We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Izakaya in vancouver”
Review of Guu

Guu
Reserve with OpenTable
Guu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #213 of 3,782 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Authentic Japanese cuisine in a fun and electric atmosphere. Try this restaurant for the fantastic food and experience.
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Izakaya in vancouver”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Didnt expect to find so much good Japanese food in Vancouver but this one is good. Service is casual and relaxed while serving you great Japanese comfort food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SvanteJerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    106
    22
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valle de Bravo, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must gonin Vancouver”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is very authentic. You see a lot of Japanese people and not that much trourists. It seems to be a local traditional place.
The dishes are quite smal, like tapas. So if you are going as a couple you can try several. We tried 6 and all of them were incredibly tasty.
Special stat to the Tuna Tataki and the Udon.
House sake is delicious.
Seat in the bar because the cooks are part of the experience.
One of the best restaurants i have ever been to!!!

Helpful?
Thank LFonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun & delicious”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

A fried recommended this place and we were not disappointed. We went for lunch and just made it in time. They close to get ready for dinner. While we were there the deliveries came and all the produce and fish were fresh. Loved it! A very fun place to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latina53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackenzie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Jam-packed, and with all Japanese people, so that tells you something!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

You know you've made the right choice for authentic Japanese food when you walk in and it's filled to the rafters, and they're 99.9% Japanese! I had the eel with rice and a hardboiled egg(?!) that was delicious. My son had a curry, and my other son and my wife had tuna sashimi with rice. There's no sushi to be had, so you'll have to go elsewhere for that.. It's very tight inside, and the decor is nothing special, but the food and service is the draw, no question.. The food is very reasonably priced, also.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doug z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this little Jap restaurant!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very lively Japanese place, almost feels like Japan (if not for the English Menu and the crowd). Sat at the bar counter, had a great time looking at the chefs prepare the food. Ordered a few additional dishes cause they looked too good.

Love the dishes, all of them. Well prepared and unique. Not the typical Japanese dishes. It is not fusion either, can't quite put a category to it, it is just great.

Decent prices and friendly staff. Will return again when I visit Vancouver again.

Please see the pictures.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canicie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guu also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Guu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing