We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I just spent a weekend at the Oak Bay beach Hotel and loved it. The outdoor pool is the highlight - incredibly warm water in an amazing setting on the rocks of the water. I went to the Saturday morning aquacize which was a bit like doing hot yoga on the beach - a great way to start the weekend! A bonus is that the pool is open 24 hours a day. The room had everything we needed and more, the staff were very friendly, and the parking was free. The location is great if you want a place to relax, away from the downtown area. A short drive or a 30 minute bike ride and you can be downtown. I recommend the Oak Bay hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vancouvertravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I wanted a nice, quiet, relaxing place to celebrate our 25 Year Wedding Anniversary and the Oak Bay Beach Hotel was ideal. The hotel is located on the water with beautiful ocean views in a residential area of eastern Victoria (a 10-15 minute drive from downtown). My wife and I stayed 5 nights at the hotel and used all the facilities. The property has been around for many years, but was renovated last summer and looks/feels like a completely new resort. What we liked about the property is that it had all the amenities of a large resort, but felt like a smaller hotel. We stayed in an ocean front room with very comfortable king bed, large bathroom (including a big soaking tub) and balcony. The room also had a small, fully stocked kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge, pots/pans, cooking utensils. Our one criticism of the room was that it did not have much storage space for clothes. We ate a lot of our meals on property either at Kate's Cafe or The Snug (their pub). Each of our meals was good and well prepared. What sold us on booking with the Oak Bay Beach Hotel was the entertainment available on property. Tuesdays are movie night which includes dinner, dessert and popcorn (We saw "The Book Thief" while we were there). It was a good value and seemed like a lot of the neighborhood residents took advantage of the event. On Friday night there was a "Tribute to Nashville" which included dinner and a live show (we happened to see Tricia Walker). It was a small, intimate venue and Trisha spoke with the audience and told stories throughout the performance. We had a great time! After the show there was a cookie/hot chocolate reception with the artist. Mr. Walker, the owner of Oak Bay, was there that evening and spoke with each guest that evening. Prior to the performance he introduced each one of the staff working the show that evening and had a few kind words and stories to say about each one of them. The entire staff at the hotel was very friendly, helpful and seemed to be happy working there. We took advantage of the mineral hot tubs and sauna almost every day during our stay. All in all we had a great experience at Oak Bay and would fully recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJSOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Thank you Oak Bay Beach Hotel....we had an amazing Girls Weekend Get Away. The Oak Bay Beach Hotel was one of our favorite places to go when we grew up in Victoria. Now we are living all over the Island and don't get to see each other very often. We were so pleased to see the "NEW" improved Oak Bay Beach Hotel still had the Snug Pub...we had fabulous service and great food.
The beds are very comfortable, our view of the marina and bay were soothing to the soul even on the grey raining west coast day! Your heated pool is spectacular and the mineral pools totally relaxed us. I can hardly wait to get back there for a weekend with my husband.

Room Tip: Plan your vacation and book it! All the rooms are good rooms at OBBH!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damaris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our family of 4 spent a few days over Spring Break enjoying Victoria and the Oak Bay Beach Hotel. My 11 year old daughter summed up our experience by saying she wants to come back every year! We all loved our time at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel - everyone, front desk, spa, and housekeeping staff we encountered all were lovely, helpful, and friendly.

We had a small suite, with a patio, which was perfect for the 4 of us. the kids slept on the pull-out couch - and they had their own tv, We loved our deluxe king size bed, with OUR own tv. the sliding doors allowed for privacy. The bathroom was gorgeously appointed. BUT the icing on the cake was the heated outdoor saltwater pool - we were swimming in March!!! spent hours in the pool.

We'll definately be back and would highly recommend it - luxurious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheril G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We just returned from staying in Room 295 yesterday. We stayed for 3 nights in a garden level two queen size bed room. Our group consisted of 2 adults and 2 teenage daughters.

The room we were in had a sliding glass door that led out to an outdoor bistro table with 4 chairs. You then crossed a little concrete stepping stone bridge to get across the pond and then took a walkway to either the spa or the mineral pools (hot tubs). There is a breathtaking view from the little lookout point above the spa itself. We couldn't see very much from our room because we were ground level so I was a bit disappointed in that since we had paid for an ocean view room. However, we did find that having direct access to the outdoors was nice so we were pleasantly surprised.

We noticed a pug dog exiting into the interior hallway on leash two doors away from us but didn't hear any noise. If you have pet allergies you may want to ask about their pet policies to ensure you don't have any problems, but we were fine and didn't find any evidence of previous pets in our room.

The spa is gorgeous. They serve you tea while you wait. I had an Registered Massage Therapy session (which I can claim on my extended health) which was INCREDIBLE! The RMT was extremely good. The RMT was located in another building about 6 steps from the main spa building so that was a bit weird but she was really good about staying by my side making sure I knew where to go. They do nails, facials etc there. My daughter had a regular massage session which she quite enjoyed as well. You have the option to charge to your room or pay there.

The bathroom was incredible! Let me repeat that - INCREDIBLE! I asked at the front desk if we were allowed to have tea light candles and they said it was fine. So I bought some at Pharmasave and relaxed with some wine and some music while enjoying the complimentary milk bath bubbles. We asked for more shampoo conditioner because we had 3 females. We never did get the extras but we went out and maybe they didn't want to come in while we weren't there? We asked for extra slippers because only 2 came with the room. We got those. We asked for 2 extra towels and got those too. There were double sinks, housecoats, lots of storage, and shutter doors that can be closed or left open between the deep soaker tub and the main part of the room. A separate toilet area with door so you don't have to wait for someone to be done in the bathroom before coming in. Gorgeous shower with sit down area inside. They supply a hair dryer and a make up mirror. The fan is always running on low so you never have steamed up mirrors. There is a plug beside the sink in the bathroom for hair straighteners.

The fireplace isn't really a fireplace but does have the option of allowing heat to radiate into the room, its actually got some ribbons that blow up imitating real flames. But unless you get up close you can't tell it isn't real. It's a nice touch in the room. The TV has complimentary movie channels. There is an indoor privacy/make up room indicator button by the door so you don't have to hang a card on the outside. They have a turn down service that came around 7:30 pm which was a bit early for us. To be honest, I don't really know what a turn down service is since I'm not a "high class" type of traveller but it was a chance for us to ask for additional slippers to go to the pools outside.

The trip to the spa/mineral pools is a bit of a learning experience. One side is the main entrance to the spa (open during the day), the other side entrance is for after hours. And yet another side entrance to go directly to the pools. Signage is a bit confusing. We were told we would need a special key to access the pools after 10pm but both times we went to the front desk to get the key after 10pm we were told they weren't locked and that we didn't need one. Maybe save yourself a trip and call down to find out. The change rooms are accessible to guests even when the spa is closed. So you can go down in your regular clothes, change in the change rooms, they have lockers (note that they don't lock unless you go during spa hours) and separate showers. The showers are supplied with towels (don't bring any from room), shampoo, conditioner, body wash and strong water pressure that make it easier than going outside in a wet bathing suit back to your rooms. You also have access (24 hours) to the gym, steam room and showers/change room. The spa itself has business hours so no 24 hour access to their tea, and services. If you are going into the pools and it is poor weather, be aware that there is no covered area to put a dry towel. We had it raining while we were there and tucked our towels and robes underneath tiny little tables by the pools. It would have been nice to have some kind of cubby holes or umbrellas to put our stuff under to keep them from the rain. The pools had only one other couple in them all 3 times we were there but we always went at night. Very quiet.

We went to both the Snug pub and Kate's Café. The pub was really loud because they had a singer there and it was super busy. But the drinks we had were good. Kate's Café was pretty basic but was still good. I had the corn/bean salad and a steak pie. The salad was incredible. In the morning I had oatmeal and a fruit bowl. Food was good, but not spectacular. We enjoyed going other places for that.

Internet in the room was strong and we had no problems accessing it. They gave us a password which was never required though. There is no lapdesk provided in the room and the tables are small round ones with chairs quite squished against them. Not really very comfortable for computer usage. But then again, you're on vacation so you probably don't care.

The chandelier in the centre of the room was beautiful as were the dimmer lights everywhere (toilet area, bathtub area, centre of the room). There was a sink, small fridge, kettle, coffee maker, and microwave included in our room and dishes/cutlery to use as well. The clock radio has an ipod dock on it (older style plug) which I stupidly didn't notice until the last day after charging my ipod on the counter overnights! I personally didn't like the bedding (it seemed noisy) and the bed was very firm, but both my husband and my daughters thought it was good. So personal preference!

All in all, we would go back here again. We travelled by ferry (which is insanely expensive for a family of 4) but we got the B&B rate which included a $40 credit per night. My husband and I have both agreed that although our daughters loved it, it would have been more suitable for a romantic weekend getaway than a family vacation. Beautiful décor and gorgeous area to go walking along the road next to the ocean.

Room Tip: Ice maker on bottom floor was noisy, we were glad we weren't in the room next to it. Ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Breath taking views with lots of birds and big boats sailing by.... my favorite moment was enjoying the warm pool after a late night out with a cool sprinkle of rain.... there is also a natural ocean side view where we collect many beautiful rocks...
the service was amazing and all the staff were so friendly and accommodating... the car service alone saved us a lot of extra taxi fares and was easy to book...
The fine dining restaurants food was extraordinary with an ocean view...
We enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting with local wines and it was very informative.
This is the first time I fell asleep in a spa day
It was so peaceful there and you could not hear any noise but nature...
theater was cozy and intimate. 
Will definitely come back again!
Highly recommended!
Awesome packages... best birthday ever!
Thanks so much..
Liz :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady_tec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My Husband, two young boys, and I recently stayed at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel during their Spring Break Getaway promotion. We spent 4 fabulous nights in a one bedroom suite and enjoyed as many of the services the Hotel had to offer as we could squeeze in. If we weren't enjoying a relaxing float in the mineral pools (open 24hrs/day and fully licensed), we were strolling along the ocean, getting our daily dose of the Boathouse Spa (facials, massages and pedicures were on the 'must have' list for us), picking up vanilla lattes at Kate's, feasting on 5 star fare in the Hotels dining room overlooking the ocean, or simply chillin' in our well appointed suite.

The weather was amazing and all of us came home with a lighter step, rosy cheeks and a yearning to return as soon as our schedules allow.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,866 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,171 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 46 in Victoria
1,485 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#12 of 46 in Victoria
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £137 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Beach Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing