We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with a personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury with a personal touch”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

On December 19th, the day of that horrific storm, I had invited my top client in Oak Bay, JUST YOU BOUTIQUE, to dinner and a stayover at the new OAK BAY BEACH HOTEL. It was our annual Christmas celebration. It took me 8 hours to get there from West Vancouver and all through the scary travel day, ferry delays etc., hotel staff were right there to accommodate my last minute changes. Not only were they professional, they were cheery in the most sincere way.
We enjoyed a fabulous meal in the vey elegant restaurant with five star food and service. My clients, waiting for me, had their own cozy cocktail hour at KATE'S CAFE, where we enjoyed a light breakfast the next morning. Enchanting little enclave with beautiful ocean views and a crackling fire. The hotel has lots of cozy corners to explore. And KATE served us with a gracious smile.
The rooms are gorgeous, comfortable and quiet.Of course, the entire hotel was dolled up with magnificent Christmas decor.
I used to stay at the old hotel and always felt so at home. That atmosphere has been preserved. For business travel, a weekend away or a stop along the way, this hotel will enhance your experience, guaranteed. Thanks to all the hotel staff and particularly Thaylin for making me feel like I was part of the family. I will be back many, many times.My client base look forward to attending our seminar there in May. I do believe most are coming to see the hotel, not me. I guess that's ok.
Barbara McMurray, AMOENA CANADA INC.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Welcome back to your home away from home! It gives us great joy to hear that our returning guests experience the same warmth and coziness that made the original hotel such a special Oak Bay retreat. We too look forward to welcoming you, and your guests, back many many times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    159
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
316
600
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SOOKE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We sure wern't disppointed with our visit to the OBBH. This is a very fine devlopment and the Walkers should be proud of their achievement. Everything is spick-and-span and in good order. The craftmanship is excellent. We were particularly pleased with the staff. All of them seemed proud to be part of the hotel team and were very friendly, helpful and professional. The girls at the Snug Pub (Kirsta, Amber and Jennifer) went out of their way to see to our needs. Spencer at the Bell Desk also made us feel welcome. The Front Desk staff was one of the best we've met in our travels. All in all, this is an excellent hotel and we will be back.

Room Tip: We had Room #217 which was classed as "Two Queen Beds With Ocean View Suite". While we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the New Oak Bay Beach hotel and we very much appreciate your kind words about our hotel team. We are thrilled to hear that we delivered on our promise of Intentional Hospitality! We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Seems they are working thru some minor glitches to be expected with a new hotel, but overall the experience was excellent. The staff all seem to take pride in working at this hotel, and were helpful in any regard. We had booked an "Oceanview" and confirmed at checkin that our room did indeed have a great view. Unfortunately, our room had a great view of a big chimney with ocean views beyond. They immediately switched us to a garden suite with unobstructed views. The suite was spacious, excellent bed/ bedding, fully functional kitchenette, and cavernous bath. The garden suite also opens to the garden and mineral pools, ideal for those with kids.

Only complaints / fixes: no movie channel / limited tv channels, cheesy electric fireplace, awkward unmarked lighting switches with chandelier that hangs down at forehead height for tall people, poor signage at hotel entrance / no sign designating Front Desk, and the porter isnt equipped with a door stop so the guest is in the awkward position of constantly holding door for the porter. I would also recommend some window application for privacy on the garden level and dining discounts for guests.

All in all, excellent hotel that checks all the boxes at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask them to specify location of room as the Oceanview rooms are quite varied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pathcontrolmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel and appreciate your gracious comments about our hotel service team. We thank you for your constructive feedback and are very pleased to report that most of the minor glitches have now been tended to and that you will find many enhancements upon a return visit. It is our pleasure to now offer four complimentary HD movie channels and a significant number of TV channels for our guest to enjoy during their stay. We are also in the process of installing the final hotel signage but were unable to do so sooner due to high winds on the ocean front; on a positive note we were able to treat our hotel guests to some amazing storm watching! We thank you again for choosing the Oak Bay Beach Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

When you drive into the courtyard, you stop to view this magnificant structure. After dropping off family, you find you do not have to go out on the street again but drive down to three levels of free parking. In the price of the hotel room I found there are close to $100 of amenities. Kate's cafe open from 6:00 a.m. to 9:p.m. serves home-made fare that is delicious. We experienced the Pub and the Dining room which exceeded our expectations.
The Walker Family have been able to maintain first-rate excellance in the lobby area -- yet you feel a cozyness that invites you to sit in any area for private conversation.
Upon entering our ocean-view room I found every room has a kitchenette. Top quality seren top stove, fridge, Royal Dalton dishes, coffee pot, electric kettle and even found cream and milk in fridge for my coffee. The bathroom is elegant with top quality tiles, huge shower and a tub below sliding doors which allows view of ocean or privacy if desired. Every detail was thought of including top quality magnifying glass on wall.
I've been in hotels all around the world and a spa treatment in a hotel never interested me. However, every room in the hotel has a concrete path that leads you down to the ocean where you find the Spa buildings near the mineral hot pools and the pool -- graced by the sound of the waves.....
Our party enjoyed the works. The staff were calm, friendly and professional. I have never enjoyed a facial so much and was positive their "Better Than Botex - look 10 years younger" really worked.....
While at the pools, the highlight for me was seeing two bald eagles swoop down so close to us -- it was as if they were doing a show. They kept circling overhead until they both stopped on a rail near the gazebo to gaze at the ocean. I have never seen bald eagles that close.
I can't wait to return to the hotel in spring.

Room Tip: I was able to view a few rooms. In my estimation even a room without an ocean view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments of your recent visit to The Oak Bay Beach Hotel. It is our pleasure to offer the complimentary amenities such a parking, valet, local calls, movie channel and turn-down service as part of our guests’ inclusive stay. It is our Manor House philosophy that allows guests to truly feel that the hotel is their home away from home during their time with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to partake in so many of the Oak Bay Beach Hotel experiences and especially pleased that our resident bald eagles graced you with one of their spectacular shows! We look forward to seeing, and pampering you, upon your return this spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Staff were fantastic. The have done a good job with keeping the charm with the new construction (make sure that the design team pick up on the small construction deficiencies). Next time, we will stay longer to enjoy the other amenities. They will need to work on the food and beverage department. Front desk staff, at check in, should tell you that you should make a reservation for breakfast if you are wanting the dining room or conservatory. I can't imagine having high tea in the conservatory with tiny tables. Breakfast was at least an hour an a half between getting he right info from F an B staff and being brought our meal. We had to be let into our room as it was just a little over noon when we got back upstairs. Cheralynn did make the wait as pleasant as it could be. Thank you also to Quentin. We are looking forward to seeing the final transformation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
We are so happy to hear we are your new favourite hotel in Victoria! Thank you so much for your feedback on your dining experience, high tea and room keys. This type of communication is vital to us as it helps us to make the appropriate changes to ensure that on your next visit we not only meet, but exceed, your expectations. We are especially pleased to hear that our service team made your stay so enjoyable. We too look forward to welcoming you back so you can fully experience all of the amenities at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We just spent an absolutely wonderful day/night at the new Oak Bay Beach Hotel. We started with delicious coffee in cozy Kate's cafe, then experienced incredible facials, massage & manicure treatments at the Boat House Spa. Even on a cloudy December day, it was lovely to sit in the hot pool by the ocean! The staff and management team are exceptionally welcoming and helpful, making our experience really awesome! Our ocean front suite looked over beautiful gardens. The sitting area by the fireplace was a great spot to enjoy champagne with our friends before dinner. We enjoyed the Dinner Theatre, sipped wine in the Great Room by the fire, and enjoyed scotch and deep fried pickles in the pub. All of it was so fun! I highly recommend the OBBH and the many events happening there for an awesome experience beyond just a hotel room!

Room Tip: Room 224 was quiet, has an ocean view from the bath and the sitting area looks over the ocean. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1littleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
We are so pleased to hear of your wonderful Oak Bay Beach Hotel experience and are so glad you were able to take advantage of our full complement of facilities and services. Thank you for your very kind words about our management and staff; it truly is our goal to provide lifelong memories for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We just stayed at this beautiful hotel in a 1 bedroom suite with wonderful views. The bathroom was gorgeous, the living room so relaxing and the bed so comfortable. Even with the hotel being brand new and just opening, the staff were terrific and very helpful. We had a great dinner in the Snug (brought back memories of old) and a lovely breakfast in Kate's coffee & bistro. You will love Kate's- stop in for lunch or coffee and soak it up. Speaking of soaking, we didn't want to leave the warm mineral pools,set right at the ocean's edge- all part of our room price! It was wonderful to swim in a chlorine free pool. This hotel has amazing detail, class and quality - you won't want to miss out on the experience in delightful Oak Bay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and our staff. After 6 years in the making it is music to our ears to hear that our travellers are indeed enjoying our new property and its many amenities. We are really pleased you enjoyed our signature Simmons Oak Bay Beach Dream Bed and our Oceanfront Hot Mineral Pools. We do hope we will continue to be your home away from home whenever you are travelling in the Victoria area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,277 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Beach Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing