We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Emily Carr House

Emily Carr House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.90*
and up
1-Hour Luxury City Tour of Victoria
Ranked #42 of 179 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: House belonging to famous Canadian painter Emily Carr.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Nice to see but may not be of interest to so many people. the house is beautiful to look at, and the gardens were also nice,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louai_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visit with my friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My friend has been a long time Emily Carr fan so when we saw that there was a gallery in Victoria she was thrilled to go there. The exhibits were great and the preservation of her house is well done. The gardens and gift shop was great too.

Helpful?
Thank CPislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and humbling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We came to visit right before the Easter long weekend and were disappointed to see that it was closed. Anyhow, the house itself is beautiful to look at, and the entire site is very well kept. The gardens were nice, and the little plaques were an excellent touch. Each gave a short blurb relating her home/family to one of her poems.

It's humbling to see and learn about her origins. I find it a bit odd that this attraction isn't more widely advertised; we weren't even aware of the house's existence until we saw a local street sign on Government Street. Our impromptu visit was pleasant, but incomplete without having seen the inside. My 3/5 rating is just based on what I saw and experienced. I'll definitely call ahead to check the hours the next time I'm in town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mjlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spirit of Emily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Read all about Emily's life growing up in this house: House of Small, her book. This home is just around the corner from her apartment building on Simcoe Street, written about in "House of all Sorts"

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Preciousnurse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Who was she?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Emily Carr was a truly original woman. She was a fearless traveller, and a clear and amusing teller of the story of her life, which was a long and fruitful one. An artist, she struggled to make her living, and find her 'voice' at a time when women were expected to conform. She kept notes all her life, and published her first book in her seventies - so there's hope for all of us!! This is the house her father had built, in which she was born. It is an elegant Victorian building, set in a lovely garden, and you will be given a warm welcome. I knew little about Emily when I visited her home last September. but was inspired to read her writing, and to visit the Art Gallery to see her works, by my trip to her house. It's situated in a lovely residential area, only a short walk from the centre of town - do try to visit -like me, you may find it very special.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emily Carr House also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Emily Carr House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing