar' was the greatest start to our holiday. Joanne is a delightful host and did everything in her power to make us so very welcome. Our room was spotless and we were provided many useful extras in the bathroom. The breakfasts were delicious and Joanne easily took into account my husband's dietary issues. The guests lounge area is great and we had many nights of joviality with our fellow travellers. It was just a short walk to the bus into Vancouver city centre and Joanne was extremely helpful in recommending things to see and do. All in all this is a wonderful B&B and Joanne is a lady who can't do enough to make you welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moppit-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

In the west side of Vancouver, we found this lovely B&B. Joanne is a very charming and wonderful host, her cat too! The street is very quiet, you don't even think you are in a big city. The bus station is just a 3 min. walk away (3 blocks), and you can reach downtown very easily. The living / breakfast room is wonderful, with a big screen TV (that we never used, because we met really interesting and lovely other hosts from L.A. and England).
Absolutely a B&B to recommend, clean, top location, quiet, lovely hosts

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOnDunbar, Owner at House On Dunbar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

You are such a happy couple and I really enjoyed interacting with you.
It would be wonderful if we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed three nights at House on Dunbar, and we had an absolutely wonderful time! We were very pleased with the comfortable room, the spotless bathroom, and the extra amenities that were provided, such as complimentary snacks and sodas, robes and slippers, and bath products in the shower. Joanne took pains to create delicious, healthy breakfasts, and took any food sensitivities into account. She was helpful in providing information for day trips, and did anything in her power to ensure her guests were comfortable and happy. All of this for a very reasonable price - much less than would be spent in a downtown hotel, and with a much better atmosphere!

We particularly liked the community area that was provided for guests. The guest area is on the bottom floor, and separate from the family living area, upstairs. This allows guests to feel some sense of independence, and helps avoid that feeling of "being underfoot" that you can get when staying in another person's home. We got to know our fellow guests, and spent hours talking and laughing and sharing stories. It became the highlight of our evenings!

Room Tip: The Kitsilano bedroom has a separate bathroom, which is down the hall. It is not a shared bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOnDunbar, Owner at House On Dunbar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

You and your very pleasant personalities were a joy to have at my B&B.
You interact so well with other guests that makes my job so much fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The location is quiet and convenient. We took a taxi to Coal Harbour and the fare was reasonable. A clean and comfortable B&B. Even though we had one very early morning, breakfast was made available to us. Accommodations were made for allergies and food intolerance. Breakfast was absolutely delicious!! Very healthy. Our hostess gave great information regarding amenities. A definite repeat experience.

Room Tip: Higher floor may be warm in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita5Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOnDunbar, Owner at House On Dunbar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for your stay at House On Dunbar B&B.
It was a pleasure to meet you and you daughter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#20 of 92 in Vancouver
2,194 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 55 in Vancouver
687 reviews
West Point Grey
Point Grey Guest House
Point Grey Guest House
#18 of 55 in Vancouver
50 reviews
Kitsilano
Alma Beach Suites
Alma Beach Suites
#4 of 52 in Vancouver
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House On Dunbar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House On Dunbar B&B

Address: 3926 20th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6S 1G4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West Point Grey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: £71 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — House On Dunbar B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House On Dunbar B and B is a spacious, contemporary and comfortable B & B that offers guests the warmth and comforts of home and provides an ideal home base to explore all Vancouver has to offer. We provide everything you want and more...indulge yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your House On Dunbar B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing