We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
“Honeymooners”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My husband and i stayed at the gingerbread house on september 22 of 2009, our wedding day as well and we couldnt have asked for a more beautiful, relaxing, private stay, we used the lavender room stunning, so much history, vanessa (sorry bout the spelling) took our picture as we arrived dress and tux, after getting all checked in had she had awesome recommandation to elagant resturant to suite our occasion, just lovely experiance, Out of this world breakfests, there was so much food!!! needless to say she just made a memory for us that we will never forget, and as long as shes open we will be spending our up coming and future annversries at the gingerbread cottage, thank you so much for the great experiance you made our day super specail see you in september!!! Danya and andre Davidson,

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danyaandandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
30
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Vanessa and Dean are really what make the Gingerbread Cottage B & B a lovely place to stay. The rooms are intimate and cosy, Vanessa and Dean are more than accommodating and so very down to earth and sincere people.
We never heard any noise from any of the other guests. Butler the cat greets you in the morning as do the birds when you come down for breakfast.
Breakfast was absolutely spectacular - a testimonial to Vanessa that she even WANTS to do this for strangers. My mouth is still watering.
Loved our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentinateeshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Dean and Vanessa, the Owners of Gingerbread Cottage provided a wonderful introduction to a part of the world I had not experienced before. The rooms were confortable and tastefully done in Viennese decor (. you could swear you were in an exhibit of the Neue Gallery in New York City) and gourmet meals were served every morning according to guest specifications. At times Vanessa would even voluntarily pack a lunch when I went on day excursions.

They provided a confortable atmosphere and were willing to give detailed explanations of what was interesting to see and how to get there. The Gingerbread was located within walking distance from all the major tourist attractions , restaurants, theaters and music venues in downtown VIctoria, and they were very informative about how to use public transportation and ferries when I went to Buchert Gardens, Vancouver and the Gulf Islands. When I needed a car, street parking was easily available free of charge in front of the Gingerbread.

Overall, I would give the B and B an stellar reccomendation for anyone from the East Coast (or any other Coast) who wishes to stay in Vctoria, BC.

Michael Witt
White Plains, NY

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwitt18987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed at the Gingerbread Cottage for three nights. Had a great time in Victoria...it's really close to all of the main attractions and Dean and Vanessa are well-informed. The night we go in, Dean directed us to the IMAX to see Star Trek, a super hit with our teenage sons. Breakfast couldn't have been better! Homemade granola and jam, fresh fruit, hot biscuits/ scones. Made to order breakfasts included Austrian Apricot Dumplings, 4 versions of Eggs Benedict with potato latkes, crepes, a variety of omelets. I have stayed in B&B's around the world and this was the very BEST!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1occasional_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Visiting the Gingerbread Cottage was the best thing my boyfriend and I did on our Canadian vacation. We had no idea we were going to be transported to a Victorian wonderland. Our room was beautifully decorated with works from Gustav Klimt. Our private bathroom was similarly decorated and included homemade soaps, shampoos, and the best lotion I have ever tried. Breakfast alone was worth the rate of the room and included fresh apple strudel out of the oven, omelets, homemade granola, along side vegetables and herbs from the garden. The owner happens to be a world renowned chef.
Visiting the Gingerbread Cottage was like visiting friends I had not met yet. We ended up changing our trip itinerary so that we could stay longer. Victoria was worth the extra time! While taking a walk along the ocean near the Cottage, we saw a pod of whales and followed them for a least half an hour. I would recommend the Gingerbread Cottage to anyone seeking a treasure of an experience!

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dhyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We love the Gingerbread Cottage. Having stayed at a number of hotels and B&B's, I've got to say that this is my favorite one of them all. And it's really the great environment that Vanessa and Dean have put together here that makes the Gingerbread Cottage so great.

You can walk to tons of places here, or just linger in your room and relax. However, the best thing of all at the Gingerbread Cottage is the breakfast here - it's absolutely incredible. Fresh ingredients, expert cooking and terrific hospitality probably qualifies the Gingerbread Cottage for best B&B breakfast ever.

Anyway, the Gingerbread Cottage is the best, and if you're staying here - you're a very lucky person indeed.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdvizahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed again at our favourite "B & B" in Victoria - 3 lovely days. Vanessa was there to greet us and a pot of coffee was put on. We stayed again in the Lavender Room that has a huge deck with an umbrella, table and chairs. The location on Oswego St. is quiet and at the same time, within walking distance of the Parliament Buildings, Royal B.C. Museum, Empress Hotel, Inner Harbour and Government shopping. The breakfasts are fit for a Kaiser and the company is always engaging. We have stayed at Gingerbread Cottage four times now and will definitely choose Vanessa's again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#6 of 92 in Victoria
271 reviews
Menzies Manor
#15 of 92 in Victoria
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 59 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2A7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salzburg chef Vanessa von Schellwitz welcomes you to her Gingerbread Cottage,a quiet and well zoned 1905 Heritage home which is an easy walk from US ferries, downtown and all attractions in Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, 1/2 block from ocean. Take the airporter to and from our door if you are arriving at YYJ. Our reasonable prices include Gourmet 4 course breakfast, cute 1905 rooms with roof gardens. Breakfasts are very stylishly set with Antique Victorian Silver. Vanessa prepares delicious specialties like lox or garden omlettes, berry crepes and fresh Austrian Apple Strudel. Good value, quiet and great location 1/2 block from Victoria's famous Dallas Road ocean promenade, Ogden Point cruise ship docks, and Breakwater structure. Book early as we tend to fill our rooms very fast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gingerbread Cottage Bed And Breakfast Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing