We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Granite Falls
1 review
“WOW!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband & I wanted a quick weekend getaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and after lots of research, I decided on the Oak Bay Beach Hotel. We wanted to be close to Victoria, but also wanted to relax. This hotel was simply perfect. The rooms are very large and modern. I loved the bathroom area and the soaking tub was fabulous. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. The pool area is open 24 hours and the water was warm and relaxing. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    157
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
300
577
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was concerned that my expectations would be too high based on reading the previous reviews. The hotel turned out to be an oasis. The rooms were lovely (bathrooms incredible) and the service was top notch. The oceanside pools were the highlight - no crowds and very relaxing. We're looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ffk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear FFK
We are so pleased to hear that you found your oasis in beautiful Oak Bay! We too look forward to your return visit.
Our Best
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We enjoyed a 2 day stay at OBBH Aug 2-3, 2014. The location is stunning and the rooms beautiful. The hotel is also just a short 15 minute walk away from Oak Bay Ave with a quaint selection of shops, pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very Satisfactory
- amazing ocean view from morning, noon, til night
- second to none poolside experience
- exquisite hotel interior and exterior detailed design
- friendly front desk staff, prompt valet and room service
- extra room amenities than one requires

Opportunites for Improvement
- Airconditioning on room without ocean view mediocre. After following staff's suggestion to close skylights blind and turning on/off aircon still had to bring a fan in the middle of the night. Rooms with ocean view can do without airconditioning.

- Shower lever on my parent's room had to be turned forcibly. Our's was fine.

- Customer service needs to be true to their words - I called the hotel to ask if there was a tablet charger cable left in our room and possibly with lost and found. Agent said will call back on the phone number I left. 2 days have past, still no call. Log calls and do follow-up would improve customer service.

Room Tip: Ocean view room 3rd floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josareli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Josareli F
Thank you for choosing the Oak Bay Beach Hotel for your Victoria getaway. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, location, seaside mineral pools and extensive amenities. We very much appreciate your feedback on the areas that we have opportunities for improvement. We have worked with our engineering department and have now discovered that we can indeed enhance the air-conditioning in our rooms during this amazing hot spell. Our apologies for our lack of follow-through with your lost item inquiry, we will be sure to work with our guest services team to ensure that all of these calls are indeed logged and followed up with in a more timely fashion.
We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.
Best regards
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We recently stayed two nights. It was years ago before reconstruction when I was last at the hotel. They've done a great job on the rebuild. Still has the ambiance of the old hotel but with all the modern conveniences. Nice walk to Oak Bay Avenue for shopping, etc. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our top floor room had vaulted ceilings and lovely big windows. Rooms on water side are quieter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgal060156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel and surrounding area are gorgeous; we felt like we were driving through Beverly Hills as we first arrived. The lobby and grounds are also immaculately kept up. The staff was amazingly kind and helpful during our entire stay.

We had spent extra to ensure we got a room with a few and weren't disappointed with the outlook over the bay. Each balcony has a large glass window instead of bars through the center to enhance the view. Unfortunately, ours was pretty filthy and I had to clean it myself to maximize the experience. There were several spots of bird droppings that had been there for some time.

The other big issue we had with the room is that we were placed directly over the outdoor seating for the pub. Morning, noon, and night there were people out there talking, laughing, and chatting just a few feet below us. I understand the need the for outdoor seating for their restaurant but it wasn't something I expected. Since it was our honeymoon, we had really hoped for some relaxing quiet and we knew we weren't going to get it.

In an "if you can't beat 'em, join 'em" attitude we headed downstairs to the pub on the first night and was impressed with the food and service at the restaurant. We would only eat there once during our stay but really enjoyed ourselves.

The pools and hot tubs are obviously a draw for this hotel and we visited them often. They can get very busy so we usually took a dip early morning and later at night when things were quieter. We had a lot of day-trips planned so it was a great relaxing moment to soak before bed.

Overall we both agreed that we enjoyed the hotel but won't be coming back. The price was too high for the experience we had. The staff is great and the view can't be beat but it wasn't the 1st rate experience we had expected and paid for.

Room Tip: I don't know if you could ask but make sure you're placed on the opposite side of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kzept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Kzept
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our service team.
We are saddened to learn that your stay was marred by the noise from the patrons on our outside eating deck. We do indeed have rooms that are located away from this deck that would have provided you with a more relaxing experience. It is our hope that you will give us another try on a future visit to Victoria and we will assure that you get a room placement that will offer a more serene and memorable holiday. I would be pleased if you would contact me directly so we can discuss how we can win you back as an Oak Bay Beach hotel guest.
Best regards
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed one night here. The hotel is gorgeous and the views are amazing!! The staff, however, were some of the rudest, snobbiest people I've ever met (with the exception of the 2 drivers that helped us out). DO NOT bother eating at the pub. The food is mediocre at best and the wait staff/mgmt is terrible there as well. My husband ordered his second beer with dinner and watched it sit at the bar for over 15 minutes while our server was nowhere to be found. She had trouble with the 4 other tables she was working with that night while we were there as well. We ate breakfast at Kate's Cafe and had great scones/muffins.
We arrived to Victoria via the ferry from Seattle and the hotel was able to send a driver to pick us up, which was great. They also provided a ride back into downtown the next day for us. The hotel really is a gorgeous facility and the place was absolutely spotless. I have zero complaints with the accommodations, was just super disappointed with the attitudes of the workers we met.

Room Tip: It is absolutely worth it to have a beach view. It is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Lindsay K
Thank you for providing us with your feedback of your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel but very saddened to hear that you encountered some issues with our service team. We pride ourselves on our genuine hospitality so we are very surprised to hear that you were not provided with more memorable service. I have sent a personal message to you with my email and phone numbers in the hopes that we can speak in person so I can learn more of your experience.
Best regards
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
975 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,509 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
1,190 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
1,948 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Beach Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing