We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crystal clean air” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathcona Provincial Park

Strathcona Provincial Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$252.43*
and up
Comox Glacier Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oldest provincial park in British Columbia contains more than 210,000 hectares of scenic wilderness with many hiking trails ranging from short walks to several-days-long expeditions into the parks interior.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Crystal clean air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Maybe it's because we're from the Toronto area but we couldn't stop gibbering about the crystal-clean air. We had a perfect day for a hike, sunny and about 8C. We entered the park at the Paradise Meadows Trailhead on Mt. Washington. We hadn't really planned this into our trip other than we wanted to take a drive up Mt. Washington.

A silversmith in Qualicum Beach highly recommended taking a hike through here so we took his advice and covered the Paradise Meadows Loop (very easy, wheelchair accessible, beautiful meadows), Helen MacKenzie and Battleship Lake Loops (a few hills but nothing strenuous). We loved every kilometre (about 8 in total) and were awed by the diversity of plants, fungi and sheer beauty of the gushing streams, mountain and lake vistas. And, OMG, the blueberries! The bushes were still laden with fruit so it was me against the bears to see who could eat the most! If time had permitted, we would have gone farther afield. The trails we hiked were extremely well maintained and there were even a few "privies" along the way. We met some really interesting people too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank luvveggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
177 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Really visiting nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Strathcona Provincial Park is a huge nature area, in the centre of Vancouver Island. With central Campbell & Buttle Lake surround by vast forests and high mountains, options for short & long trails are many. In the area are to larger parks campgrounds, meaning there are no services available except for the outhouses & the garbage collectors. So: you are in the midst of nature. Fees our collected late afternoon till early evening, and in high season it is recommended to make reservations in advance. You can buy fire wood from the area managers while they are on the grounds.
After taking a few short trails, we came to ease on the site we had chosen, and had a real quiet night, with no sounds of traffic nor trains passing by.
Unfortunately the morning after rain was pouring down, so we had to head for another destionations. Strathcona PP remains on our wish list, and we'll gladly re-opt for one of the Park's campgrounds when heading over.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Georges B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

When we were visiting Comox this past week, we decided to take a drive to Strathcona Provincial Park. Although we were not dressed for a hike, we took a stroll on the boardwalk provided and really enjoyed our walk. We will plan to come again and be better prepared. Really enjoyed the scenery and pleasant drive. Not just a ski destination for the winter holidays!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Forbidden Plateau -should be put on your bucket list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hike is accessible and easy - an adventure through the pristine wilderness of Strathcona Park. You can choose the length of your hike depending on the time you have and the experience you want to enjoy due to the looping trails that allow you to return to the entrance with ease. If you bring a fishing rod you can stop and fish along the way. Beautiful and expansive, a must for everyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jovan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Forbidden plateau hike - Beautiful scenery, allow all day if you've got it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a great time on this hike - we made a loop from the parking lot at Paradise Meadows Trailhead past Hairtrigger L and back around by Lady Lake. The first bit from the parking lot was a boardwalk that was wheelchair accessible. There were a few marshy areas that also had boardwalk, but some areas that needed it due to big mud holes or were in disrepair. If not for starting too late in the day and a cranky hip, we would have loved to go further. The plant life in the forest is just magical.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strathcona Provincial Park also viewed

 
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Strathcona Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing