We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise!”
Review of Surf Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surf Motel
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Trying to find a reasonably priced place in Victoria in the summer is tough. Trying to find one on Thursday and Friday nights, with two single adults, two attached adults with a toddler... darn near impossible. But the Surf Motel came through for us!

Rather than getting two rooms, which I had expected, we ended up with the spotlessly clean 'cottage'. In fact it is a separate house, all on its own, directly behind the Motel. Obviously a wartime build, it was cozy, with one big bedroom and two smaller ones, living room, bathroom, sit-in kitchen and huge yard. Just the right size indoors and lots of exploring space outdoors for a very active toddler! Sure the decor was a touch dated, but we were there just to sleep and having a full kitchen was a bonus (saved on eating out!).

The location couldn't have been better: around the corner was the seawall and a nice walk out along Ogden Point. Down the street a bit was a little mall area, and just a short car drive down Dallas was Beacon Hill Park - with a small zoo guaranteed to amuse children young and old.

Found the desk staff very helpful.

What a wonderful find!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DragonKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

I booked 2 nights in the duplex at The Surf Motel. I made my reservation months in advance for the purpose of running the Victoria 1/2 Marathon on the Canadian Thanksgiving Weekend. I inquired about the cancellation policy when I booked and was advised it was 48 hours advance notice. When my plans changed, I called The Surf Motel and gave 17 days advance notice that I would only stay for one night. The manager waited a couple of days and then called me to advise she was completely cancelling my reservation in the hopes she could get a longer reservation from someone else. I asked if there were any other rooms (other than the duplex) that she could move my party to and she said that the motel was sold out. I asked if there was any notice on the website that indicated a minimum 2 night stay for the duplex. She confirmed there was no minimum stay. She indicated she just wanted higher occupancy and I no longer had a room or reservation. She offered no alternatives.

So now I've got a race to run and my well planned reservation arbitrarily cancelled by an unscrupulous business practice of The Surf Motel management.

It's a cute motel but don't count on your credit card guaranteeing a roof over your head. Reserve elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Service
7  Thank FlashpackerYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicCityKid, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hello FlashpackerYVR,

My deepest apologizes about the previous manager mistake. This is not a practice the Surf Motel employs or teaches it staff. The owners were infuriated when they heard what she had done. A credit card is always more then enough to hold a room at the Surf Motel.

Thank you,
Riley Mangelsen
stay@surfmotel.net
1.888.738.3399

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Immaculate. Stunning views. Very nice staff. Spacious.. funky 60s style motel. Looks like bathroom was recently re-done - very nice. About a 20 minute walk down Oswego Street to the Inner Harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maldivesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

I am very impressed with the owners/management. Great location!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachtraveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

Stayed here for a few days while visiting the Island to meet up with family for a birthday celebration.
Found the location great , the accommodation clean and bright if slightly dated.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twinnie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

The Surf Motel is small independent 1960s-style box in a terrific location: right across the street from Victoria's ocean (not harbour) waterfront. Every one of the 14 units has an unobstructed 180-degree view of the Juan de Fuca Strait, the busy harbour entrance and the Ogden Point breakwater. On the clear day, the view of the Strait and the Olympic Mountains beyond is stunning. On bleak day there is likely a good storm to watch as waves crash into the seawall and send salt spray across the street onto the motel's windows and the cars in its lot.

For those who like to walk, the seawall is across the street, the breakwater (a thrilling walk with great views) nearby, and Beacon Hill Park is just down the road. The motel is not far from the sights and eateries of downtown Victoria: 20 minutes on foot through the quiet James Bay neighbourhood or a few minutes by car. The motel has no eating facilities or breakfast, so we delighted in walking 15 minutes up Oswego Street to Santiago's for a good quality breakfast.

We booked a room here for several nights in October for $95 a night. The room was clean, the beds good, the bathroom functional, the wireless Internet reliable, and the room equipment adequate. to make the most of the view, the whole south end of each unit is glass. The little kitchenette was nice (all the units have this) as was the balcony. The room and the hotel in general are in a well-preserved 60s style. Parking was right outside. Finally, the staff were pleasant and accommodating at every turn.

Noise threatened to ruin all of this: from the street, from the room next door, and from the unit above. Unfortunately, noise travels inside this older building. We could hear the people next door and whenever people in the unit above walked around. Moreover, the unit doors are flimsy and poorly sealed against noise and drafts from the hall. (Also, the units use the relatively insecure and old-fashioned door keys.) As for the street, big diesel city busses pass every 15 to 30 minutes between 6 AM and midnight. Since the busses turn the corner at the hotel, they make a lot of noise, which rumbled through the unit. Some sort of noise cost us a truly restful sleep every night, which is unfortunate since the motel is in an otherwise quiet neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Quiet little place in a residential neighbourhood. Inner harbour and shopping nearby. Close to Beacon Hill Park. Located on popular Dallas Rd near cruise ship terminal. The room was a comfortable size with a kitchenette and a small table. Good wi-fi connection. Check-in hours end around 10:00PM.

My young daughter and I stayed there the night before a Cirque du Soleil show and we felt very comfortable and safe. The fellow at the front desk was extremely personable and friendly. A caring sort of person actually, which you don't often find in a large hotel in a larger centre. The room was VERY clean. Beds were comfy.

All rooms are non-smoking. Our rate for one night was $95 plus tax. They are closed Nov, Dec. and January. There is also a 2 bedroom duplex and a 3 bedroom house available for larger families. They offer a senior discount.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank shutterkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menzies Manor
#15 of 91 in Victoria
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 290 Dallas Rd, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1A6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel Victoria
Surf Motel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing