We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostess (and host) with the Mostess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Hostess (and host) with the Mostess”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Jen and Cal were warm, inviting and made our stay extremely pleasant. Breakfast was divine, the house was quiet and the rooms cozy. Both were knowledgeable about the area and were helpful in planning our activities and always willing to help.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrissyG2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    22
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
57
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed just 1 night for our 20th Anniversary and wish we could have stayed longer. The location is really nice, as it's close to Beacon Hill Park and not a far walk from Inner Harbor. However, I'd bring decent shoes to walk in because if you plan on walking Victoria's downtown you will need them. Buses were convenient and so were bicycle taxis. Cal made our stay very comfortable and even offered to have breakfast a bit later than normal for us, as we only had 1 day to venture the city and were out quite late. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Jennifer will look after your every need. We arrived with wine and cheese in hand. She took one look at our grocery bags and immediately offered to set the table for us. She brought out wine glasses, plates, cheese board and cutlery. Then she suggested places to eat for dinner. After a wonderful night in a very comfy king-sized bed we went down to a scrumptious breakfast. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Thanks to other positive reviews, we decided to stay at The Fisher House for two nights in mid-July. It's walkable from the dock (we arrived on the Victoria Clipper from Seattle) and easy to locate. We got in around 11, which was much earlier than the regular check-in time, but Jennifer warmly welcomed us and showed us our room. Before that, she recommended a few places for lunch and dinner and went out of her way to share bus information to Butchart Garden. (We ended up using Cruise Victoria, which included round trip and the ticket for 50CND or so).

We had a patio, but the weather was too cold for us to sit outside comfortably, but if we were dressed more according to the weather, we definitely would have taken more advantage of the patio. Jennifer has a list of restaurants that deliver to the B&B and there was a wine shop just a few blocks away from the B&B, so a relaxing evening on the patio is possible!

The bathroom was spacious, clean, and functional. We loved that a recycling bin was available--it showed that Jennifer cared for the environment. We forgot to bring our own lotion, but that worry was taken away when we saw little packages of Vaseline lotion. It's quiet dry in Victoria, so we were glad that the lotion was available for us!

We were really lucky regarding other guests. They were very friendly and courteous, so when they came home late at night, they were quiet when they had to use the shared bathroom that was next to our room (we had a private bathroom, but there are rooms that do not). These couples had great stories to share with us over breakfast, which was tasty. One morning, Jennifer made blueberry pancakes with a side of sausages, and another morning, she made bread pudding with a side of sausages. On both mornings, she served cut-up fruits with yogurt and granola. They were super duper delicious!

If we visit Victoria again, we will definitely stay at The Fisher House! For those trying to decide on a good B&B that you won't regret, I would strongly recommend The Fisher House.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkin_Cupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetaskiwin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed just the night, but it was exactly what we were looking for. Quiet room, close to what we wanted to see and an excellent breakfast. The host was very helpful with suggestions. The good weather was a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trommelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camino, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We would highly recommend Fisher House Bed and Breakfast. We loved our room and enjoyed the company from people all over the world. Jen is a wonderful hostess and excellent cook. Fisher House is within walking distance of so many places. We just loved it. Tlhank you for everything and we hope to see you again when we can.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I would highly recommed this B & B to friends and family. It is located in James Bay away from the dense tourist area of downtown but close in proximaty to walk.
Also an ideal walking trail is within 3 blocks at James Bay where you can get lunch or dinner at the pier.
The hosts are friendly as well as helpful.
The only downside for me was that breakfast is at 8:30 am which is a little late for an early riser. The breakfast was subperb though cooked fresh every morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastbc155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
975 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Simcoe St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1K9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Top Ten Bed & Breakfasts in Canada" this year. This 1912 Heritage Home in the heart of James Bay Village in Victoria is walking distance to downtown, Coho Ferry terminals and the Inner Harbour. Enjoy the comfort of a beautiful room, a delicious breakfast and warm hospitality. We are happy to accommodate special dietary needs (gluten, lactose, vegan, vegetarian, etc.) with notice.All our rooms have their own bathrooms (no sharing), some are attached (en-suite), and others are private (3 steps across the hall-robes provided). Come see us in our quiet neighborhood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fisher House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisher House Bed And Breakfast Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing