We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent”
Review of raga

raga
Ranked #1,088 of 3,776 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Shaughnessy
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Dinner with extended family, week night.
This family operated Indian Restaurant is our favorite in Vancouver, we always enjoy the excellent
service and great food, extensive menu. It is just such a welcoming place, the staff are so friendly and does all to please.
We had a couple of young children in our party and they were well taken care of.
It had been almost one year since our last visit and the owner remembered us!
Highly recommend this restaurant to tourists as you are treated like regulars, very good value!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good local restaurant!”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Who would've known that we'd find such a good East Indian restaurant just round the corner from where we live! Every dish we had was great. Each dish tasted different from the next and they all tasted good. Our favourites were the Lamb Seekh Kebab, Chicken Korma (redolent with cashews, julienned ginger and cream), Saag Aloo and a great potato and cauliflower curry. The least successful dish but still good by most standards was the Tandoori Chicken. We have eaten at the retaurant and ordered take out. The wait staff are helpful and pleasant each time we've been there,and when a dish was forgotten on a take out order, the owner himself came round the next day with enough food for a complete meal by way of an apology. What great service. If you like East Indian food give Raga on Broadway a try

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mawic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ba, Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is not a good choice”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

There are much better restaurants in Vancouver. We had some catering from there and the food was greasy and tasteless, a complete disappointment. For the price, the value is totally not there. Definitely don't recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ambika-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mmm indian mmmm curry mmmm”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The butter paneer and kofta malai are mouth-watering. Throw in some of the awesome naan and your set.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank technovictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful place. lovely people - but not truthful on phone”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is hands down the most attractive Indian restaurant I've been to in BC. (I like Indian food and often choose it locally.) Spacious, well-maintained, tasteful, quiet, and relaxing. I'd called ahead due to an allergy and was assured they could make most menu items - oh, not any with meat - but anything vegetarian. Vegetarian is fine with me. When I arrived it turned out I could have vegetable korma, bread, rice and dessert. Nothing else.. Lovely naan, good rice, flavorless korma - far too much sauce and few vegetables. Sadly, dessert was an ice-block they called Nut Kulfi. I love kulfi; this was disappointing. My partner fared much better. On the plus side, our server was a gem. Overall we had a lovely evening but I wouldn't go back for the food. As a place to meet and have a peaceful adult conversation at the end of the day; Raga has merit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Speederchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed raga also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to raga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing