We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$504
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$456
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,473)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveller rating
1,206
195
54
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,206
195
54
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnug pubmineral poolkate's cafeocean viewhot tubs areboutique suitebeautiful hotelsteam roomheated floorsdowntown victoriaspa servicessoaker tubseparate showershort driveoutdoor poolresidential areavancouver island
Filter
Updating list...
1,096 - 1,101 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We recently stayed two nights. It was years ago before reconstruction when I was last at the hotel. They've done a great job on the rebuild. Still has the ambiance of the old hotel but with all the modern conveniences. Nice walk to Oak Bay Avenue for shopping, etc. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our top floor room had vaulted ceilings and lovely big windows. Rooms on water side are quieter and have the wonderful view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelgal060156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel and surrounding area are gorgeous; we felt like we were driving through Beverly Hills as we first arrived. The lobby and grounds are also immaculately kept up. The staff was amazingly kind and helpful during our entire stay.

We had spent extra to ensure we got a room with a few and weren't disappointed with the outlook over the bay. Each balcony has a large glass window instead of bars through the center to enhance the view. Unfortunately, ours was pretty filthy and I had to clean it myself to maximize the experience. There were several spots of bird droppings that had been there for some time.

The other big issue we had with the room is that we were placed directly over the outdoor seating for the pub. Morning, noon, and night there were people out there talking, laughing, and chatting just a few feet below us. I understand the need the for outdoor seating for their restaurant but it wasn't something I expected. Since it was our honeymoon, we had really hoped for some relaxing quiet and we knew we weren't going to get it.

In an "if you can't beat 'em, join 'em" attitude we headed downstairs to the pub on the first night and was impressed with the food and service at the restaurant. We would only eat there once during our stay but really enjoyed ourselves.

The pools and hot tubs are obviously a draw for this hotel and we visited them often. They can get very busy so we usually took a dip early morning and later at night when things were quieter. We had a lot of day-trips planned so it was a great relaxing moment to soak before bed.

Overall we both agreed that we enjoyed the hotel but won't be coming back. The price was too high for the experience we had. The staff is great and the view can't be beat but it wasn't the 1st rate experience we had expected and paid for.

Room Tip: I don't know if you could ask but make sure you're placed on the opposite side of the building from the Snug Pub. I think that would have greatly improved our experience.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kzept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Kzept
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our service team.
We are saddened to learn that your stay was marred by the noise from the patrons on our outside eating deck. We do indeed have rooms that are located away from this deck that would have provided you with a more relaxing experience. It is our hope that you will give us another try on a future visit to Victoria and we will assure that you get a room placement that will offer a more serene and memorable holiday. I would be pleased if you would contact me directly so we can discuss how we can win you back as an Oak Bay Beach hotel guest.
Best regards
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed one night here. The hotel is gorgeous and the views are amazing!! The staff, however, were some of the rudest, snobbiest people I've ever met (with the exception of the 2 drivers that helped us out). DO NOT bother eating at the pub. The food is mediocre at best and the wait staff/mgmt is terrible there as well. My husband ordered his second beer with dinner and watched it sit at the bar for over 15 minutes while our server was nowhere to be found. She had trouble with the 4 other tables she was working with that night while we were there as well. We ate breakfast at Kate's Cafe and had great scones/muffins.
We arrived to Victoria via the ferry from Seattle and the hotel was able to send a driver to pick us up, which was great. They also provided a ride back into downtown the next day for us. The hotel really is a gorgeous facility and the place was absolutely spotless. I have zero complaints with the accommodations, was just super disappointed with the attitudes of the workers we met.

Room Tip: It is absolutely worth it to have a beach view. It is gorgeous!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Lindsay K
Thank you for providing us with your feedback of your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel but very saddened to hear that you encountered some issues with our service team. We pride ourselves on our genuine hospitality so we are very surprised to hear that you were not provided with more memorable service. I have sent a personal message to you with my email and phone numbers in the hopes that we can speak in person so I can learn more of your experience.
Best regards
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

With few exceptions, this hotel experience was one of the most memorable of all my travels. The room was exquisite in design. The lobby was open and fresh reminiscent of an upscale tropical resort. The view from the grounds are unparalleled. Concierge who double as Chauffeur, were consistently warm, friendly and helpful.

The exceptions are as follows: We arrived early and our room was not ready, and were told we would be given a call when it was. 4:00 is check in. We went into town arranging through the hotel to be picked up at 4:00. The car didn't show up, even after calling several times to find that there was a communication breakdown. Long story short a car showed up and we checked in well after 5.

Once in the room I found it had not been stocked with linens, a food wrapper was found in the bedside drawer, and the table in the room was broken, its top wobbling up and down like a see-saw 5 - 6 inches back and forth. Nothing could be placed on it.

While unpacking a staff member entered carrying towels, followed by another some time later also bringing towels....

Were it not for the multiple hiccups, I would give this place an excellent rating, but there is work that is required in insuring that the staff has enough time to complete their work in a timely fashion. Perhaps if the hotel hires enough staff so that they don't double up in their functions and can get their work completed in a timely fashion there will be less opportunity for reviews that are less than excellent. The potential is there.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the bay, upper floors.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Dianne C
Thank you for your very kind words. We are so pleased to hear that the Oak Bay Beach Hotel was one of the most memorable hotels of all of your travels.
We would like to offer our sincere apologies for the hiccups during your stay. We will be sure to follow up with our team members on the areas that we fell short on to ensure that we correct them going forward.
We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back so we can provide you with an experience that will earn us that excellent rating.
Best regards
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stunning first class hotel with an incredible wedding venue. My son got married here on Saturday it could not have been more perfect. The venue was outstanding from the grounds to the David Foster theater where the reception was held it was spectacular. The rooms were impecable, super comfortable and everything was absolutley first class the whole time we were there. Super helpfull friendly staff and very understanding of the complexities associated with weddings and wedding parties. Check in time is 4 P.M. and we could not get into our rooms earlier. That would be the only issue we had all weekend. Would have been nice to get our rooms earlier so everyone had more time to get ready for the rehersal and people that came for the wedding could get into there rooms prior to the wedding. Hotel was sold out and cleaning staff were very busy.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean View rooms. The view is spectacular and well worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossW595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews