We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best location in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Level Contributor
483 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“The best location in Victoria”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Fairmont is situated right on the waterfront at Victoria Harbour. A beautiful hotel with gardens to match. Yes, the bathroom is a little small as they are in most Fairmont hotels but the amenities are plentiful and generous. The bed sheets weren't as nice as some other Fairmont Hotels, not pure cotton and felt very synthetic. The hotel is close to everything, shopping, restaurants, the museum and park as well as all the local tourist activities. The service is excellent and the breakfast is very generous and we had a very amusing waiter who made our morning.

Room Tip: The harbor front rooms while having a great view, face west so in summer will be very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest from Sydney,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an honest review of your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. I am very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our engaging guest service, and that one of our servers even made your morning! I apologize that you did not find our sheets as comfortable as you would have liked; they are a high thread count cotton-poly blend. It sounds like you were able to explore the best of Victoria from our central location. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,867
    886
    430
    198
    103
See reviews for
781
1,495
123
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel was a splendid choice for a weekend away. The room was small, but cozy, with a fabulous bed. The restaurants on-site were wonderful. Afternoon tea is an experience you can't miss! It cost a bit, but not if you think of it as an activity (which it is), then they send you home with a free box of their delicious tea for each individual.

The Bengal Lounge is amazing for every reason. The live music, the aroma of curries, and stellar cocktails! Even if you're usually stingy (like me), the Empress is well worth a weekend splurge.

Room Tip: The backside is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Compassrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest from Seattle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. I am thrilled to hear that you found your room “cozy, with a fabulous bed” – it sounds like you had a relaxing time! I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our Afternoon Tea and our Bengal Lounge. Tea is indeed an experience not to be missed and the atmosphere in the Bengal Lounge is truly unique. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again. Thank you again for taking the time to write such an honest review.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed for several days and had a wonderful time. The room was facing the harbor (think you need to be a Gold booking to get this), and the beds were super comfy. It was the first time we experienced high tea and it was great. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I think harbor view room require Gold level booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest from Raleigh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your time with us. Our Fairmont Gold level does indeed offer Harbor View rooms; however, the majority of Harbor View rooms in the hotel are not part of Fairmont Gold which allows our guests to enjoy the beautiful views from a variety of room categories. The Fairmont Gold level also offers city view rooms. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy our Afternoon Tea! We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Fairmont Empress when you return to the Pacific Northwest. Thank you again for taking the time to write such an honest review.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

delightful location overlooking the inner harbour and we were upgraded to a suite so our stay was even better. well located to the main tourist attractions and adjacent to he bus station - where you get the bus (to/from the ferry) to/from downtown Vancouver or the international airport at Vancouver.

Room Tip: harbour view costs more but suggest you ask for a view over the conference centre courtyard rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSFleet_Hants_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Unless you really love unconformable Victorian era hotel rooms, my advice is to certainly visit the wonderful old hotel, but stay elsewhere. No AC, toilet inches from the tub, very small bathroom, and just not very comfortable overall. In all fairness, they have done everything they possibly can do to make the rooms nice, but after 100 years, what can you do. The staff was very friendly, and the conference center was modern. Did the high tea, and although expensive, was a lot of fun and worth doing once. However, much better and nicer places to stay. At some point, they are gong ot have to do a major remodel. As a buisness traveler, I need a much more confortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay off the M rooms-mine was right over a street. Looked as though someone could have climbed into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtraveler123451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest from California,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an honest review of your recent experience at The Fairmont Empress. We very much want you to have a comfortable, restful stay when you are with us. Our historic property offers 477 rooms, all with different configurations, so please do not hesitate to contact the front desk if your room is not to your liking as we are more than happy to accommodate and find a better fit for you. Due to the heritage nature of the building, we do not have air conditioning. Typically, the ocean breezes are enough to cool the guest rooms in the warmer weather. I am delighted to hear that you had such a fun experience at Afternoon Tea. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave such honest feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copley, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Fairmont Empress is a very nice hotel. It's location in the downtown area of Victoria makes it a quite desirable place to stay. My room was large, and comfortable with two queen-size beds. The bathroom might have been a little small, but adequate. The hotel has a nice lobby, a mezzanine, and offers restaurants, tea room, shops, many interesting common rooms, and a garden. It is within walking distance to buses, ferries, restaurants, and coffee shops. Coupled with the nearby parliament building they both bring a picturesque view at nights with amazing outdoor lighting. The staff was courteous and very helpful. Getting to Victoria for those coming in from the BC mainland to Swatz Bay was highly aided by an affordable and pleasant bus ride almost to the hotel's door-steps. I was impressed by the fact that King George Vl and his Queen, and later his daughter Princess Elizabeth, now Queen Elizabeth ll, stayed at the Fairmont Empress over sixty years ago. I will definely want to stay at this hotel again on another visit to Victoria, BC.

Room Tip: My upper-floor room was on the north-side of the building and looked out onto a side-street offering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest from Ohio,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at The Fairmont Empress. I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the convenience of our central location and our guest service. As a historic property we are certainly unique in our ability to offer an experience to stay in the same property as Royalty did 60 years ago! Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you back to Victoria.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

By far, one of my favorite hotels!! Our first time visiting Victoria was amazing and this hotel was the best!! The restaurants inside the hotel were beautiful and the food was delicious.It was so good, we didn't eat anywhere else for dinner, while we were there. The room was an elegant and spacious suite with great views,2 bathrooms,and extra living room paneled with dark wood. The spa was lovely with sauna and steam rooms,a whirlpool, and the waiting room had free yogurt and hot jasmine tea. The massage was amazing! There is also a great gym and swimming pool with jacuzzi! What a wonderful location, right on the Harbor and close to everything in the historic downtown Victoria.We love this hotel and this city and plan to go back next year!!

Room Tip: We belong to the Fairmont presidents club, so we earn free upgrades and free nights! Also they sent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlinglisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing