We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative, delicious, consistent”
Review of Veneto Tapa Lounge

Veneto Tapa Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Veneto Tapa Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,198 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pandora
Transit: One block in any direction.
Description: A stylish sophisticated urban lounge in the heart of downtown Victoria, Veneto is the ideal place to unwind with co-workers and friends. Adorned in exotic wood, leather and Italian marble, Veneto seduces patrons with its extensive cocktail menu and its savoury offerings from our chef. Every entree is presented tapas style and comprised of three unique dishes within the entree. Our executive chef Tod Bosence has designed flavours that are unique yet complimentary, and that provide an engaging taste experience, ideal for sharing. Veneto's bartenders led by Simon Ogden, display their knowledge and passion with a classically inspired cocktail list. Fresh squeezed citrus, only top shelf spirits and exacting techniques. Veneto offers its patrons a small but significant wine selection, both by bottle and by the glass. We specialize in North American Craft beer as well as boast the largest selection of bourbons in the city.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Innovative, delicious, consistent”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Having lunch at Veneto is a treat in which I have the pleasure of indulging regularly, since I work nearby. Today I'm oohing and ahhing over the mac and cheese, a sophisticated version of the one I make at home. Daily specials are always unique and delicious, breakfast is up all day, staff are attentive but unobtrusive. Check out one of downtown Victoria's best local food offerings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigmom1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    100
    23
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Looking for Hipster'ish Ambience in Victoria...”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Between 4 and 6 pm, the Tapas are 1/2 price; fresh, fresh food
with exceptional service to go with the exceptional food; hard to
believe your bill for such fine fare.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClarkleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A group of workmates were stuck on where to go Saturday night. At short notice, Veneto fit us in, a table of 10 for appies and drinks.
Great atmosphere, a little dark, 'intimate' might best describe it. The appetizers were great, creative and tasty. The cocktail menu was impressive, and they had a decent selection of wine.
The service was good, not amazing, but good. It was a busy night, and we were a big table.
I would definitely go back, either with a few girlfriends or a big group.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahdubois77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow Cocktails”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Going for cocktails can easily become the same old thing, but not at Veneto. Great atmosphere, DJ but at the right level that you can still talk, and great staff. Now the staff really know what they are doing. We asked for surprise drinks and got 4 drinks catered to our preferences and also show us something new, while using very surprising ingredients such as red peppers and other things I had no idea would go in a cocktail. The result, the best cocktails I've ever had. The bartenders were great, friendly, chatted and even told us the history of absinthe. A big step up from just any lounge!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiAlpinist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“next to Hotel Rialto”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Good choice for a light dinner or snacks with drinks. Reasonably priced, delicious and generous cheese plate, yummy sauteed brussell sprouts and pork and beef sliders. Informal. Friendly wait staff. Rather dark interior. The only natural outside light is in the bar. The restaurant is behind the bar and has no exterior light.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Veneto Tapa Lounge also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Veneto Tapa Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing