We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels ever!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here while taking my oldest to UVic. Usually stay at Empress but it was too expensive. So tried this hotel and it did not dissappointed! Rooms were large, clean and nicely appointed. Bathroom was huge! Mini kitchen was great - with toaster, fridge, microwave etc. Mineral pools outside are open 24hours with stunning views. Formal restaurant is first class. Pub is lovely but service was slow at breakfast but food was tasty. If you're in a hurry you'd be better off in Kate's cafe. Staff were very helpful giving us directions. This location is great if you have a car as its not in downtown Victoria. We will definetly stay here again!! Free parking and wifi as well!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    162
    46
    13
    3
See reviews for
322
609
37
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a luxury hotel on the Bay side of Victoria. The hotel is very first class. The room we had was a king full ocean view room. Our balcony looked out onto the Bay and the view was lovely. The balcony reminded us of being on a cruise ship balcony. It faced east so we could sit outside in the evening and just enjoy. The room had all upscale furnishings. The bathroom had a separate shower and tub. The tub was a soaker tub with an opening looking into the room so that you could watch tv and soak at the same time. We ate breakfast in their dining room. It was good. We ate one evening meal in their casual dining room. It was a very British meal (potatoes, roast beef, gravy) but good. The only drawback to this hotel might be that it was not downtown where the action is. We did not mind because we had a car but if you don't then you might want to stay closer to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We just completed our two day stay at what is probably the nicest and most up to date resort in the greater Victoria. Our room was spacious and the view is unsurpassed. Pool is 86 degrees and the two mineral baths are a perfect 102-104 degrees. We didn't use the spa, but it offers many different services. The Thursday night food and wine pairing is a must! When you are finished with the food and wine you are entertained by a female vocalist (and two surprises that I won't mention). The Snug bistro has a fine view to go along with the fine food. Mr Gary Dudley will gladly introduce you to all the fantastic features of the property. The owner, Mr Walker spent more than an half hour with us just talking about the good life. Our stay was too short, but we will stay longer next time.
If you are in Victoria, don't miss this gem!
Ad

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bonjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Staff are helpful and courteous. Surroundings gorgeous. Views great. Food very good. Eating options limited with children.
Beautiful lobbies and lounges for sitting, reading. Easy parking. Courtesy car service for pickup and drop off.

Room Tip: Some rooms look onto the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our room was amazing! Truly refreshing to get such an awesome room. The style and decor were stunning. The room rate was very reasonable and we truly got our money's worth. The facilities were great - the mineral pools were so relaxing! Highly recommend! Book ahead for the Spa, though, as they are very busy and may be booked up.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustATravelingMan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

You will never stay anywhere else, after you spend some time at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel. The accomodation is 5 star the staff and sevice 5 star and the amenities and ambiance at the Hotel are world class

Room Tip: Although not a typical "beach" for swiming the swimming pool located at the beach makes up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WineGuy117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband grew up staying at the OBB, and we visited a few times several years ago. It was a comfortable, if a little worn, rather traditional English-style hotel. Well, it's been remodeled/rebuilt into a glitzy new hotel, with some touches of tradition. They are pushing an ownership scheme, so the rooms have tiny kitchens. The physical hotel is beautiful, truly top notch, the service in the hotel just misses the mark, however. Compared to 5 star properties, there just isn't the consistent friendliness and attention to detail. An example: there were no towels at the pools, but an employee was servicing the pool. I asked him for a towel and he nicely went all the way up the the hotel and brought me two. Great, but another guest was using the pool and he didn't get one. It wouldn't take much for the service to get to the level of the physical plant: just a little benchmarking.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeowulfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,700 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,607 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Beach Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing