We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$458
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,472)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveller rating
1,206
195
54
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,206
195
54
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnug pubmineral poolkate's cafeocean viewhot tubs areboutique suitebeautiful hotelsteam roomheated floorsdowntown victoriaspa servicessoaker tubseparate showershort driveoutdoor poolresidential areavancouver island
Filter
Updating list...
1,368 - 1,373 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

What a weekend!! It was very peaceful and relaxing. The view from the mineral pool and hot tubs of the ocean was spectacular and open 24 hours. Floating in the mineral pool at dusk was a great experience looking at the sunset and night fall. The details in the rooms where amazing and all the staff were always so pleasant and very helpful. They truly seemed like they were all happy to be at work which is very nice to see. Totally enjoyed my stay and can't wait to spend a weekend next time with my husband to share the experience I so enjoyed,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roseanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We visited Victoria for the first time this May/June, and I wanted as much as possible to make this visit a memorable one to the family. We stayed in a King size boutique suite during our weekend stay, and below are thebpositives and negatives:

Positives:
-Nice ocean view
-Excellent service from all staff
-Very accessible and spacious parking
-The suites have direct access to the pool, which is very convenient for families
-The pool are heated and on the sea; they are open 24/7
-Nice furniture and comfy beds
-Nice washrooms
-The suites have sofa beds and a complete kitchenette

Negatives:
-Understaffed hotel. You will notice this at the restaurants and when checking in.
-No beach; this is absolutely not a beach hotel contrary to its name
-Room size; our suite was simply a bigger than standard room.
-Far away from the hometown and main attractions
-More expensive than other hotels in Victoria
-Restaurants: there is only one restaurant and one cafe; the breakfast restaurant area is small and limited; the breakfast is a la carte- not a buffet.
-Not a children friendly
-the Concierge is not that helpful and informed

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pick the boutique suite
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louai_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Sorry for the odd title above. Here's the reason: My spouse had several of her school girlfriends coming from Vancouver to stay at our house one night Friday, and then going to the Oak Bay Beach Hotel (& Spa) for the Saturday I REALLY didn't want to be home Friday.....so came up with a win-win plan. I stayed at the Oak Bay Beach on Friday, and thru the Hotel connections booked for an early tee at the Victoria Golf Club (next door) Sat AM. Win-win? Perfect!!
My room was amazing, comfortable, and had incredible views. I have never been in a hotel room so quiet. Only "noise" of notice was when sitting on my deck enjoying sunrise and what must have been a Sea Lion decided to wake the rest of the neighborhood with booming bark from the rocks nearby.
Before retiring to my room, I sat at the bar in the new Snug Pub with a friend for late snack. Had the Snug Burger someone mentioned as I came in. Excellent. Met a Gentleman (of Scottish descent) from Ottawa who was staying there. He was very impressed with the selection/quality of single malt scotches. I liked the draft beer personally.
Next morning an being a little lazy, I took by car the 500 yards to the Vic Golf Club (clubs were in the trunk. I'm not that lazy). Nice that Oak Bay doesn't charge for parking by the way.
Great day of golf. Bad score though. Home now and pretty sure the girls will have a good time too.

Room Tip: Arrange to golf at Victoria Golf Club!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Sammy D
We love the odd title and very much appreciate you sharing your win-win escape plan with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you chose us to be your “bachelor night” retreat! We can’t promise a better score on the links on your next stay but we will definitely save you a seat in the Snug!
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel with my Mum. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were totally spoilt. The staff were all extremely professional and soooo accommodating. Everyone from the front desk to the food and beverage staff, the house keepers to the valets really made our stay special.They dropped us off for dinner one evening and also offered to pick us up which was really over and above! The pools are fabulous and the meal we had in the Snug was great. It really was a treat and I hope I get to stay here again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

First off, let me say that the OBBH is a beautiful property. So much attention to detail. Obviously a labor of love that is evident in the decor, the architecture, and the service. Service was excellent throughout our stay. It was the front desk supervisor who actually helped us unload our vehicle and take our bags to our room when we checked in.

We booked a panoramic King but when we got in the room, although it was beautiful, overlooked the rooftop of an old apartment building just in front and to the left of the resort. Considering the price, and the length of our stay (3 nights) we asked if there was anything else available. the staff was very accommodating and found us two alternatives. We settled on another Panoramic King about two doors down which was identical to the first, but with a much nicer view, overlooking the resort grounds and pools. Not to mention the ocean front view. The room is done very tastefully. Beautiful furniture, great linens, modern spa like bathroom. The turndown service was a nice touch.

We ate at The Snug twice. Both times food was great. The burger is called "an institution" and trust me, it is. Fantastic!!

The only negative about our stay was that we finally had one sunny afternoon at the pool after a 3 night rainy stay, and that was the day that they sent out a fellow to do repairs and construction on the plexiglass railing. The sound of a droning drill right there, and the ensuing jackhammer were less than relaxing. Add to that day the sound of a generator while a young man pressure washed the entire deck and all the kayaks made us reconsider our opinion of the resort. The pressure washing did not stop until 5:30 pm. While we understand that these things must be done, knowing that guests pay a premium for this hotel and its amenities, we would have liked to be advised of the upcoming work so we could have arranged our trip alternately. It really was loud enough to force us to leave the pools and go back in to the hotel. Beyond disappointing. We did receive a call from the reservations supervisor apologizing for the noise. She offered us an upgrade for our next stay, which while nice, still required us to come back (from Edmonton) and spend more money to be compensated for the major inconvenience. I mentioned that we were from Edmonton and this was a long time planned trip and we wouldn't be back any time soon, then stated that we were going for dinner at the hotel restaurant (thinking that the hotel might at least offer us a cheap dinner or a couple of drinks just to make it right) but that did not happen. Although it seems petty, that noise really put a damper on our only nice day so we were not happy about that.

All in all it is a lovely place, with service that was for the most part, second to none. Just maybe need to rethink the work schedule when there are guests paying upwards of $400 per night which isn't always the norm for regular folk who just saved up to take a long awaited break.

Room Tip: Choose a room more centrally located so as not to look at the roof of the old apartment building.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Winiki
Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay with us and your kind words about the architecture, décor, service and food and beverage offerings. Yes, the Oak Bay Beach Hotel truly was a labour of love for the Walker family and the management team, as we worked together to reopen this iconic hotel. We send our sincerest apologies for the construction noise you experienced by the pools and docks on the Wednesday afternoon. Admittedly, there is never a good time to do any work at the Boathouse Spa and Baths, as it is our area of serenity and relaxation. However, the work that was being done was a necessary anomaly, owing to some damage that had been caused by some extreme waves on our pool railings. Please accept our apologies for having missed our opportunity to make up for this disturbance. We really do hope you will have the opportunity to be back in Victoria when the sun is shining so you can enjoy the poolside experience properly. We hope you will give us the chance to redeem your previous experience and we would be more than pleased to honour the complimentary upgrade and include either a chauffeured pick up from the airport or an Oak Bay and scenic waterfront tour in our Rolls Royce.
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews