We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost staying at a small museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 94 Victoria B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Almost staying at a small museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Gingerbread house is definitely a great description for Vanessa's well-run B&B. Rooms are well-sized, furnished in theme, and tidy. It is all topped though by a very warm and personal welcome, and a veritably huge breakfast, with delicious and authentic Austrian and German treats. Having to miss breakfast the second day, we were packed with a generous and tasty lunch package - thanks again for that!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My son and I were down to Victoria for the Deuce Days Car Show in his 1931 Ford five window coupe hot rod. The B & B was the perfect location for us to stay. Even though we had to leave early each morning for the Poker Rod Run on Saturday, and the main car show on Sunday, Vanessa made a thermos of coffee and a wonderful picnic basket for us to take along. She even offered to move her own car out front so that the hot rod could be parked right out in front of our bedroom window so we could keep an eye on it. The B & B brought back memories of me visiting my great granny who lived in an old house on Pandora Avenue when I was a kid. I am 70 now. We found the beds to be super comfy . Over all we could not have asked for more. Thanks again Vanessa and Dean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

When you arrive at the cottage you will receive a warm welcome from Vanessa! We stayed in the lavender room with our 7 month old baby and it was great! There is a private garden/terrace off of the room which was lovely for sitting and having some tea or reading. Vanessa was extremely accommodating and offered the use of a play pen and a high chair to feed our little one in the breakfast room. the room was a little tight for space for the 3 of us but we made it work fine. Bed was very comfy! Very cozy room with lots of character. Reminded me of staying at my grandmas house! The rain Shower head was wonderful and the tub is cast iron and nice and deep. The Breakfast was out of this world. Literally the best breakfasts my husband and I have ever had. Everything is home made and gourmet style, the portions are massive and they will keep you full well past lunch. Breakfast starts with a little buffet- home made granola/muesli with organic yogurt, coconut, raisins and cranberries if you want. Then there was lots of fruit along with 4-5 different cheeses, home made bread, home made scones, raspberry gateau and amazing apple strudel, all home made that morning. That doesn't even include the hot entrees which you had the choice between about 5 different ones. My favourite was the raspberry crepes (raspberries picked from her garden) with whipped cream, orange sauce and chocolate shavings- to die for. I could go on about the breakfast for ages. You need to stay at the gingerbread cottage for the great service and the great food. We will stay here from now on when visiting Victoria

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Located at Oswego Street, it's walking distance to majority tourist sites and close to the beach that you will feel the cool breeze most days. Interior of Gingerbread is of different themes and Vanessa, the owner is very friendly and they have a very lovely decorated kitchen.

Vanessa was always concern for our little bub & she enjoyed her bread.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetJayLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Ca., U.S.A.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Mozart room in early June. Vanessa & Dean are wonderful people. They are very warm & welcoming, and they make you feel right at home. We were supposed to be staying at another B&B, but there was an over-booking issue.Vanessa was very kind to take us in, and on top of that, she honored the lower rate that we were quoted at the other B&B...which I thought was amazing. We were so happy that we stayed at The Gingerbread Cottage, rather than our original choice!
The house is a lovely old building filled with antiques, and collectibles. If you are a pet lover, they have a very friendly cat named Butler, as well as 2 cockatoos. The location of the B&B is great. It is in a nice, safe neighborhood. We did not have a car, and could walk everywhere easily. A 10 minute walk and you are at the harbor where the ferries come in; the government buildings; the wonderful B.C. Museum; the Empress Hotel; many restaurants, etc.
If you want to go to the fabulous Butchart Gardens on your own, without a tour company, there is a bus stop within a few blocks, that will get you there with 1 transfer, and you will save $25-35 per person.
I saved the best for last......Vanessa's cooking! She was formerly a chef, and has written numerous cookbooks. The breakfast each day was probably the best I have ever had. I would highly recommend that you tell yourself that you are on vacation, and take a break from counting calories and just enjoy the wonderful food. Before you even get to the 4 daily choices of a hot, cooked to order breakfast, you will be faced with a beautiful array of fresh fruits; juices; home made muselix; great breads; homemade jams; and amazing strudel. You could very easily skip the hot breakfast offerings, but don't make that mistake! Each of the 3 days, I tried a different hot breakfast, and they were all delicious.
If we ever get back to Victoria, we will only stay at The Gingerbread Cottage!
Thank you Vanessa & Dean for an absolutely wonderful stay in your charming home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenthumb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at Gingerbread Cottage for three nights in September – in the lavender room. The room is on the first floor and has a bedroom, with antique furniture and ornaments, a bathroom with a shower and “Victoria” toilet – over 100 years old- as is the house. The room also has a private “deck area” which is the roof area of the dining room- there are chairs to relax on in the shade after a hard days sightseeing. The room has a TV and selection of videos, there is also a downstairs lounge, On the landing is a “honesty fridge” where you can buy water and drinks. On street parking is easy and it’s a ten minute walk down the road to the waterfront.

Vanessa and Dean are genuine caring owners who are concerned that your stay is as comfortable as possible. They are aided by an army of extras- one of the feline variety- the gorgeous “Butler” and two parrots, one of whom, Casper says hello to you at Breakfast with Dean!

Breakfast is served from 8-9 in a room that has the hallmarks of Vanessa’s Austrian heritage. Vanessa is an excellent cook and from her kitchen produces a selection of cold foods- home baked scones, apple strudel- the most amazing muesli, rolls, cheese and then Dean takes your orders for the hot choices- eggs Benedict, omelettes and sweet crepes where on the menu when we stayed- all absolutely delicious. Vanessa makes a vast range of jams available to eat at Breakfast and to purchase to take home. Let’s just say that we didn’t need lunch!

Fed up of chain hotels? Then try this. The house has character, a chance to chat to other guests at breakfast and hosts who are informative and welcoming. Vanessa even sent us off with some home baked goods on our travels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merseydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed at the Gingerbread Cottage for two nights and had a lovely visit. Vanessa and Dean are two very interesting and kind people with some very interesting family members. Butler the cat is sweet as are the two cockatoos. I learned a great deal about the plight of these wonderful birds as they were both rescue birds taken in by Vanessa and Dean. It takes very special people with huge hearts to take on such a commitment. Their home is very clean and full of interesting things that make the house very special and unique. The breakfast was amazing! My room was comfortable and the location gives you quick and easy access to the center of town. I was in Victoria for the Tour de Victoria and Vanessa even allowed me to bring my bike into the house so that I could give it a last minute check prior to the race. I highly recommend the Gingerbread Cottage and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milobc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
#26 of 94 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Menzies Manor
#15 of 94 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria West
Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#3 of 94 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 59 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2A7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salzburg chef Vanessa von Schellwitz welcomes you to her Gingerbread Cottage,a quiet and well zoned 1905 Heritage home which is an easy walk from US ferries, downtown and all attractions in Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, 1/2 block from ocean. Take the airporter to and from our door if you are arriving at YYJ. Our reasonable prices include Gourmet 4 course breakfast, cute 1905 rooms with roof gardens. Breakfasts are very stylishly set with Antique Victorian Silver. Vanessa prepares delicious specialties like lox or garden omlettes, berry crepes and fresh Austrian Apple Strudel. Good value, quiet and great location 1/2 block from Victoria's famous Dallas Road ocean promenade, Ogden Point cruise ship docks, and Breakwater structure. Book early as we tend to fill our rooms very fast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gingerbread Cottage Bed And Breakfast Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing