We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice New Year's getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A nice New Year's getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here 3 nights over New year's and for the most part we enjoyed our stay. I loved the location of the hotel, the outdoor mineral pools overlooking the ocean, and the view from the oceanfront rooms is amazing. The hotel is obviously updated while keeping with the old feel in the lobby and common main floor areas. Our room was decorated with modern furnishings and fixtures, it was clean and crisp. The beds were very firm and I didn't have a good sleep at all but just my preference. Not enough storage for cloths or suitcases in my opinion especially if you are staying a few nights or longer, the room felt cramped. We lived out of our suitcase for 4 days and I really hate that. I defiantly should have considered a bigger room but we already paid well over 300 a night for the one we had so not sure I would pay more in that particular hotel anyways.

Check in was fine and efficient nothing special. To much of a residence feel for me, no one offers to help with your luggage or give you direction when you drive up. On the up side parking was free and underground so you could access it from the elevator. Room service was excellent, the pub was cozy for a drink and the coffee shop was really busy with long waits and just ok coffee. Every time I ordered a cappuccino I would get 1/4 cup of coffee and 1/4 cup of foam for a 1/2 cup of something. The only meal we ate besides room service was the New Year's buffet which I thought was not worth the price. It was just somewhat ok and the service was good. Room service food was excellent though.

The outdoor mineral pools were lovely and really enjoyed relaxing in them while looking out into the ocean. They were open 24 hours which was great. The grounds and landscaping is outstanding even though nothing was in bloom the greenery and garden beds were impeccable. I loved the location of the hotel as you could go for a walk along the ocean or residential but not far from shops and dinning options.

I thought the location, updates and cleanliness, outdoor pools, and grounds were worth a 4 rating, but value, service and accommodations rated about a 3.5 for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4_the_record
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    156
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
297
566
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NANOOSE BAY, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was the perfect setting for a Downton Abbey Event co-sponsored by Public Television's KCTS9 and the OBBH. The venue - the new Oak Bay Beach Hotel (open just over a year) is now head and shoulders the best hotel in Victoria. The waterfront hotel property and setting is simply magnificent. All the staff were polite, friendly and bent over backwards to give us first rate service. The guest rooms are luxurious, well appointed and each has a small kitchenette.
The Premiere was sold out with nearly 150 guests (most of whom were dressed in 1920's attire) for a sumptuous dinner in the "David Foster Theatre" This was followed by a screening of the first two hours of season four of "Downton Abbey. What a fun time we had!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have the view over the Strait of Juan de Fuca with a backdrop of Mount Baker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRUISERCLIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This is the first time staying in the renovated hotel. We had stayed in the original several times. They have kept much of the feel of the original hotel while offering a modern stay

We took full advantage of the mineral pools. These are worth long soaks

The fitness facility is basic

The snug pub had the curry evening on one night when we were there. Very good.

The dining room had a lovely menu. The food was very good.

The hotel is located by the water with lots of walks and runs. The oak bay village is a 5 minute drive or about a 20-30 minute walk. Cook street village is a 10 minute drive. There are nice shops and coffee and restaurants in both areas
The hotel also has a very good coffee shop, Kate's cafe.

This is well worth a visit

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

When visiting friends in Victoria, BC, Canada we stopped off at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel for a coffee.

The hotel looks like it has been recently refurbished and is very clean, tidy and well turned out. It has a modern feel with old fashioned glamour.

We had coffee in the Snug bar (I believe that is what it was called) and it had great views across the bay. Coffee and drinks were good with good service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadauk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Beautiful rooms, fabulous service, and amazing staff. We wanted a place to just relax for a few days, away from the craziness of the holidays. The hot tubs and heated pools were peaceful and decadent.

We went into Victoria for the day, and stopped in Chinatown for a bit of Dim Sum at Don Mee. We also had a chanterelle mushroom poutine at the Bard and Banker Scottish Pub. Otherwise, we enjoyed eating in the Snug Pub and the Marina Restaurant nearby for sushi and steak.

This place is a little piece of heaven, where the hotel staff seem genuinely happy to make sure you have a wonderful stay.

PS: Ocean view room was divine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HouseboatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent 2 nights (28-29 dec, 2013) at OB and really loved the place. Oceanview room (Unit 192) was great - In front of the ice machine - but didn't disturb us. Heated floor in the bathroom, separate toilet, big shower and comfy bath ! This unit has 2 queen size beds with firm mattress. We were with our 15 months old baby and they provided a playpen for her to sleep. Mini-fridge, microwave, kettle, silverware and dishes available in the room. Two bottles of water was in the fridge for our use.

Parking and Wi-Fi free of charge.

Outdoor heated pool + 2 hot tubs open 24h, we couldn't believe it ! We really enjoyed it.

We had breakfeast twice and the food was delicious. I had the west coast omelette (14$). It came with a fresh baked Crescent and a big portion of fresh fruits (or hash Brown potatoes).It was so yummy... I ordered the same thing the second morning ! My husband had the smoked salmond eggs benedict on bagel (with fresh fruits of potatoes) (16$). Portion was huge! Sevice was professionnal.

We HIGHLY recommend this place for a night stay, a day at the spa or a date at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 192 In front of the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed there for two nights, December 21-23, 2013. One of the best service we ever had. This hotel is new, great location. The room was extra clean, nice and bright with a great view to the ocean. Underground parking was a big bonus. Hot tubs and swimming pool were very clean. Love the pub! Is not cheap, but you get what you pay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyAlexG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Beach Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing