We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Victoria Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Lovely Victoria Find!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This was our first trip to Victoria BC in several years, and my husband and I wanted to enjoy the relaxing comfort of a bed and breakfast. We found Fisher House B&B on the web and were enchanted by the accurate photos of the house, including the lovely second floor room with the small balcony, as well as the close proximity to all the harbor area sights and activities. Jen and her husband were delightful hosts, the breakfasts were superb, and the accomodations comfortable. We enjoyed five lovely days there and took in sights and activities near and a bit more distant. We met and chatted with some wonderful persons from other countries and enjoyed learning about like in different lands.

Room Tip: The second floor room with the private balcony is quiet and provides you with the chance to sit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherhouse, Owner at Fisher House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Mary, thank you so much for your kind words! It was just a delight getting to know you two. So happy you enjoyed your stay so much. See you next time! Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    23
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
62
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook,IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Jen was a wonderful hostess and helpful with tourist suggestions. Breakfast was delicious and there were always snacks and coffee or tea available for during the day. very low key atmosphere and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northbrookwarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherhouse, Owner at Fisher House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found Fisher House relaxing and homey. Warmest, Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed a Fisher House in September. The B & B is really first class, excellent decour (my wife was blown away by the furnishing and period touches), warm and friendly atmosphere and a very relaxed ambiance. The rooms we had booked were beautiful,clean,comfortable and most importantly provided a place to seek a restfull nights sleep after a busy time in Victoria. Jen is a wonderful host and the food provided as part of the booking was superb, little extras such as the drinks and snacks were unexpected extras. The house is a very relaxing place to sit and converse with other guests. Overall a delightful stay which was a much appreciated. A wonderful memory stored from our trip to Canada.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherhouse, Owner at Fisher House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Wow!! I'm honoured by your words, and so glad you had a fantastic stay! Thank you! Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in the Fisher House last August and had a great time! The location is perfect and the Victorian house is so beautiful! Jen (and Cal) were great and helpful hosts. They provided us with great suggestions and we could even borrow Jen’s map. The breakfast room was provided with snacks and drinks; I enjoyed a nice cup of the complementary hot chocolate in the evening!

The house was beautiful and very clean. We loved the breakfast and the cosy bed in our Florence.

The only downside we can think of is that the bath room isn't in the room, but down the hall. This is very well mentioned on the website, so we knew this by forehand. But even though the bath room from the Florence room was extremely large and nice.

We certainly can recommend this B&B to everyone and will definitely come back if we get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherhouse, Owner at Fisher House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
These old houses are fun, aren't they? Originally there was only one bathroom on the top floor with a separate cupboard for the toilet-a real "water closet". One of the back bedrooms was converted to two bathrooms when the B&B was first created which accounts for the interesting shaped bathroom in the corner. All the plumbing is on the opposite side of the house as the bedrooms, so that's why our Florence and Sarah room guests get to creep the few steps across the hall to get to their own bathrooms. It's kinda fun and reminds me of staying at a friends houses. We just love all the little built-in character features of our Fisher House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

It is good to stay at B&B like this one after staying at so many hotels. The warm, friendly atmosphere was most welcoming. Our room (Elaenor) was clean, comfortable and homely. It had its own ensuite which we were prepared to pay a little extra for. Fisher House is a quaint heritage listed timber house which is only a 15 minute walk downtown. Shops and restaurants are only 5 minutes walk. Peaceful location, although earplugs were supplied. I presume this might be for seagulls that can faintly be heard in the distance.

Room Tip: Our room had its own balcony , good for sitting outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KymJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherhouse, Owner at Fisher House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
So glad we could be here for you on your long travels! I always breathe a sigh of relief when I get home-Ahhhhhh! Home! Glad you felt it too! -Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Fisher House for two nights. My husband saw the pictures of the breakfast on the web site and that’s what sold him. Better than expected. Location is perfect for walking & biking. My husband has some health issues so a taxi was a must and the fees were nominal. With that said, Jen went above and beyond to make his stay so pleasant. She helped make suggestions & reservations to fill our days/nights. If you are looking for a B&B, without a doubt, this is absolutely the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherhouse, Owner at Fisher House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
You two were just a hoot! Glad you enjoyed our place! Did you get my recipe for the Pear & Guyere French Toast? -Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

If you like to start your day with a gourmet breakfast (fresh asparagus topped with over-medium egg / pumpkin scone on the side was our favorite), take a short walk to downtown Victoria armed with a local's view of what to see, enjoy a restful night in a comfy room, then Fisher House is your perfect choice. Hosts Jen and Cal are so engaging (along with the guests they attract) we felt like family. So yes, by all means, we recommend.

Room Tip: Eleanor Suite has attached bath and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherhouse, Owner at Fisher House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
I agree! We attract fabulous guests!!! And it's pumpkin scone time again!! Love the Fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,059 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,795 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Simcoe St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1K9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Top Ten Bed & Breakfasts in Canada" this year. This 1912 Heritage Home in the heart of James Bay Village in Victoria is walking distance to downtown, Coho Ferry terminals and the Inner Harbour. Enjoy the comfort of a beautiful room, a delicious breakfast and warm hospitality. We are happy to accommodate special dietary needs (gluten, lactose, vegan, vegetarian, etc.) with notice.All our rooms have their own bathrooms (no sharing), some are attached (en-suite), and others are private (3 steps across the hall-robes provided). Come see us in our quiet neighborhood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fisher House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisher House Bed And Breakfast Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing