We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pushy Server and Poor Value”
Review of Sala Thai

Sala Thai
Ranked #60 of 3,732 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Granville Street
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Pushy Server and Poor Value”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Went to my favourite Thai restaurant Tuesday for my go to dish (Spicy drunken noodle ) . My server suggested that I try out the dine out Vancouver promotion. He said " it's very good . You can never get it again" so I decided to give it a try. I was not impressed . First the portion sizes were really small , I ordered the seafood curry , I was delighted to see a huge prawn but it was just the shell , no meat to be found . For $28 dollars I expected much more. Dessert was okay . Do not order the dine out promotion it's a big rip off. The sever was extremely pushy and I ordered the dine out because I trusted his recommendation.

Helpful?
Thank Vanfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    199
    84
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
723 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“i'd return.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

we have walked by this restaurant over the years walking to and from our hotel, the Sheraton wall. we've never had a reason to stop however we did this time. my husband had a very good curry noodle dish that was delicious. my chicken satay was good, the shrimp cakes really had very little taste. a big room, quiet, however we were early as on our way to a movie. good service, good prices, clean. it is spoken very highly of, so I will go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I really liked this restaurant. The food was so nice. And the place was also very nice and well decorated! They had a special offer including starter, main meal and desert all for $28!!! I picked the duck meal and it was amazing. I really liked it. The starter and the ice-cream as a desert were also yummy. I liked this Thai restaurant and I recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cute l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Variable Service - Great Food”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have been dining at Sala Thai on Burrard in Vancouver for a few years. I have decided to write this review now to encourage them into providing a higher level of service.
The last 6 visits (over a period of 2 months) have been less than adequate service.
We have been unfortunate enough to get lesser trained or less competent servers. We feel that some attention should be provided within the first few minutes after being seated. This has not been the case recently. Also, I made a reservation for my fience's birthday this last time, we (and our party) arrived to find no reservation had been recorded! They did accommodate us within 5 minutes but not at a desirable table (in the very back corner). I realized quickly that had we been a larger number (over 6) we would not have been seated so easily.
Although we do receive very good service from one or two of the servers, the odd times we are seated in our 'sections' we are not satisfied!
We are dining here less and less due to this and have now found another Thai restaurant in Yaletown that provides as good food choices (except my fiance's favourite - spicy drunken noodles), but with much higher standard of service.
Happy dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CdnLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“YUMMY Pad Thai”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Had a really yummy dish of Pad Thai (#SS1 on the menu). Fresh, delicious! Would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greenapple05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sala Thai also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Sala Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing