We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gutenberg's Cafe - CLOSED

Gutenberg's Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Nice food, nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Gutenberg's Cafe got a lot of good food for your breakfast: waffles, pancakes, omelette and natural juices. All the meals are cooked instantly, so it tastes much better than the instant-junk-food you find around. The people are very nice, very sympathetic, helpful and they will serve you well. The place is simple, with some tables and TVs and a nice window to look at Robson Street. I, as a visitor, just loved all the food here, it's really the North American breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joao_Sulivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Healthy = bland?!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I've been here twice for lunch. Both experiences were very similar. The food was bland but it was because there was no oil, sauces or dressings on the fish or chicken. My husband and I quite liked it but my friend found her food inedible the fish was so dry. The specials came with brown rice and salad (dressing on side). The smoothies were quite good. Cheapish interior with key to unlock restroom, one ketchup for the restaurant, thin napkins. The ice cream that was supposed to be free with the meal had sold out as had some of the other food on the menu.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank collmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southcentral Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cute, probably good, but watch the hours ..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We SO wanted to try this cute little cafe for breakfast on Saturday, but when we got there, with our whole party, it turned out it was closed! We were surprised and a bit mystified. The night before we had looked at the menu and determined it would be a good place for our crew, who were all meeting for the first time prior to our cruise, to have our first informal meal, and we were very surprised to have it not be open. I'm still confused, as we didn't see hours posted, just the "closed" sign on Saturday.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new westminster
Level Contributor
180 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Great latte”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

They have a great selection of foods and the coffee is hot and strong. A perfect escape for any day if you are falling asleep studying or reading at the library.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Limited menu, so-so smoothies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

great location, for a coffee etc.Our smoothies were less than flavorful

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed3463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gutenberg's Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing