We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming, homey cottage.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottage Pirouette B&B
Ranked #22 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming, homey cottage.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This B+B has heart. It felt like my home away from home. A few minutes drive from downtown - tucked away in a lovely Victoria residential area made me feel like one of the locals. When met by the hostess, I was asked on at least two occasions if I wanted coffee or tea. Breakfast was scrumptious. I'll definitely come back during my next visit.

Room Tip: The Rose Room is sunny with a backyard view of a water stream. Loved the sound of the water tricklin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_B_C_Peace, Owner at Cottage Pirouette B&B, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Laurie K;
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We're honoured when a new guest arrives because of a recommendation from a past guest. The Rose room is popular for a variety of reasons: 2 single beds work well for those that need such a room, but we can also make them up into a king bed. Everyone loves the view of the stream from Rose room window, and luckily, it can also be heard from Daffodil and Wisteria. All guests are welcome to spend time by the pond, and will enjoy the calming effect of the stream sounds, and the swimming koi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    30
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
37
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A really warm welcome with home made cookies. Very comfortable bed and clean room. Our hostess was lovely and could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Fantastic location with so much to do and see nearby. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMarple007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_B_C_Peace, Owner at Cottage Pirouette B&B, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear MissMarple007;
That is one of the best code names ever! Thank you for submitting a review about your stay here. We're happy when guests enjoy the homemade cookies, so thank you for mentioning them. I'm also glad that you found lots to explore and visit while you were here. Those who look on the "Activity" pages of our website will find lots of ideas, and will see the value in spending a few days on the island. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you again, Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Easy access (I use a cane), friendly, helpful reception,very comfortable room and bed, generous and accommodating hostess---it was a great! I did not eat there, having family nearby, but supplies for tea and coffee were readily available. Despite the hostess' challenge of a storm drain overflow (caused by excessive rain that week), the service remained cheerful and accommodating. I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: My room was at the back of the house---quiet and attractive---overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWeick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_B_C_Peace, Owner at Cottage Pirouette B&B, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear BWeick;
We appreciate your writing in with a review. We also appreciate your long stay during the quieter months in Victoria. Guests can take advantage of special low-season single's rates, in order to visit friends or relatives in the neighbourhood. Even through the winter, Victoria has, on average, the mildest climate in Canada.

Thank you also for your patience and understanding while we dealt with some minor flooding here, as did many of our neighbours. When a guest can appreciate all that is involved in running a small business, it makes the world a kinder place. Tree root removal, landscaping, fence-painting...it's all part of the life of an innkeeper. You can see the improved back garden when you come to stay again. We hope that it will be soon. Till then, thanks again, Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Having stayed at Cottage Pirouette twice in early 2014, I found it to be welcoming, comfortable, with good breakfasts and coffee/tea. The guest living room is complete with TV and WiFi. The bed's comfy and the pillow is almost better than my own at home. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_B_C_Peace, Owner at Cottage Pirouette B&B, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Alison W;
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to Trip Advisor. We're honoured that you have stayed with us on multiple occasions. We have an unofficial "frequent traveller" rate: We pass on the savings because we're grateful for repeated business.

We encourage guests to let us know what is needed in order to be comfortable and happy, and we're grateful that you're always happy to be here. Till the next stay then.......

Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

In August 2013 we spent 2 very comfortable nights at Pirouette. Our room was spacious, with a view of a lovely garden and pond, and a great bathroom. Lorraine took wonderful care of us, with great breakfasts and tea time treats. We enjoyed talking with other guests in the lounge area, and sharing travel joys and challenges. My husband has mobility challenges and Lorraine took special care to help us get to the beautiful seaside park nearby. Her recommendations for restaurants were perfect for us. The nearby bus route was great for getting into town and back. A very special treat was an impromptu sing-a-long with Lorraine and others on Sunday after breakfast. We felt very much at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_B_C_Peace, Owner at Cottage Pirouette B&B, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear JeanRae;

Thank you for staying with us this summer, and for taking the time to write in with your experience.

I couldn't help but notice that your group travelled so well together, keeping your plans flexible and adapting the day's activities to suit everyone within your party. You could find enjoyment in the living room here, or within a short stroll to the beach or restaurant. When you did choose to use the bus which stops just outside our front door, I was glad that it had the step-lowering mechanism that enables those with mobility challenges to board the bus comfortably.

It was truly an honour to host the two of you and your friends, and we look forward to greeting you again soon. The good vibes that you brought to the household will keep me warm through the winter. With much appreciation for your stay and review, and wishing you all the best,

Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, MI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

In August, 2013 we spent 2 relaxing nights in the Pirouette hosted by the most attentative Lorraine who, not only fed and treated us to tea and breakfasts, but helped us bring in our luggage, arrange our short stay with advice on what to see and do, setting up dinner reservations, and even transporting us to the marvelous park on the coast. Six of us loved it there and would highly recommend this beautiful B&B with large rooms and comfortable beds. The living room contained a harp and we found a piano and guitar in the dining area. We and other house guests enjoyed a morning breakfast followed by folk singing. The bus stop in front took us to Victoria and to Buchart gardens at greatly reduced cost. When we reluctantly departed, Lorraine arranged cabs to take us to the bus station for our return to Michigan. We were most fortunate to have found this gem in BC and would highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: The internet gives a good view of each room. The Magnolia was very nice. The hot tub in back was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_B_C_Peace, Owner at Cottage Pirouette B&B, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear VicJr;

Thank you for staying with us this summer, and thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review of your experience here. It is a joy to witness a group of friends that travel so well together, enjoying the many sites and restaurants that Victoria offers. I'm glad that you found the bus system so handy, letting all of your party enjoy the drive.

Thank you for leading an impromptu sing-a-long. Your guitar-playing was so nice that other guests chose to come in to listen, and then you were willing to take requests! It was quite magical and we thank you for creating a memorable experience to all those that decided to linger on Sunday morning.

We look forward to hosting you again, and hope that it's real soon. Thanks again!

Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Cottage Piroutte B & B in Esquimalt. The B & B offers guests a relaxing and laid back atmosphere, which was truly appreciated.
The bedroom was large and tastefully decorated, the bed was increadily comfortable.
The location is ideal, off of any major roads which keeps it quiet, yet close enough to major roads, bus routes and walking paths/trails to make it easy to get around Esquimalt and Victoria.
The McCauley Park is 1 min walk from the B & B and affords one amazing views of the watefront all the way out to Sooke in the west shore.
The Esquimalt recreation centre (pool and weight room), coffee shops and small restaruants are within 10min walk.
Above all I have to rave about our host Lorraine, she goes above and beyond to help guests feel at home and well cared for, without being over-bearing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HbaileyHbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_B_C_Peace, Owner at Cottage Pirouette B&B, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear HBaileyHBomb;
Good morning greetings from the West Coast, and thank you for taking the time to write in with your recent experience. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the refreshing walk at Macaulay Point, with Washington State's Olympic Mountains just across the Strait. We are lucky to have an ocean park so close to the B & B.

It's great that you found the facilities at Esquimalt Recreation Centre so handy. The aquatics area is one of Victoria's favourites. People also love the gym there, with state-of-the-art weight-training and cardio equipment. Most travellers find that walking around the many sites of Greater Victoria will fill their days, but many also like to keep their fitness routines, and can do so right here in the neighbourhood.

Thank you again for finding the area a perfect fit for you, and for writing in. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
0.1 mi away
English Inn
English Inn
#1 of 2 in Esquimalt
272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
1.9 mi away
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,698 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Victoria - Colwood
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Pirouette B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Pirouette B&B

Property: Cottage Pirouette B&B
Address: 401 Lampson St, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to Victoria's famous sites, 4 minute walk to the beach and walking trails. A beautiful harbourside walkway into town, or convenient bus at front door. Recreation centre and shopping plaza just a 5 minute walk away. Quiet neighbourhood, friendly hosts.Plenty of free parking and safe bicycle storage area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Pirouette B&B Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing