We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

I would highly recommed this B & B to friends and family. It is located in James Bay away from the dense tourist area of downtown but close in proximaty to walk.
Also an ideal walking trail is within 3 blocks at James Bay where you can get lunch or dinner at the pier.
The hosts are friendly as well as helpful.
The only downside for me was that breakfast is at 8:30 am which is a little late for an early riser. The breakfast was subperb though cooked fresh every morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastbc155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    22
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
57
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thompson, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

We had great service. Our room was always clean when returning from a filled day. The room we stayed in was beautiful and warm feeling. We really enjoyed having the en-suite bathroom, it gave us more privacy. The breakfast's in the morning were very well cooked and delicious(fruit cups especially). The location of the B&B was great. It was the center of all tourist attractions and within walking distance to everything you need to go to. The is a grocery store, pharmacy, coffee house/ internet cafe and the ocean within a 3 minute walking distance.

The only thing that we did not like about our stay was that there were cats on the premises. We did not know until we arrived that there were any kinds of animals. We are allergic to cat so it caught us off guard.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AinsleyMorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

What a find! My husband and I have travelled all over the world and stayed in lots of B&B's and Fisher House was like a home away from home.. The hosts were great! We loved coming home to the king sized beds after exploring the sights of downtown Victoria and the beach which were only a few blocks walk. We loved the fresh fruit every morning, and the breakfast lasted us well throughout lunch and was amazing.. Banana nut pancakes= yum. Thanks Fisher House!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacyMillichap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle river
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

We had a wonderful time, the location is perfect, the host very helpful and friendly, a great experience

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroeagleriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

From the moment we walked in the door, we knew we found a second home. I cannot say enough about the friendly, helpful and courteous staff. Breakfast in the elegant dining area was outstanding and a creative culinary treat. Our room was spacious, the bed very cosy and the furnishings reflected the elegance of the Edwardian period. The central location is superb, allowing the traveller quick access to sightseeing and shopping. Fisher House is a special place to stay, we will return and we will recommend to all our friends. Thanks for the delightful holiday, Jen and Cal.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJRichard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggpappa11
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Lovely rooms, fantastic food, and literally minutes to walk to downtown Victoria. Charming Heritage house located in quiet and established neighbourhood.

Only hiccup was the limited parking availability and awkwardness when attempting to leave the parking spots.

My wife and I were pleased with the room and service overall.

Would definitely recommend Fisher House to anyone else visiting the Victoria area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigpappa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Although we booked just 24h in advance we were welcome in the Fisherhouse BB in Victoria, Vancouver Island. The hostess showed us the small but nevertheless comfortable bedroom with separate bathroom upon arrival (by foot from Victoria busstation downtown) . Furthermore she informed us about the sights to see and places to eat. So we did and no regrets!

Good breakfast and overall fair priced.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Simcoe St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1K9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Top Ten Bed & Breakfasts in Canada" this year. This 1912 Heritage Home in the heart of James Bay Village in Victoria is walking distance to downtown, Coho Ferry terminals and the Inner Harbour. Enjoy the comfort of a beautiful room, a delicious breakfast and warm hospitality. We are happy to accommodate special dietary needs (gluten, lactose, vegan, vegetarian, etc.) with notice.All our rooms have their own bathrooms (no sharing), some are attached (en-suite), and others are private (3 steps across the hall-robes provided). Come see us in our quiet neighborhood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fisher House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisher House Bed And Breakfast Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing