We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"We are coming back for Christmas!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"We are coming back for Christmas!"”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed at other Victoria Hotels and found this hotel to be the best. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet, very clean and comfortable. From the grounds to the pools and restaurants, it was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank be_lewis535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    157
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
307
586
36
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roberts Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel with absolutely wonderful pools, overlooking the ocean. No matter what weather, the pools are great for all ages, including small kids. On our previous visit, 6 months ago, we found the restaurant to be uninspiring, with rather poor service. This visit the restaurant was MUCH improved. We had a delicious breakfast 2 mornings in a row, including very attentive service.

There are many locals who use this hotel for "stay"cations. What better recommendation than that! This hotel has a very different feel from the typical chain hotel, in all the best ways. Give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller98735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel to be really lovely. The rooms were well appointed and reasonably sized. The bathroom is terrific. Our daughter liked the child sized bathrobe provided for her. The staff at check in were friendly and helpful, particularly as we arrived prior to check in as we came directly from the ferry. Whilst the rooms are good, I wish we could say the same thing about the restaurants.

We had lunch after we arrived at Kate's Cafe. The food here was the best we experienced, albeit it was just a sandwich, a quiche and a pie. They were all tasty. But, we made the mistake of dinner and breakfast in the dining room. Whilst the dinner was okay, and our server was really friendly, the whole thing was a bit slow, though it was lightening fast compared to breakfast the following morning. Breakfast was a disaster. There were only 2 female servers until 9.30 am (we arrive at 8.15am) and they didn't seem to have much of a clue. It took ages for them to acknowledge we were waiting to be seated, then they didn't give all three of us water as requested, forgetting one of us. We had to ask to order the food, and were told to wait as the server wanted to clear the next table before taking our order. We ordered. And we waited. And Waited. The food came - and there was lots of it. The poached eggs were as ordered, but the scrabbled eggs weren't anything to write home about. They dropped one of the slices of toast with my breakfast, so bought out some later. It was only when the two male servers arrived that things service wise picked up. Tables were cleared, people could sit etc. Breakfast at a hotel should be efficient, but ours took over 1.25 hours to get through due to the slow service. We're going out for breakfast tomorrow. The local Italian bakery and cafe looks like the preferred option!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Adelaide5000
Thank you again for your generous comments about our hotel accommodations and your valued comments in regards to your breakfast experience with us. I was so pleased that we had an opportunity to meet in person so I could personally offer our sincere apologies for not providing our best with this part of your stay. We are so pleased to hear that overall your family had an enjoyable and memorable stay and that new friends were made at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on future visits to Vancouver Island.
Our Best
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were very impressed with our experience this year at The Oak Bay Beach Hotel. My wife and I found our room second to none that we've experienced around the world. It offers a very good balance compared to many 5 star hotels. Great value and the pool was amazing!

Dann Brannigan

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel while on Vancouver Island for a wedding. Our room (king bed) was lovely, and very nicely appointed. The heated bathroom floor was a plus. The staff were truly amazing, helpful, gave clear directions, and most importantly, there were enough of them to be available when we needed them. I'd highly recommend this as a place to stay.
The misleading part of the name is that there is no beach access. If you are there without a car, as we were, it's a 2 k walk to the nearest beach access. I'm a walker and didn't mind this much, but I can imagine others wanting to know.
Please see my separate review for the restaurants and room service, which were a completely different story.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room that does not front onto the road. It's not a noisy road, but you will want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were only in Victoria one night but wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the amazing facilities the hotel has to offer.
The room was exceptional, could not have thought of anything it did not offer.

Room Tip: City view OK for the price. If willing to pay more the harbour view was excellent but not necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Darci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Have to agree with all the glowing reports of this hotel. It's only 18months old so ultra clean and shiny. We had a room with 2 double beds and a deep plunge bath, separate shower and toilet, thick fluffy towels and good quality bathroom accessories. It even had a fireplace which you could use just for effect or for heating. Beware the exhaust button in the bathroom, only press it once. Bed was super comfortable.The room came with a complimentary $40 gift card to use in the restaurants and bar.
There is a choice of a fine dining restaurant and a mock tudor "Snug" pub - they are side-by-side with the same view. On a good day you can sit outside. In the Snug the food was pub style with a lot of choice and a really good wine list. The fine dining room has a more limited choice. The waitstaff were all friendly and helpful.
The mineral baths are an added bonus. You either need a car or take advantage of their shuttle downtown (about 15 min).
We loved the hotel location as it overlooked the sea and the drive back to the ferry terminal took us through the Oak Bay area which we wouldn't have seen if we'd stayed downtown.

Room Tip: The rooms with 2 queen beds gives extra room It's a quiet area of town so noise shouldn't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindylou55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Beach Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing