We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This is the first time staying in the renovated hotel. We had stayed in the original several times. They have kept much of the feel of the original hotel while offering a modern stay

We took full advantage of the mineral pools. These are worth long soaks

The fitness facility is basic

The snug pub had the curry evening on one night when we were there. Very good.

The dining room had a lovely menu. The food was very good.

The hotel is located by the water with lots of walks and runs. The oak bay village is a 5 minute drive or about a 20-30 minute walk. Cook street village is a 10 minute drive. There are nice shops and coffee and restaurants in both areas
The hotel also has a very good coffee shop, Kate's cafe.

This is well worth a visit

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

When visiting friends in Victoria, BC, Canada we stopped off at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel for a coffee.

The hotel looks like it has been recently refurbished and is very clean, tidy and well turned out. It has a modern feel with old fashioned glamour.

We had coffee in the Snug bar (I believe that is what it was called) and it had great views across the bay. Coffee and drinks were good with good service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadauk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Beautiful rooms, fabulous service, and amazing staff. We wanted a place to just relax for a few days, away from the craziness of the holidays. The hot tubs and heated pools were peaceful and decadent.

We went into Victoria for the day, and stopped in Chinatown for a bit of Dim Sum at Don Mee. We also had a chanterelle mushroom poutine at the Bard and Banker Scottish Pub. Otherwise, we enjoyed eating in the Snug Pub and the Marina Restaurant nearby for sushi and steak.

This place is a little piece of heaven, where the hotel staff seem genuinely happy to make sure you have a wonderful stay.

PS: Ocean view room was divine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HouseboatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent 2 nights (28-29 dec, 2013) at OB and really loved the place. Oceanview room (Unit 192) was great - In front of the ice machine - but didn't disturb us. Heated floor in the bathroom, separate toilet, big shower and comfy bath ! This unit has 2 queen size beds with firm mattress. We were with our 15 months old baby and they provided a playpen for her to sleep. Mini-fridge, microwave, kettle, silverware and dishes available in the room. Two bottles of water was in the fridge for our use.

Parking and Wi-Fi free of charge.

Outdoor heated pool + 2 hot tubs open 24h, we couldn't believe it ! We really enjoyed it.

We had breakfeast twice and the food was delicious. I had the west coast omelette (14$). It came with a fresh baked Crescent and a big portion of fresh fruits (or hash Brown potatoes).It was so yummy... I ordered the same thing the second morning ! My husband had the smoked salmond eggs benedict on bagel (with fresh fruits of potatoes) (16$). Portion was huge! Sevice was professionnal.

We HIGHLY recommend this place for a night stay, a day at the spa or a date at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 192 In front of the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed there for two nights, December 21-23, 2013. One of the best service we ever had. This hotel is new, great location. The room was extra clean, nice and bright with a great view to the ocean. Underground parking was a big bonus. Hot tubs and swimming pool were very clean. Love the pub! Is not cheap, but you get what you pay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennyAlexG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of celebrating our Anniversary at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel last night. Our room on the fifth floor was exquisite. The spa bathroom is out of this world. We highly recommend this little gem of a hotel. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 512 has lovely side views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Sandi L

Thank you for choosing the Oak Bay Beach Hotel to celebrate your special day. We are so pleased that we could provide you with such a memorable experience and very much appreciate your kind words about our hotel.

Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stay here only one night after medical procedure at nearby hospital. So proximity to the Jubilee hospital would be the first thing...about 10min away. As a bonus it is right on the beach...an unusual lonely lane to hotel and a few switchbacks...so tucked away. Hotel is very new and we did not expect the elegance. Checkin was smooth, parking easy and included - secured beneath hotel. Room was spotless and over the top with finishing. Separate double shower, peek a boo sliders on bath shoulder to bedroom, granite mini kitchen, heated mosaic flooring, double exposed sinks - very nice. Beds were very comfy, lined topped, but firm enough for support. The only issue was the tub drain was disconnected so we had to put a ziplock on the plug to seal. We did not use all the hotel amenities as I had eye surgery and was just there to recover...but we will be back in future.

Room Tip: There are seaside rooms and residential rooms...either is fine and serene. A quiet stay is guarante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_D_Nanaimo_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,842 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,148 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 47 in Victoria
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £137 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Beach Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing