We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High End Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High End Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

If you were expecting the old lovely Tudor hotel of several years ago, like I was, you will be shocked. The old hotel has been torn down and a new hotel in its place. After I got over the disappointment, I found it quite lively although I hate to see those old landmarks go.

The hotel is modern on the inside with an interesting design on the outside the Snug Harbor has good reasonably priced food but skip the desserts and find a good bakery instead. The small coffee house called Kate's gives you a taste of the old hotel.

It isn't far to Victoria if you have a car and nice to stay in this peaceful haven. I much prefer this to staying in downtown. The town of Oak Bay is adorable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Npwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    157
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
301
577
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent new hotel with some flavour of the old Beach Hotel. Beautiful rooms, excellent staff, great view and wonderful food at the establishment! Pool and spa by the ocean is amazing. Beautiful grounds just adds to the whole package. Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: You will want a room on the ocean side for both the view and to decrease road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesGCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Despite being a cold winter day when staying at this beautiful property, was a great experience. The location allowed for some great walks, neighbourhood shopping and food services, and still a close jaunt to downtown Victoria - a great location for a more sophisticated Victoria visit. Chose not utilize great looking facilities due to weather. Room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. Great services available including car service when bus not running in quieter months to make a dinner reservation and return. Good value through website offers. Thanks for a lovely time, look forward to a return stay in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Oak Bay Beach is quite lovely. Also quite expensive and indulgent -- the two don't have to go hand in hand. Front staff very welcoming and hospitable. Back of house staff still developing consistency and attention to detail. Site is extraordinary. On the beautiful bay with morning sun; within walking distance of Oak Bay "downtown." All in all, a wonderful place from which to savor Victoria while avoiding the tourism crush and hubbub of downtown.

Room Tip: Bay-side room worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fletch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed at a conference over two nights. The room was massive with a kitchenette and a very comfortable bathroom. I had the back room facing the road instead of ocean but I did not spend much time in the room so can't really complain. I appreciated a lot their 24hr access to the pool and gym facilities. If you arrive from East coast and want to swim at 3am it is alll yours. And the setting of the pool is magnificent. I also liked the fact the hotel is in residential area and you don't feel you are ina city.

Room Tip: If you are not on business travel, accepting a room without bay view does not make sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HrundiBakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Front Office Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear H from Toronto;
Thank you kindly for your gracious comments about our Manor House by the Sea. We are so pleased you had time to experience many of the facilities here and hope you can return (for more leisure than work) again soon!
Our Best.
T.Parrish
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I love this place, the rooms are gorgeous and the pools are awesome. However, they do seem to have problems in their restaurants. We had dinner in the restaurant for my husband's birthday. It took 30 minutes to get lobster bisque which arrived lukewarm. Another 15 to warm it up. Then the wrong main course came for my husband. 10 minutes to get the right dish, but the steak was so charred on the outside he couldn't eat it. They did the right thing by not charging for his main course and giving us a free dessert and the waitress was very nice and apologetic. Breakfast the next morning was a bit offputting. We had phoned the night before to enquire about the brunch and whether our kids could have it since it's served in the pub. They said it could be served in other parts of the hotel like the conservatory or the restaurant. However when we arrived at 10:40 we were told kids can be in the pub up until 11am which we weren't told. So as it was close to 11 we had to go in the restaurant, which was an a la carte menu, and had to wait 20 minutes to get in. The staff in there were not friendly and warm. Service was slow and we had to ask for refills of coffee, ketchup, etc. The hostess was stiff and unwelcoming. It just wasn't a good feeling. There were issues with another party ordering food at the pool as well. The beverage manager who dealt with them was not good with people but the girl working at the poolside bar was great. I'm not sure where the disconnect is but there's definitely problems. However I will go back to this hotel because of the location and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to offer us constructive feedback. We value all of our feedback from each guest that comes in to our building. I apologize first off for what seems to be a very confusing chain of events for you and your family at our hotel. We always want to be as approachable as possible for all of our demographics, family especially. We are currently exploring the challenges in there over this past weekend and using this as a training opportunity for our teams. I will contact you in order to get more specifics on how we could improve to continue to please our guests.
Warm Regards,
Chris Jones, Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have been to many, many hotels in Victoria over the years and I am hard pressed to think of another one that tops the Oak Bay Beach Hotel. We were just there for our 5 year anniversary and couldn't have been happier. The location, the service, the rooms, everything was excellent. When we arrived we were upgraded to a beautiful suite for our anniversary and while we were at dinner they brought us chocolate dipped strawberries and a nice anniversary card. Very classy. The staff at check in and in the Snug Pub were excellent. Our room was gorgeous and the view is amazing. It is really nice to be away from the busy downtown touristy area. In the morning we made ourselves coffee and then went for a 2 hour walk all along the waterfront and through Oak Bay. Next time we will bring our bikes, although I do believe they rent them as well. We also liked that we weren't nickel and dimed for everything like some hotels do. WiFi is included, so is parking. We had a full kitchen and at turndown they even brought us bottled water. Aside from the location we loved the heated steam mineral pools. It was so nice to sit right on the ocean and actually be able to go into the water and not freeze! Our only regret was we didn't stay longer. This will definitely be our go to place for special occasions from now on. Well done to all involved!

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the ocean were beautiful. We were on the corner and it was extremely quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Duncan 6
Happy Anniversary! We are so pleased to hear that we have become your place of choice for your special occasion getaways. We are thrilled to hear that you not only had a chance to enjoy all of our hotel amenities but also had the opportunity to explore our beautiful waterfront and the quaint village of Oak Bay. Yes, we do indeed have a bike rental program available and would love to get you set up with a nice picnic lunch and send you exploring around the golden mile of Victoria on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for you next special Victoria retreat.
Our Best,
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Beach Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing