We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times, not only because of its location -it is a decent hotel in Oak Bay, by the marina - but also because it is very comfortable, upscale and, although certainly not cheap, in my opinion it is good value for the money. The various pools have to be seen to be believed, set in well landscaped gardens. I have never tried the spa, but others tell me it is good too. Rooms well appointed - heated floors in bathrooms -and bedding luxurious. Staff are universally cheerful and friendly. The restaurant is good but very small. so I suggest reservations. I am told that you can be picked up in the Rolls Royce generally parked by the front door, but again I have never tried it. Last time I paid $3 a night extra for the room and got $40 a day restaurant credit. That was a deal I hope they repeat.
If you are looking for a budget hotel this is not for you, but if you are willing to pay a little more this is well worth it.

Room Tip: Marina view more expensive, but street view rooms are just the same so up to you. top floor (5th) fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    156
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
297
566
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great hotel. Setting was beautiful, room was first class and staff were very friendly. The pool/spa area was stunning. Unique shuttle service to downtown, via personal car, was very convenient. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

27 years ago my husband and I were married on the seaside lawn of the original Oak Bay Beach Hotel in Victoria. It was a small, quaint British-inspired hotel in the heart of Victoria. But 3 years ago, it was demolished, then rebuilt. Out of the ashes, the new owners have created a amazing destination resort, so elegant yet unpretentious that you can't even believe it holds the same name. In fact, they have kept a few 'remembrances' of the old past, including the front dormers over the entrance to Kate's Cafe, the Snug (the popular pub inside) and some of the furnishings and original bricks and cornerstones.

The rooms are luxurious and appointed perfectly. Our bed and bedding was amazing, placed a few feet away from the sliders to the balcony which overlooks a 180 degree view of the glorious ocean, islands, pool and lush and perfectly-manicured landscape below. (We had room #220) The pool area offers beverage and food service, and the loungers surround a heated (90 degree) saltwater pool and 2 jacuzzis. It is a serene, peaceful way to spend the day. In fact, we were in the warm pool at 9am before breakfast. We had the entire pool to ourselves! As we walked back to the hotel for breakfast, my husband grabbed me, dipped me, kissed me, and reminded me that this was THE SPOT we were married on - 27 years ago! The beauty of the newly-completed Oak Bay Beach Hotel must have really inspired him!!

Next to the pool is a work-out facility, spa, showers and many treatment rooms. Inside the hotel is a lovely restaurant with full service, a spacious living room with grand piano and huge fireplace. Customer service at every turn was outstanding. This hotel is set in the heart of Oak Bay, and walking distance - in either direction to the marina, shops, coffee bars, restaurants, golf, boating and galleries. So much to do in this quaint, peaceful town! The setting is amazing and we can't wait to come back for another visit. Next time we will stay longer!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. You do not want to miss enjoying the ocean air, the gardens below and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeRreadytoretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

If you were expecting the old lovely Tudor hotel of several years ago, like I was, you will be shocked. The old hotel has been torn down and a new hotel in its place. After I got over the disappointment, I found it quite lively although I hate to see those old landmarks go.

The hotel is modern on the inside with an interesting design on the outside the Snug Harbor has good reasonably priced food but skip the desserts and find a good bakery instead. The small coffee house called Kate's gives you a taste of the old hotel.

It isn't far to Victoria if you have a car and nice to stay in this peaceful haven. I much prefer this to staying in downtown. The town of Oak Bay is adorable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Npwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent new hotel with some flavour of the old Beach Hotel. Beautiful rooms, excellent staff, great view and wonderful food at the establishment! Pool and spa by the ocean is amazing. Beautiful grounds just adds to the whole package. Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: You will want a room on the ocean side for both the view and to decrease road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesGCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Despite being a cold winter day when staying at this beautiful property, was a great experience. The location allowed for some great walks, neighbourhood shopping and food services, and still a close jaunt to downtown Victoria - a great location for a more sophisticated Victoria visit. Chose not utilize great looking facilities due to weather. Room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. Great services available including car service when bus not running in quieter months to make a dinner reservation and return. Good value through website offers. Thanks for a lovely time, look forward to a return stay in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Oak Bay Beach is quite lovely. Also quite expensive and indulgent -- the two don't have to go hand in hand. Front staff very welcoming and hospitable. Back of house staff still developing consistency and attention to detail. Site is extraordinary. On the beautiful bay with morning sun; within walking distance of Oak Bay "downtown." All in all, a wonderful place from which to savor Victoria while avoiding the tourism crush and hubbub of downtown.

Room Tip: Bay-side room worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fletch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Beach Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing