We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High quality rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High quality rooms”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed there for two nights. Rooms are high quality, with a very spacious bath room and heated floor. Service is very kind. Located in a high end residential area, 15 minutes away from Downtown, its perfect if you have car. There is a beautiful marina and whale watching tours and other excursions that depart from the hotel, so you don't have to worry about going to downtown logistics for this. My family enjoyed much the spa area and the pool, right on the beach front, while I preferred to learn more about the city chatting with the bartender and tasting wine at a very lively bar overlooking the bay.

Room Tip: Choose and oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardoT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBBH_Team, General Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear BernardoT49
We are so pleased that you chose the Oak Bay Beach Hotel as your home away from home while visiting Victoria, BC. Thank you for all your kind words about our location, service and hotel facilities. We do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon so you can learn more about our beautiful city while enjoying a sip or two overlooking the bay!
Our best,
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    157
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
308
588
36
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We used to stay at the Empress in Victoria ... no more. The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a very upscale oceanfront hotel about 10 minutes drive from downtown Victoria. Friendly staff. Good service. Exceptional rooms. Water view rooms are worth the splurge. The Snug Pub serves good food in a casual atmosphere (no kids allowed though). Spectacular swimming pool and hot tubs right on the ocean. Only downside: you are not downtown so you will need a car if you want to see any attractions.

Room Tip: Any water view room will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CafeBohemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here while taking my oldest to UVic. Usually stay at Empress but it was too expensive. So tried this hotel and it did not dissappointed! Rooms were large, clean and nicely appointed. Bathroom was huge! Mini kitchen was great - with toaster, fridge, microwave etc. Mineral pools outside are open 24hours with stunning views. Formal restaurant is first class. Pub is lovely but service was slow at breakfast but food was tasty. If you're in a hurry you'd be better off in Kate's cafe. Staff were very helpful giving us directions. This location is great if you have a car as its not in downtown Victoria. We will definetly stay here again!! Free parking and wifi as well!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a luxury hotel on the Bay side of Victoria. The hotel is very first class. The room we had was a king full ocean view room. Our balcony looked out onto the Bay and the view was lovely. The balcony reminded us of being on a cruise ship balcony. It faced east so we could sit outside in the evening and just enjoy. The room had all upscale furnishings. The bathroom had a separate shower and tub. The tub was a soaker tub with an opening looking into the room so that you could watch tv and soak at the same time. We ate breakfast in their dining room. It was good. We ate one evening meal in their casual dining room. It was a very British meal (potatoes, roast beef, gravy) but good. The only drawback to this hotel might be that it was not downtown where the action is. We did not mind because we had a car but if you don't then you might want to stay closer to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We just completed our two day stay at what is probably the nicest and most up to date resort in the greater Victoria. Our room was spacious and the view is unsurpassed. Pool is 86 degrees and the two mineral baths are a perfect 102-104 degrees. We didn't use the spa, but it offers many different services. The Thursday night food and wine pairing is a must! When you are finished with the food and wine you are entertained by a female vocalist (and two surprises that I won't mention). The Snug bistro has a fine view to go along with the fine food. Mr Gary Dudley will gladly introduce you to all the fantastic features of the property. The owner, Mr Walker spent more than an half hour with us just talking about the good life. Our stay was too short, but we will stay longer next time.
If you are in Victoria, don't miss this gem!
Ad

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bonjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Staff are helpful and courteous. Surroundings gorgeous. Views great. Food very good. Eating options limited with children.
Beautiful lobbies and lounges for sitting, reading. Easy parking. Courtesy car service for pickup and drop off.

Room Tip: Some rooms look onto the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our room was amazing! Truly refreshing to get such an awesome room. The style and decor were stunning. The room rate was very reasonable and we truly got our money's worth. The facilities were great - the mineral pools were so relaxing! Highly recommend! Book ahead for the Spa, though, as they are very busy and may be booked up.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustATravelingMan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,568 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Beach Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing