We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make it a day trip from Campbell River!”

Strathcona Provincial Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$250.46*
and up
Comox Glacier Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oldest provincial park in British Columbia contains more than 210,000 hectares of scenic wilderness with many hiking trails ranging from short walks to several-days-long expeditions into the parks interior.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Make it a day trip from Campbell River!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in Campbell River for 3 nights and came here along with Elk Falls on our way.
It took us more time to get here than we thought, stopped by at Strathcona Park Lodge, asking where the park is, and they told us people ask them all the time!! Their answer, you are not quite there yet!!

When you get here, I recommend you to see at least Buttle Lake from the bridge. To get there, take the first right from the park entrance. Keep going, and you can reach Lady Falls, and the Elk River Viewing area, and Kings Peak.

Or, turn around and you can drive down along the long Buttle Lake to Myra Falls and back.
If you are limited on time, keep track of time, and drive down a little and turn around. Exactly, what we did!!

If we had more time, I definitely would have hiked more, but just driving along the lake and making stops was worth coming down here!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Vancouver Island hiking experience at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Strathona Park has many access points. We chose to begin our hike at the Trail Head at Ravens Lodge. You begin by driving up a scenic and well maintained paved highway to the top of Mount Washington near Courtenay, British Columbia on Vancouver Island. Don't go to the ski lodge, take a left at the top of the mountain to the lower Ravens Lodge area and the entrance to Strathcona Park.

There are several trails to chose from. All are well displayed. You can do a 30 minute or 1 hour or 3.5 hour or 5 day trek with over nite camping at one of the three walk in camp sites. We chose the 3.5-4hour loop past several lakes, mountain streams and lovely treed valleys. We are a couple in our 60s and found the hike stimulating but hardley strenuous. Much of the tough bits have boardwalks built. The foliage, meadow flowers and marshes were superb. Bring lots of water and a lunch. Well worth it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank RetiredPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Beautiful area and gorgeous Buttle Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

My wife and I visited in September. This area of Vancouver Island is often overlooked, but is certainly worth a day's visit if you are staying near Campbell River. The drive skirts Buttle Lake much of the way offering beautiful vistas of the lake and surrounding mountains. The road is curvy, but we'll maintained. We stopped at Lupin Falls, which is a short hike around .5 mile roundtrip. It is a tall cascading falls that had a low flow that day due to a recent drought. Myra Falls is further into the park. It is a downhill hike to a huge multi tiered falls surrounded by rock formations. The hike back up is fairly steep, but not very long. The falls flows directly into the lake.

Make sure you are good on gas before driving into the park.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank cb714me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
388 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way but well worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We hadn't planned on stopping here but are so glad that we did. It is a wonderful Park with some great hikes and beautiful views. The campgrounds were very nice and although I am sure they are busy other times of the year there were lots of open sites while we were there. We got the one the campground host said was the best and we could see why. It was great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank montanan_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Miracle Beach and Campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Strathcona is stunning, varied and divided into numerous areas. The Miracle Beach portion is located between Courtney/Comox and Campbell River. The Beach is white sand. If you camp on a Saturday night during the summer, be aware your stunning beauty and peace will be disturbed by the sounds of the Saratoga Speedway. Because this is an older campsite, the sites are large and beautiful. Very popular with families - reservations recommended. Beach is a distance from some of the campgrounds. When speedway not operating - a piece of heaven.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank belle400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strathcona Provincial Park also viewed

 
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Strathcona Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing