We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Unit with city views!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room area and kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room area and kitchen
Queen size murphy bed Living room area and kitchen, with dish washer, fridge and freezer drawers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Living room area and kitchen
Queen size murphy bed
Living room area and kitchen, with dish washer, fridge and freezer drawers
Exterior shot of the Janion
Bathroom and shower, heated floor
Entertainment and out door kitchen, roof top
Roof top area
The Janion, 2016
Heritage Entrance to the Janion
Outside heritage entrance on Store Street, 2 elevators available on Pandora Street side
Roof top patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
noahdobso...
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Unit with city views!”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had the pleasure of renting this unit for our family in town and from the moment Bohan met with us till the moment they left we were well taken care of!Easy access and a tour,well appointed unit with everything you would ever need plus...Just lay in bed and view the lights on the parliament building.Walk to everything in town,sit on the roof top patio and have a martini!I would highly recommend this unit for a Victoria getaway.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2018
It was a delight to host Noah's family and we enjoyed having them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHARLENE...
DENVER
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adorable but small”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is, without a doubt, the cutest rental we've ever stayed in. It is decorated in stylish Parisian motifs in a remodeled, beautiful old building. Bohdan is an excellent host and most attentive. When we realized there was no air conditioning, he was back at the rental with a brand new fan within an hour. The location is perfect - right in the center of Victoria within walking distance of everything you could want. The view is beautiful from the 3rd floor apartment. There is a lovely rooftop terrace with a BBQ and microwave. The sea gulls land on the pillars and talk to you. The linens are luxurious and soft. That being said, the property is tiny and there is little room to maneuver. It is not a 1 bedroom, but a studio with a murphy bed. When the bed is down, it's hard to get around it. Cooking is not allowed and there is no microwave in the room so we had to eat out, which kind of defeated the purpose of having an apartment vs. a hotel room, except that the price was a bit less ($90 vs. $124 per night at the Marriott across the bridge). If you have much luggage, this is not the property for you. We travel light, so we were ok. There is free parking in the lot next door. In all, I would recommend this property to a single traveler or a couple with a small amount of luggage who is going to eat out and wants to be in the middle of everything in Victoria. Recommendations to the owner: install a ceiling fan, as the floor fan took up a lot of space; include a blow dryer (nowadays renters expect that and I didn't bring one, so I had funky hair); make sure renters know that this is a studio, not a 1 bedroom; leave instructions for how to operate the appliances - we could not figure out how to run the dishwasher (we had tea and breakfast pastries so we used dishes) we tried using the oven to heat up leftovers and had to look up the appliance on line; check the shower door as it leaks terribly. In the end, we had a lovely experience and thank Bohdan for his hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Hi Charlene,

Thanks you so much for your feedback and we are chatting with trades people to install a ceiling fan. I have also purchased a new hair dryer as the prior guest may have packed it in error, my apologies as I should have doubled checked.

I will also type up a check list to operate the dish washer and oven and have a nw seal strip applied to the bottom of the shower door, appreciate you pointing that out.

Yes this is a studio, Charlene is correct and suitcases can be placed in the closet.

Again thanks for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S
1 review
“Magnificent Micro!”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

we stayed for a week at the "micro" condo in the historic Janion bldg.;it is a really cool loft style condo;with modern features,great views and a wonderful location.
it is walking distance to any number of pubs,restaurants,shopping,and numerous
tour and attraction connections;we made the mistake of renting a car;would have been a lot happier not having to drive in the downtown area;it's becoming really busy and we can get bottleneck traffic at home.We highly recommend this accommodation for any couples visiting Victoria and Bohdan is a genuine nice person and a very gracious host.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captain A
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but lacking essential amenities.”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Initially we were quite happy with the apartment. Location was great, bath and kitchen looked great with all new appliances and fixtures. The apartment could have been a page out of the IKEA catalog. Floor space is limited however and the unit could do without all the love seat pillows.
After provisioning and getting settled in we were looking at where things were located and found a drawer full of utensils but no pots or pans. I inquired with Boh and was advised that they had previously had an "issue" and do not allow cooking in the unit. This restriction should certainly have been spelled out clearly under Amenities.
When we inquired on all other issues Boh was very accommodating and promptly answered our questions and issues.
On the plus side, the roof-top common area (a short elevator trip) contained a gas grill and a microwave that allowed us to at least warm up leftovers and do a bit of creative dining.
All in all we had a pleasant stay, but the accommodations should be considered a hotel room with a Murphy Bed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Hi Al and Lorraine,

Thank you for your kind response and I do truly feel bad that you were not able to cook in the unit. This issue has definitely become a challenge for us, as a previous guest created a very difficult situation, that put housekeeping behind in terms of cleaning and a late check in for the next guests. I do agree with you that the Janion is a hotel type of accommodation and will update the TripAdvisor listing accordingly. I will also mention to the guests that they can remove pillows' and any other items for that matter and place them in the closet or wall unit. Again thank you for your review and I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M
1 review
“Cute and comfortable”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A perfect stay for my friend who was visiting from Australia. Cute and cozy with all the amenities!. I can't wait to try it myself when I want to stay in town "for a night on the town". Clean, efficient, fabulous views close to pubs, restaurants and shopping.
Bo was fantastic, he looked after my friends needs with an efficient manner.

My friend has already asked to stay for here next year!

Jan

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thanks so much Ana, I am thrilled to hear that your stay was amazing and that you enjoyed your time in Victoria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bob B
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal harbor front location.”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This compact and efficient unit offers total comfort and convenience for singles or a couple. From the fantastic view of the harbour and Parliament buildings to the quick and easy access (15 minutes or less) to countless restaurants, shopping and other activities. Inside, the amenities are great from good cooking and refrigeration to a spacious standup shower. Modern lighting and a double door balcony provide an open and airy feeling highlighted by the 11' ceilings. The decor is "Paris chic" and everything fits into its own little space. The owners are friendly and accommodating. You won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Hi Bob and Debra,
Thank you for your amazing and kind response, you both are a delight and we enjoyed having you.
B&I
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing